22
Apr
09

I am driving like a ninny

Now, let me preface this by acknowledging that I am setting myself up for endless ridicule, particularly from my immediate family.

I normally think I am a pretty good driver. I mean, I know everyone thinks they’re a good driver, but I don’t drive like a complete lunatic and think I know the rules fairly well, and try to stick to them.

But, seriously. What is WRONG with me today!!!!

This morning, I dropped the kids off at daycare. The carpark there is a little bit blind to pull out of, but the blindness is to the left, no the right. As I turned left onto the road, this woman who I seriously hadn’t even realised was there at all had to veer onto the other side of the road to avoid me hitting her! I did look to the right before pulling out, and there were two cars coming towards me, a fair distance off and one was indicating to turn in before they got to me, so I went ahead.

It scared me, not so much because I had such a near miss, but because I REALLY didn’t have a clue she was there and I still can’t work out where she came from?! I must be losing my mind!

I just drove from work to the local Subway to get a sandwich for lunch, and the carpark there is very small, narrow, and populated by idiot drivers who dither and block your path. For those of you who know Belfast, it’s the one at the crossroads between the Knock Dual Carriageway and the Ballygowan Road/ Castlereagh Road.

Again, to quote my dear friend Heather, what was I thinking? I let someone out past me, and then nearly reversed into them. I must have missed them by millimetres. I then realised when in Subway that I had parked really badly too.

Two very near misses in one day- someone order me a taxi to take me home before I completely write myself off!!!

11 Responses to “I am driving like a ninny”


  1. 1 Kim
    April 22, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Considering I smacked into the back of a car a couple of weeks ago, don’t feel bad! I think it’s good to have near-misses every once in awhile though because at least for me, it keeps me on my toes and best driving behavior for a long time after the incident. I just hate that knee-shaking sick feeling after something like that happens.

    I just hate feeling like I’m being careless or, even worse, downright dangerous- I’ve never felt like that before!

  2. 2 Pfffft
    April 22, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Glad to hear you’ve decided to go for moving objects instead of your usual inanimate ones, such as parked bikers!

    Ha! I knew it wouldn’t be long before at least ONE of my brothers felt an uncontrollable urge to comment on my blog in response to this post. I accept that I have a history of reversing into things. Driving forwards into things is an altogether new experience though…

    And Marty, to be fair, you drive like a chicken orientalist, so there is a strong element of “pot/kettle” about your comment!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. April 22, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I just about pulled out in front of a car today myself. And I pride myself as having that double-caution that comes with taking your life in your hands and riding a motorcycle on public roads. Sometimes I think we need a good hard slap from reality to wake us up, huh?

    Well, as my brother has just let slip below, I once reversed into a motorcyclist who had parked up behind me. It was totally my fault, but there was no damage to either vehicle and he didn’t even fall off. He took it to the police and I got a caution for it. The guy made it sound like I’d deliberately tried to run him over, I couldn’t believe it- I must have been doing less than 5 miles an hour when I hit him. Not my finest moment, but I HATE liars, especially ones who are lying because they think they can get money out of the situation. It was about 15 years ago, and I still feel angry every time I think about it, even though the accident was my fault! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. April 22, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Well, there are days when we feel we must be invisible to folks because they pull out in front of us or come into our lanes like we’re not even there…maybe all of the people making us mad were having a day like YOU are. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Be careful, sweet girl!

    The scary thing is that I would be effing and blinding about someone who did that to me!!! **blushes** We made it home in one piece!! Just barely!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. April 22, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    You can’t be worse than this driver:
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article4804007.ece

    A furious woman driver died after ramming another vehicle and spinning her wheels so fast that her own car burst into flames.

    Serena Sutton-Smith, 54, burnt to death after refusing to get out of her Vauxhall Nova as she sat with her foot flat on the accelerator.

    She spun the wheels so fast that her tyres disintegrated and the metal rims sent a shower of sparks into the engine, igniting the brake fluid and setting the car on fire.

    I don’t remember the last time I saw a Nova on the road!! It used to be the spide’s car of choice though, and this woman was clearly a total idiot. She must be an excellent contender for the Darwin Awards this year! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • 6 Lou
      April 23, 2009 at 12:28 pm

      The woman was suffering from bipolar disorder which must surely explain why she refused to escape from certain excruciating death.

      Whoops, I should have read the link, sorry Lou.

      • 7 Lou
        April 23, 2009 at 2:53 pm

        Don’t be silly, no need to apologise. I didn’t read the link at first either and was totally baffled at how someone could let themselves die because of road rage, but then I read the full story and it made more sense so just thought it was worth pointing out.

        You can rely on Phil to leave out that one vital piece of information from his brief blurb, ha ha! I’m glad you weren’t offended- I wasn’t sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. April 22, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    eeeekkkkkk! be careful my friend. I did something idiotic last week. I backed into a parked car. my truck has a hitch for a trailer, and it bare nudged the bumper of the car, and did no damage, but it was so dumb of me.

    We all do things like that from time to time! What I did was downright careless and dangerous though!!!

  7. April 22, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    At the risk of getting smacked hard, I’ve read that poor driving can be connected to hormone changes.

    I’m glad no one was hurt. Things like this happen all the time, but it does shake you up.

    No hard smacks, here, but you did make me go WAAAAAAAA a bit…more than you can know… ๐Ÿ˜€

    You might be right.

    Family- no I am NOT up the duff. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. April 23, 2009 at 6:55 am

    We’ve all been there, and will do so again. In a way, these near misses (or minor bumps and scrapes) are a good thing as they make us concentrate and focus so we can avoid the more serious incidents.

    Well, that’s my theory, and I’m sticking to it!!!

    I think you’re probably right. I took a lot more care this morning!!

  9. 11 layla2376
    April 25, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Everyone has doofus days, I probably have a higher than average quantity x
    I had only been driving 3 weeks when I decided to attempt a 3 point turn between 2 people carriers on a hill, the result as you may guess was one big dent in a people carrier. The guy is a fellow nursery parent & he still acts like I ran over his kids, it was a genuine accident…big life lesson— some people are just assholes, he could go for a drink with your motorcyclist.

    Tosser, there’s nothing worse than a grudge holder!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

