04
May
09

Pie O’Clock

My brothers are BIG fans of pie. Pie for any occasion, you don’t need a reason, it just has to be pie.

We’ve been in Donegal for the weekend and my brother Marty was heading up there for the rest of the week now that we’re back. He has been jokingly emailing me all of last week instructing me that “I need to leave him some pie” in the house for his arrival. I’ve basically been telling him to make his own chuffin’ pie, because whilst I agree that pie is a delicious home cooked treat, it takes ages to make.

When we were away, I bought a chicken to roast and there were some left overs, but not enough to feed the four of us the next night. So, what do you think I did?

That’s right! It was Pie O’Clock in the McEldoherty household! πŸ˜€

Oh, and when Marty gets to Dunfanaghy this afternoon, this will be in the fridge to greet him. πŸ˜›

Photobucket

8 Responses to “Pie O’Clock”


  1. May 4, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    This must be a man thing. I like pie as much as the next person, but BF is obSESSED with pie and its awesomeness.

    I think it definitely IS a man thing. I like pie as much as the next girl, but he LOVES it!

  2. May 4, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    There is something just so damn appealing about pie! I’ll eat things in a pie that I’d never eat out of it, like kidney or mushrooms which I hate normally, but put them in a pie and I’m in heaven. πŸ˜€

    I still don’t like kidney even if it’s in a steak and kidney pie, ha ha!

  3. May 4, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    YOU are the cutest thing ever.

    Why thank you! You’re not so bad yourself! πŸ™‚

  4. May 4, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    tell me again about your pie. you know us americans like sweet pie, and only occasionally eat a savory pie.
    tell me how you made this, and what went in it. Is their crust made with flour? or is it potatoes?

    This side of the Atlantic, we LOVE savoury pies- fillings are usually either chicken and ham with a white sauce to combine it, or slowly braised beef with either mushrooms or kidneys. They have a shortcrust pastry or puff pastry crust. πŸ™‚ We love a nice apple pie or rhubarb tart as well though!!

  5. 5 Skry
    May 5, 2009 at 5:12 am

    LOL Great one Suzy! I know Marty will love that πŸ˜€

    Pie is awesome. It’s so good that, incase you can’t put it’s awesomeness into words, someone made a number for it. Excellent!

    LOL Keith, that is such a typical Skry comment!!

  6. May 5, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    There’s only one thing better than pie and that’s beer. Combine the two and you have awesome.

    I know that you and Briney have very similar views on pie… πŸ˜›

  7. 7 Kim
    May 5, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I LOVE THIS!!!
    I just made my 2nd successful apple pie two weeks ago – it’s given me the confidence to make pie more often since everybody loves it so much!
    Me, I only prefer chocolate. But then again I’m weird.

    I prefer chocolate too!

  8. 8 Bernadette
    May 5, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Nice one Suzy, that pie looks really good, what did you put in it – anyway Marty can’t possibly have any complaints. This evening I attempted a recipe for a cake called an orange and lemon cake – it’s a sponge cake drizzeled with freshly aqueezed orange and lemon juice/syrup, and surprised myself somewhat that it turned out…..well not too bad.

    That cake sounds lovely! I think Marty did enjoy the pie, but I think he’d be too scared to tell me if he didn’t anyway!!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

