26
Apr
09

Roll up, roll up

Ricky’s nursery school are having an “exotic fruit” day tomorrow, and they each have to bring in an exotic fruit to show the class.

I do believe Ian has outdone himself this time.

Who can tell me what this is?

Photobucket

I had no idea. I will reveal the answer, if noone gets it, tomorrow. Winner (if applicable) will win…nothing…well, kudos? Does that count? My unending respect for being so knowledgable about fruit and veg??? πŸ˜€

I am feeling sorry in advance for Little Jimmy Brown, whose parents will have forgotten, and who will be sent in with a mouldy apple which will be the only thing left in their fruit bowl… πŸ˜›

PS- if this kind of fruit is really common in the States, I am going to be very crestfallen!!!!! πŸ˜€

12 Responses to “Roll up, roll up”


  1. April 26, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Is it a dragon fruit (I don’t know the real name)? I’ve seen them before in Chinatown, I think. But I’ve never eaten one.

    DAMMIT!!!! Could you not have pretended???? πŸ˜€ Maybe it’s only the UK that they are rare in- I’ve never even heard of one before. Ah well, on to the next thing…

    PS, here’s your kudos, and lots of it!!! **sends kudos via high speed internet** πŸ˜›

  2. 2 layla2376
    April 26, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    AWWW, she beat me to it, I actually knew this too, very pretty, Soph always points them out.

    OK, so I’m now disappointed to the point of considering deleting this post!! Seriously?? Am I the only person who has never seen one of these before?

  3. 3 Patricia Watson
    April 26, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Well I can tell you I hadn’t a clue what that was – never seen one before, but then maybe we are a bit backward down here in the S!!

    Pat, you live in Dublin- one of the most cosmopolitan cities in Europe, and THANK YOU for making me feel like less of a numpty!!! πŸ˜€

  4. April 26, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Never saw it or heard of it before, and neither had my husband who is really into plants.

    THANK YOU!!!! πŸ˜›

  5. April 27, 2009 at 1:00 am

    They ARE rare around here and I never knew the “real” names of those things before. I’m sorry!!!! I’ll shut up. 😦

    Heather, I am laughing at myself for being so totally lacking in knowledge, please don’t worry!! πŸ˜€ Sending you big cyber hugs!!

  6. 6 emma
    April 27, 2009 at 9:34 am

    looks a bit like a baby artichoke to me, but given that that is a vegetable and not a fruit, I am way off track here.

    It’s looking more like 50/50 now in terms of who has known and who hasn’t! It does look like a pink artichoke but I gather the middle is all small seeds. πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Emer
    April 27, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Its a DRAGON FRUIT!! Whoop whoop!

    Arghhhhh!!!!! I feel half daft now!!!!! πŸ˜› Howya, Ms McPolin!! Hope all is well with you! xx

    • 8 Emer
      April 27, 2009 at 10:45 am

      I am good Suze! Working away and looking forward to seeing Boy Wonder as he arrives here in about 10 days.
      I had the Dragon Fruit in Vietnam and it is actually very nice. πŸ™‚
      How are you? I sent you a mail so hit me back with your goss! xxx

      You’ve got mail!! xxx

  8. April 27, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I’ve never seen this before and had no idea what it is. I guessed it was a fruit of some kind of thistle. So you’re not daft, Suzy! πŸ™‚

    Ha ha, thank you!! πŸ˜€

  9. April 27, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I would have never guessed either!

    I seem to have a lot of very knowledgeable readers when it comes to fruit and veg. Clearly I need to get out there more!!

  10. 11 Bernadette
    April 28, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    These comments are the funniest I’ve read in ages – now you know either you’re not daft or the rest of us are. I hope Ricky had a fun ‘exotic fruit day’ at school. XXX

  11. 12 Bernadette
    April 28, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    These comments are the funniest I’ve read in ages – . I hope Ricky had a fun ‘exotic fruit day’ at school. XXX


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

