16
May
09

Early starts and other things

On the up side, Robbie seems to be sleeping through the night a lot more, all of a sudden! Yay! On the down side, this means he now wants to get up at 6am every day! You win some, you lose. So, this morning he got me up early (Ian and I normally take a lie in each at the weekends. We agree in advance who gets Saturday and who gets Sunday- it saves swearing and arguments on the two mornings in question!) so he’s still in bed.

Ricky got up at about 7am and I then realised there was nothing for their breakfast- d’oh! So, I’ve already made a batch of fruit scones this morning! Before I even had a cup of tea! I am so industrious! ๐Ÿ˜€

The kids are now trashing the house while I try to ignore the mess and play on the puter… ๐Ÿ˜›

_________________________

WordPress bloggers- since they brought in the new stats dashboard, has anyone else noticed a drop in total stats? I’ve lost almost ten thousand hits since they did it. The stats are still correct if you go to “view summary tables”, but isn’t right on my actual site. It doesn’t really matter, but I’m a bit confused about it! I really don’t like the new stats thing but I guess like everything else I will get used to it! I’m not good with change! ๐Ÿ˜€

____________________________________

Years ago, we bred from my Connemaraย pony, Morning, but we sold her daughter when she was three. I’ve been back in touch with her via her new owners this week and it’s been so lovely to hear how she’s been doing all these years, and see some pictures of her too! She’s in England now and has had a long and successful career in showjumping.

Her mother is still very beautiful and a shining light in my life. I should take some pics of her for the blog, as she, even in old age, looks gorgeous.

__________________________________

Weather here is absolutely atrocious. Normally, May in Northern Ireland is pretty much as good as it gets here, and it tends to be sunny and warm. NOT this year, apparently. Robbie’s birthday party is next Saturday, and I had been planning to have his party in our garden, which would supply significantly more square footage than our titchy little house. I am getting increasingly twitchy as the day gets closer and it’s STILL raining!!!! I’m taking Thursday and Friday off to try and do some stuff to make our house even vaguely presentable, which believe me is going to be a massive uphill struggle. ๐Ÿ™‚

____________________________________

I had a weird night of dreams last night! Weirdest of all was a dream where I was a student again, living in scummy digs in Stranmillis, and (really bizarre) Gary Lightbody from Snow Patrol called round (I don’t really know what he even looks like in real life!!!) and although it wasn’t in any way a naughty dream, somehow I had no clothes on and he wanted to look at my scars?! Fair enough, Snow Patrol are from Northern Ireland, but I don’t have any particular interest in them and have no idea what THAT dream meant…my subconscious is up to strange things again!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Actually I think I’m going to have to make an appointment to see the breast care nurse because the right boob, where I had most of the surgery, is hurting quite a lot and doesn’t seem “right”- I hope it’s nothing to worry about and I can’t find any lumps or anything, and it’s probably just fluid from my lymph nodes having been removed, but better safe than sorry. ๐Ÿ™‚

_________________________________

Right, I just looked up, and my living room looks like it’s been hit by a tornado. There are bits of scone all over the floor and both boys have removed their jammie bottoms for reasons that aren’t yet clear.

Have a great weekend everyone!

11 Responses to “Early starts and other things”


  1. 1 Kim
    May 16, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I like Snow Patrol, but I don’t know what that guy looks like either. I’m betting not as good as Johnny Depp, but you never know! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I hope your weather gets better for the party. We’re supposed to get rain all weekend and while I do enjoy that kind of weather, it’s going to make grocery shopping a little challenge. I hope you have a great weekend!

    LOL, as you and Heather know, Dream Johnny wasn’t up to much!!!!!!!!

  2. May 16, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    I, too, get worried when boys remove their jammie bottoms…in my living room. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. 3 Pamela
    May 16, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    I feel your pain regarding the weather Suzy! I too am trying to arrange Anna’s party for next weekend and things are not looking good. If the bouncy castle has to be cancelled due to gale force winds I fear there will be multiple tantrums in the Donnelly house. Let’s keep our fingers crossed for the ever changing N.I. weather to change for the better. I have the factor 40 at the ready!!! Happy birthday to Robbie for Friday.

    Hope you guys got to use the bouncy castle- there was no way it would’ve worked where we are. I hope you had a good day! Happy Birthday to Anna- isn’t it today (25th)??

  4. May 17, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I wish someone would make me some scones!

    The weather here in England is crap too. Raining and freezing cold.

    I think Snow Patrol are one of those faces groups a bit like Kings of Leon.

    Anyway i hope your weekend is going well!

  5. May 17, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    The one thing to learn about getting kids to sleep through the night is that you really don’t have time to celbrate…you’ve got to get to sleep yourself.

    I am sure we have had close to record rain here…a lot of games getting rained out for us…if I hadn’t joined the gym, I’d be back out of shape again.

    Weather is still filthy here! The summer is meant to be OK though, from what I hear. Maybe when I have my main break of the year in July, it will be nice. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 6 Skry
    May 18, 2009 at 4:20 am

    LOL the thought of your kids leaving the living room like a tornado hit it reminded me of a 22-month old baby who slept through a tornado here over the weekend when it swept through their garden: http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/2418655/Tornado-leaves-twisted-mess

    It’s the third to hit the island in a week. And I thought that earthquakes were the only thing I had to worry about… Here’s one of the tornado a week ago with picture: http://www.stuff.co.nz/auckland/local-news/rodney-times/2402006/Tornado-sweeps-through-Warkworth

    Let’s hope the worst thing that hit’s Robbie’s party is rain! ๐Ÿ˜›

  7. 7 Skry
    May 18, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Oh yeah, mini-tornado’s the size of a Tasmanian Devil have been known to sweep through living rooms and rip off little boys trousers. I’ve never heard of a single case of this happening to little girls though. Go figure!

  8. May 18, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Skry, you clearly haven’t met some of my friends’ daughters. Or, according to family legend, my wife as a toddler. ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. May 19, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    I am giggling over the boys removing their jammie bottoms. tee hee

  10. 10 Bernadette
    May 20, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Could be they’ve discovered (jammie) bottoms are easier to take off than tops and then they can run about un – hindered and thrash whatever with more speed…which is probably a bit unfortunate I know.
    I hope the weather is good for Robbie’s birthday party. XXX

    It’s when Robbie takes his nappy off too that we know we’re in trouble!! The weather sucked, but I think everyone enjoyed themselves anyway. Thanks SO MUCH for the lovely gift- I sent you an email on facebook too but it was gorgeous! xx

  11. May 23, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Aww, one of the first ponies I learned to ride on was a Connemara. I miss having horses!

    I miss being able to ride mine! I still love seeing them though. Connemaras are wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

