08
Apr
08

Chicken & Chorizo Risotto

I haven’t made this for the longest time, because my older son for some reason won’t eat rice in any format (grrr), but I am making it tonight, so thought I’d post the recipe whilst it’s fresh in my mind!

This is NOT a “restaurant risotto”. I am perfectly happy to use Oxo stock cubes. Normal risotto recipes have you make up stock beforehand and then ladel the stock in ladel by ladel. I am a lazy cow, and prefer to add one stock cube before the liquid, then just boil a kettle and pour the water in bit by bit. Yes, lazy. I know. ๐Ÿ˜€ Seasoning can be tweaked at the end.

Looks gorgeous, tastes gorgeous- what more do you want?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Chicken & Chorizo Rizotto (serves 4-6)

2 large chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes

c. 100g chorizo sausage, good quality, cut into 1cm cubes

200g arborio or other risotto rice

1 red onion, finely chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, depending on taste, finely chopped

1 green chili, chopped finely (if you like it- omit if not!)

1 glass white wine

1-2 chicken stock cubes (depending on taste)

100g mushrooms, sliced

120g shiitake mushrooms, sliced

2 celery sticks; cleaned and sliced

1-2 tbsp freshly chopped chives

150ml half fat creme fraiche

40g freshly grated parmesan cheese (plus more for sprinking if you like!!)

1 dsp olive oil

40g butter

salt and pepper to taste

1. Melt butter and oil in a large pan. Add chopped chicken breast and cook over a medium heat for approx. 2-3 minutes

2. Add chorizo and onion. Cook for about 3 minutes- the fat in the chorizo will melt very appealingly and let the paprika in the sausage caramelise the onion- YUM!

3. Add garlic and chili and cook for one minute more. Add mushrooms and cook for approx. 3 minutes.

4. Add rice and combine thoroughly. Add glass of wine. Stir well. Let mixture reduce until wine is absorbed.

5. Add stock cube. Then add water from kettle, a little by a little, allowing all the water to be absorbed between pourings!

6. After 25 minutes or so, the rice should be cooked and a taste of the food should confirm that it tastes FAB!

7. In last few minutes, add the celery, chives, parmesan and creme fraiche. Stir well lover low heat until cheese is melted and the whole dish looks gorgeous and creamy. Serve immediately!

Hope you like it! ๐Ÿ™‚


7 Responses to “Chicken & Chorizo Risotto”


  1. April 8, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    I’ll be stealing that recipe for the weekend Suzy!

    It sounds like it would go great with a nice Reisling ๐Ÿ™‚

    In other related news, I can’t find one shop or supermarket selling porcini mushrooms which really puts a damper on some of my favourite meals.

  2. 2 suzy2110
    April 9, 2008 at 7:45 am

    That sucks about the porcini mushrooms, Phil- I actually use them in this recipe sometimes if I have them to hand!

    Also if you’re making this- I like my celery still crunchy, but if you prefer you can add it with the mushrooms earlier in the recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 Heather
    September 18, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Hi, You can get porcini mushrooms dried at Asian grocers here in Australia and then you soak them to use before cooking. I assume should be same world wide.

    Thanks Heather! As luck would have it, Phil and his girlfriend moved to Sydney this past week, from New Zealand, so they should now be back in the land of porcini goodness, ha ha!

  4. 4 gemma
    October 29, 2011 at 10:07 am

    How much water do you use? This isn’t listed and i don’t want to use too little or too much. thanks

    • 5 suzy2110
      November 15, 2011 at 10:26 am

      Hi Gemma! It’s probably about a litre- to be honest I just add the water a little at a time until the rice is done, so I don’t have an exact amount, sorry! Thanks so much for reading my recipe!

  5. 6 joel
    March 15, 2013 at 9:43 am

    hi suzy, this is the first risotto i have ever cooked and it was awesome !!!!!! thanksheapsd for putting it up and sharing it with everyone :)))))))

    • 7 suzy2110
      November 3, 2013 at 6:31 pm

      Joel, thanks so much for your comment, which I’m embarrassed to say I’ve only just seen. I’m delighted the risotto worked out well for you- you have totally made my day! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a comment


Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 85,283 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com