23
Sep
08

Adventures in Wig Wearing #1

*Deep breaths* πŸ˜›

My first wig purchase arrived today. I bought it on ebay for not very much money, so to be honest my expectations have been realistic and it was more for a bit of fun than anything else!

Well, it actually looks OK. I need to work at putting it on. I like the colour and shape, but I’m not too sure about the hairline, it looks a bit fake to me. Oh, and the smell reminds me of those My Little Pony dolls! My friend Jenny is a great recreational wig wearer so I will have to seek advice!

I thought I would post pics, but don’t feel ready yet. Maybe in a bit, if I can get it to sit properly tonight! πŸ˜€

I think it’s going to be hard to please me on the wig front. I strongly suspect that a wig with a fringe will look most natural, as there is no join with your forehead to worry about (which may be an issue with this one). I’ve never had a fringe in my life, so it’s going to feel funny!

At this point, I can’t imagine leaving the house wearing a wig. I am going to have to get over that one pretty quickly. I know it will feel as if everyone is looking at me- but then I felt that way when I went out wearing glasses for the first time, and of course noone noticed or even looked twice. Unless someone is really scrutinising me, they probably won’t notice. Will they??

Sometimes I can’t decide what I want. On one hand, I want to “blend in”, and don’t want people to look at me and think “bloody hell, look at the rug!”. On the other hand, it would feel like I was sticking two fingers up at the cancer to have lots of different wigs and change my ‘do every other day if the mood takes me.

This is just more stuff I need to work out in my head. Possibly, it is my brain’s way of making me bury my head in the sand at the thought of all the REAL problems I am going to be facing soon.

One of the guys in work commented to me that I didn’t seem to be afraid of anything. Well, I am afraid of PLENTY! However, at this point in time, I think my brain is making me afraid of all the wrong things in a bid to avoid the bigger issues.

11 Responses to “Adventures in Wig Wearing #1”


  1. September 23, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Let me know how it works, in case I want my long hair from college back again! πŸ˜‰

    I really don’t think strangers will notice, and the people who care about you already know what’s up, so why worry? Wear it if you like it; don’t if you don’t. Or change with the day, as you say, which seems like a chance to really cut loose to me. Tightly wound librarian-bun one day, hot pink punk ‘do the next!

    Seriously, I can imagine what you mean about your brain trying to preoccupy itself. I think on some levels it’s quite healthy, so I wouldn’t second-guess it too much.

    I really like the idea of changing wigs all the time, especially to lighten the mood in work! However, although to those around me I probably display a certain amount of bravado, I am not sure if my self confidence will allow me to pull this off! Maybe being too hard on myself… πŸ˜€

    You’re right- I am probably overthinking the whole thing. I just worry sometimes that there is a big crash of emotion and mood coming up, as although I’ve had some moments of panic, I’ve so far been able to deal with this quite quickly! πŸ™‚

  2. September 23, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    hugs my friend. I think you have really struck this one right at the core. You are focusing on the smaller things, and I think that is okay. Just continue to take good care of YOU. I’m thinking of you A LOT!

    Thanks Corey! I hope it’s OK, I just don’t want to have a massive meltdown later… πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Emma C
    September 23, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Was thinking of you this morning. My mum and Dad’s neighbour is the head of the Ulster Cancer Foundation and has just finished treatment for breast cancer. I saw her this morning, for the first time without her wig, on her way to work-she looked fab! Her name is Arlene Spiers and she has been on the Stephen Nolan show talking about her treatment- you can download if you feel like a listen.

    Thanks Emma- I am going to look it up! xx

  4. September 23, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I know myself well enough to know that I’d be dwelling on all aspects of the wig situation too! LOL

    Looking forward to seeing pictures, when you’re more comfortable with it all. πŸ™‚

    I’ve only just got the kids off to bed and didn’t have any time to experiment!! Maybe tomorrow!

  5. September 23, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    The first time you go out, do something outlandish (no pants) to distract everyone. The next time they see you they will just be making sure you are wearing pants and they wont notice a little fringe on the wig.

    πŸ™‚

    “Pants” means underpants here. We call pants trousers…at first I thought you wanted me to go out wearing nothing but a wig and a t-shirt. NOT a good look if your thighs are as big as mine. πŸ˜›

  6. 6 Jenny
    September 24, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Wow, your first wig! I know you don’t need one yet, but it’s good to get some practice in now in case you do want to wear one later on.

    There are lots of wig styles that don’t show that line at the front. A parting at the front, with the hair swept to the side, looks more natural than having it all pulled back. Lots of shorter styles have a lot of oomph and volume on top, too, which hides the hairline very well, but that is very different from your normal hairstyle. You might not want a radical change in appearance on top of everything else!

    My current favourite, which I often wear to work, is called Jordin. I have it in Creamy Toffee, which is a blonde shade, and Auburn Sugar which is a lovely mid brown. Here’s a link:
    http://wigs.md/pages/wigs_reneofparis_jordin_2352.shtml

    It’s very stylish, the parting doesn’t look obviously fake, and the highlights are just gorgeous!

    Wearing wigs does take some bravado. I was having palpitations the first time I wore one out in public, and even after wearing them lots of times I still had some paranoia that people would realise. But now I just plop one on my head first thing in the morning, and don’t think about it again until I get home from work that evening. If you do start wearing wigs, I’m guessing you’ll get used to it very quickly.

    Give me a shout if you have any questions, or want me to give an honest opinion on any styles that you’re looking at. I’m not an expert, but I’d be glad to help πŸ™‚

    *hugs*

    I like that one, Jenny- I will check if they ship to NI because I think from memory that one of the sites you directed me to before wasn’t willing to. The price quoted for that particular brand is WAY less than I would pay in the UK for the same wig. I will (no doubt) be in touch with more questions! πŸ˜€

  7. 7 Valerie
    September 24, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Suzy- I am kinda jealous that you get to wear wigs. I am sure if I were in your shoes I might feel the same but when else can you just choose your whole look day by day. Go for different and even some wild looks. I know my hair only does what its suppose to about 10% of the time.

    Good luck and I hope to see pictures when you are more comfortable

    Val, actually I envy you YOUR hair, maybe I should become a redhead two days a week, lol! I will definitely post pics when I get my head around it a bit more. πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Skry
    September 25, 2008 at 3:27 am

    I wouldn’t worry about people noticing your hair being a wig. With Jen it’s always looked natural. How many times do you look that closely to someone’s hair anyway? I don’t pay much attention to my own, even when I’ brushing it in the morning! πŸ˜›

    I guarantee you that, with a little time, you’ll get the confidence to wear a wig without even thinking about it. And by the time you get your own hair back you’ll probably be so used to wearing wigs that, like Jen, you’ll do natural one day and a wig the next as you feel.

    Kinda makes me want to start wearing wigs!

    Go for a big ‘fro, Keith!!! You know you want to!!! πŸ˜›

  9. September 26, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Totally normal love! Just know you’re beautiful with or without a wig.

    Thanks Angela! ((hugs))

  10. 10 suzy2110
    September 27, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    I bought another wig- it’s coming from the States because prices are so much cheaper!

    Jenny, I took your advice and went for a Rene of Paris one, only I chose the Jade one instead- I went for shade Light Chocolate which I am hoping will be fairly similar to my natural colour (yeah, that hasn’t seen the light of day since I was 15)

    I will definitely post pics in due course… πŸ™‚

  11. 11 Paul
    October 19, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Wouldn’t leave home without my wig. People only know me with hair. Even my drivers license shows me with hair.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,585 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

