24
Apr
09

Another random post

I haven’t got anything of great importance to say today! So, here’s my random news. Nothing very major to report.

Robbie has his first girlfriend, at the tender age of not-quite-two. πŸ˜€ When I got to daycare yesterday to collect him, he was sitting on a bench with this little girl. They had a book on their knees, he had his arm around her and was singing “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” to her whilst playing with her hair. What a ladies man!!

Ricky hasn’t been doing so well with being dry at night. The past two nights, he’s had an accident, and ended up in bed with me and Ian. With Ricky and our preternaturally large cat, Max, in between us, with their arms and legs spread out as far as possible, Ian and I have been perched on the outer limits of the bed, which is not conducive to a good night’s sleep. The random “knee in the kidneys” that Ricky seems so good at delivering isn’t helping either.

We didn’t expect him to get it right all the time, but he couldn’t WAIT to get into bed with us last night, and I worry a bit that it might become a habit, and that it might not be as big an accident as he’s letting on. He was totally dry for about two weeks before we went on holiday, and then ended up in our bed a few times when we were away. I wonder if he’s realised it’s warm and snug in between us… πŸ˜€

We’re going to try lifting him out of bed and onto the potty before we got to bed in the evenings, and see if that helps. He’s been doing so well, and we never expected that he’d get it right all the time.

I’m going to stay with my Aunt in Coleraine tomorrow night (always a treat as you all know by now!!) and we’re going out to see Danny Schmidt at a place called Crusoe’s. I don’t know much about him, but gather he’s along a similar musical genre as Leonard Cohen, so it should be interesting.

Ian is being left home alone with the kids, but my brothers and Dad are taking them out in the afternoon. Ian claims that he will be using this time to make several runs to the dump with general gubbins from our garden, but personally I will eat my headscarf collection if this actually happens. It is much more likely that he’ll relax with the rugby, and do you know what, I won’t care at all. He needs some time off. πŸ™‚

Finally, we had so much fun in Donegal that we’re going back up there next weekend for the May Day break. Traditionally, our May here in Northern Ireland tends to be the best weather we get all year. We all joke that our summer is the first two weeks in May, and then it’s back to porridge!! I hope the weather will be nice. I wasn’t expecting such lovely weather in April when we were up there last week, and hadn’t brought any swimming costumes. Then it was lovely and all we could do was paddle in the sea, to the kid’s disappointment. Of course, by bringing the costumes with us this time we will be guaranteeing bad weather, but that’s sod’s law for you!

I probably won’t be around much until Monday, when I hope to post pics of my evening out with my Aunt. Have a lovely weekend everyone! πŸ™‚

8 Responses to “Another random post”


  1. April 24, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Sounds like you are busy!

    I’m working tomorrow. I have a disco so that should keep me out of trouble for a while!

    Have a great weekend!

    You too- hope the disco goes well! πŸ™‚

  2. April 24, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    That story of Robbie and his girlfriend is so cute I might have to go punch a construction worker or a truck driver or somebody in the face just to feel like a man again.

    πŸ˜€

    C’mon TB, it’s the mark of a true man that you can admit to having found that story cute! No duffing up of random strangers is required!!! πŸ˜€

  3. 3 Kim
    April 24, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    TB’s comment just made me spit my coffee everywhere. I do that a lot – maybe I shouldn’t take sips of things when catching up on blogs.
    Brian and I just had a discussion about how we both used to try to sneak into our parents’ beds – I was terrible about it for a long time. And it worries me how I’d deal with it should we become parents. Will I be so besotted with my child just for the fact that he/she exists that I let him/her get away with that more than the average parent does? It’s very possible, considering I’m a pushover anyway! And I know logically it’s not smart to let it become a habit, but logic is usually overpowered by emotion for me.
    I guess we’ll just have to wait and see on that one!
    Have a great weekend!!

    You won’t be a pushover at all!!! πŸ™‚ Watch out for the coffee!

  4. April 24, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    TB, Construction workers AND truckers punch back!!!!

    LOL! I dunno, I see TB as kind of a pacifist, but I may be wrong… πŸ˜›

  5. April 25, 2009 at 12:09 am

    The secret is to punch them hard enough that they don’t get up in time to catch you running away. Duh. (I punch back too.)

    Hope you’re getting spoiled silly this very minute!

    Well, I can see that construction workers and truckers should be quaking in their boots by now, between you and TB… πŸ˜€

  6. 6 layla2376
    April 25, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Go Robbie ! Ricky is like my nephew number 2, he took a while but he got there.
    Have a fab weekend, look forward to hearing all about it x

    Ricky is definitely talking more and more clearly now. Robbie is already very clear! πŸ™‚

  7. April 25, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    It was meant to be a compliment to construction workers and truck drivers, since I have both in my family tree – you’ve gotta be willing to hit something that hits back. Punching an accountant or a day care worker in the face isn’t a way to confirm one’s manliness, is it?

    Ha ha!! I reckon most daycare workers could take a construction worker or truck driver any day of the week! πŸ˜›

  8. 8 Skry
    April 27, 2009 at 5:36 am

    I need closure – did Ian do the chores? : P

    What do YOU reckon??? πŸ˜› Women are never wrong, I’m telling you. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

