21
Apr
09

The beginning of a beautiful friendship?

My two sons are suddenly developing a real friendship, which I am very much enjoying watch.

Robbie is an amazing talker- he is a total chatterbox and his speech has become very clear, so that pretty much everyone he meets can understand what he’s saying. He won’t be 2 until the end of next month, so I am delighted with how well he’s doing.

He and Ricky have become co-conspirators to quite a scary level! There’s a definite element of hero worship on Robbie’s part, which Ricky is well aware of, and uses. However Robbie, with the increasing verbal skills he has, is now willing to stand up for himself more, which I think is actually having a positive effect on Ricky.

Ricky’s now learning that he can’t always have his own way- something he’s always been very adept at achieving. The way Ricky gets his own way all the time sometimes knocks the breath out of me. The level of persistence he can demonstrate is staggering, and not in an “I want, I want” way until Ian or I “break”- he’s much more subtle than that. You’ll suddenly find that he’s managed to get what he wanted by manipulating a loop-hole in your argument against…he finds a way by using his brain rather than by demanding things. You won’t even realise he’s done it until it’s too late! It can be shocking to witness, even though it amuses me too!

I think he’ll be a politician when he grows up- his personal charm and diplomacy are amazing and he has a knack for saying the right thing at the right time. Maybe he’s already learned the valuable lesson that flattery will get you everywhere! πŸ˜€

Robbie’s much more straightforward, in a sense, and gets his way by being charming and sunny. It amazes me how he can be having such a dramatic and influential effect on his older brother’s behaviour!

I hope they’ll always be able to bounce off each other like this and be such close friends. Good brothers and sisters are a valuable commodity. They’ll never have such powerful allies as each other.

Photobucket

10 Responses to “The beginning of a beautiful friendship?”


  1. 1 welshpurpletree
    April 21, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I wish Oliver would start talking – he’s barely saying anything, he does very good animal noises though! I’m hoping my two will be best of friends, they can play really well together when they want to, mostly it descends to wrestling on the floor, with them both in fits of giggles.

    My two can murder each other like the best of them! They are so rough with each other! I think it’s a little boy thing! Ricky was late to talk too- they all do things at different rates. πŸ™‚

  2. 2 layla2376
    April 21, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Very, very sweet post. Charming is an understatement , they are lovely kids. I could find myself very easily manipulated by Robbies cracking laugh apart from anything else. Hope me & my girl get to see them very soon x

    Robbie has a Dirty Old Man laugh!! We want to see you too- but next two weekends are sadly out- I’m going to stay with my Aunt this coming weekend and then we’re all buggering off to Donegal again for the May Day weekend because it was just so much fun and we can’t stay away!!

  3. 3 Kim
    April 21, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    I loved this. I have one sister (I’m older than her by 3 years) and we’ve always enjoyed a really close relationship. Of course there was the occasional scuffle, but it was nice going through school and then right after that we shared the same group of friends and to some extent still do. There’s something really special about a sibling relationship and I’m glad your boys are starting to enjoy theirs. Of course that will pose challenges to you as parents when they take on the “us against them” mentality, but hopefully that won’t happen for many years!

    I think I have a similar relationship with my brothers, Kim, and it’s valuable! I am dreading the teenage years… πŸ˜€

  4. April 21, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Aww! They are so funny and handsome. I want to squeeze them both.

    I don’t know what it’s like to grow up with siblings and I’m one of the weirdos that never wanted any. It’s weird that I ended up with people close enough to me in my heart to be considered family. I just recently told my friend Bobby that he was the brother I never knew I wanted. πŸ˜‰

    Bobby must be quite a guy! πŸ™‚ I guess it isn’t for everyone. You’re very lucky to have the friend family you have!

  5. April 21, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    This post is so touching. I love to “feel” your admiration for your children. It is a powerful thing. β™₯ The words…..the sentiment….the photo. all so perfect!

    Thanks Corey! They are too gorgeous for words…I could eat them both with a spoon, if they’d only stay still for long enough!!!

  6. April 21, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    hmmmmm I just tried to post…and it isn’t showin up. this is a test….only a test! tee hee

    Ha, I had the same problem posting a comment on YOUR blog earlier!! The blog pixies must be at work again! πŸ™‚

  7. April 21, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    That’s a lovely photo. πŸ™‚ My daughters don’t get on too well together, but I do love it when we get the rare moments where they do laugh together and give each other a hug. The age difference is quite big with my eldest being 14 and my yonger daughter being 10. They have very different personalities too. Well they are both adopted, so that’s not too much of a surprise I suppose.

    Probably by the time my two are that age, they’ll be at each other’s throats!! πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Skry
    April 22, 2009 at 4:36 am

    Ricky and Robbie, lickin’ the windy’s… πŸ˜›

    Cool wee pic and a lovely post. Put a big smile on my face! It made me think that next time I’m over they won’t have a clue about who I am. It’s the same with Daz and Sarah – in R/L I have never seen their baby and haven’t got a clue what Sarah looks like when she’s not pregnant!

    Do you guys have any plans for a home visit any year soon?? It will be a while before we can visit you- but as God is my witness, it will definitely happen one day!!!

  9. April 22, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    My brother is 4.5 years younger than me, and we really didn’t get along at all until he was almost through college. Just too much age difference between us, plus the fact that I skipped a grade early in school and so we were never in high school or college together. I moved out when he was 12.

    Now, though, it’s surprising to note that he’s actually a decent human being and not that little butthead who wouldn’t leave me the hell alone. πŸ˜›

    Well, until recently I think Ricky thought he was “benoying” as he used to say πŸ˜€ but recently has decided that Robbie gets a pass after all! I am glad we had them fairly close together.

  10. April 22, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    They’ll go through fazes where they can’t get enough of each other and it will switch in the other direction at times too. Enjoy this and take a lot of pictures to remind them when they are going through the rougher times. This friendship between them is one of the reasons why we home school.

    Yeah, probably in two weeks I’ll be posting that they’ve strangled each other or something… πŸ˜€ It’s good that your kids get on so well.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

