26
Apr
09

From the journey home…

I had a gorgeous weekend with my Aunt, and have a post ready to go for tomorrow about our evening out, which was fantastic! I just need to finalise a permission or two and it will be good to go! πŸ™‚

I got a mixture of bus and train home today. I sat at the top of the double decker bus, and the view was wonderful though the day was cloudy. We were diverted up this little back road, though, and to say it was bumpy was the understatement of the year! That road was not designed to take a bus!!

The mountain you can see in the distance is Slemish, where St Patrick allegedly tended sheep in his formative years-

Photobucket

On the train, coming into Belfast- the Cave Hill is in the background (can you guess why it has it’s name? Someone must have spent YEARS naming that place. So original. πŸ˜› )

Photobucket

Belfast is really a city on the up- as you can see from all the construction that’s taking place. The city is almost unrecognisable from fifteen or twenty years ago, when pretty much none of the buildings you can see here existed. Lagan Weir is in the foreground.

Photobucket

More building work! You can see the Albert Clock on the right hand side, which dominated the area when I was a child, and was a local hang out for hookers… πŸ˜€ It now looks so tiny, but it’s about the only non modern construction you can see, as it dates back to Victorian times and is named for Queen Victoria’s husband.

Photobucket

Could this post BE any more random?!

Better things to come during the week, I promise! πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “From the journey home…”


  1. April 26, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    A double-decker bus on a bouncy road? That sounds like an adventure! I love the pictures with the descriptions. I feel like you’re my personal tour guide. πŸ˜€

    I wish you could have been along for the ride! πŸ˜€ Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

  2. 2 Bernadette
    April 26, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Hi Suzy,
    It’s been a while since I’ve been near the computer and in the the meantime I have also been away. How are you – the photo of yourself and Ian dinintg out in Donegal is lovely. I hope you all had a really great weekend there.
    Was intrigued by the photo of the exotic looking fruit Ricky is taking to school, not sure, but would I be right in thinking it’s a pataya..??….spelling !! Remember seeing them in the markets in the Middle East, and though I’ve never tasted one they are supposed to be quite delicious – thats if I’m thinking of the same fruit.
    From your descriptions of the landscape on the bus journey back to Belfast…great photos by the way…, I think you should take up travel writing. XXX

    Great to hear from you, Bernadette! I was about to send out a search party!! Yes, apparently everyone but me knows that it’s a pataya or dragon fruit. I think I might have got overly excited by that one! πŸ˜€ Hope you had a lovely break!

    • 3 Bernadette
      April 26, 2009 at 11:37 pm

      Was in Venice for a Congress – 1st World Congress on Twin Pregnancies. Managed to do a bit of sightseeing as well as ‘congressing’, so it was a busy time but it’s a very beautiful, historic and different city, and will hopefully post some photos soon. XX

      Sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to see some pics!!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

