20
Apr
09

Inishowen Peninsula at Easter

My plan for today is to completely fob you all off with some scenery pics- these are from the Inishowen Peninsula and were taken a week ago today, on Ian and my anniversary. It is so gorgeous up there!

We had a lovely anniversary. The forecast for the area of Donegal we were staying in wasn’t too great, so we decided to head east along the North coast to Inishowen. It’s the most northerly point in Ireland. As you can see, the weather wasn’t perfect, but we were really lucky and the rain mostly stayed off.

We stopped for lunch near Malin at a pub, which overlooked the harbour, and despite it being very, very windy, they were having a bungee jumping event, hoisting the victims, sorry, participants up a crane in a cage and then pushing them out- I couldn’t believe how close they were bouncing to the crane! We were too far away to get pictures, but it was a bit insane!

We went for a walk on a beach nearby but it really did start to rain then!

It was still a lovely day out. I don’t really know Inishowen too well, so it was great to see a part of Ireland I haven’t been round much before.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

6 Responses to “Inishowen Peninsula at Easter”


  1. April 20, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Beautiful!! Welcome back, even though it must stink – I hate those first few post-vacation workdays!

    Tell me about it- I’m so fed up!!!

  2. 2 Kim
    April 20, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Oh, those pictures make me yearn! So amazing! I’m glad you all had such a good time and I hope it’s not too painful getting back to reality (I hate coming back from vacation even though I’m always happy to be home).
    I don’t have any pregnancy news as of yet, so no, no big life changes while you were away (unless you count going to see an actual movie at an actual theater which I do since we haven’t been since last fall!)
    Glad you’re back safely!

    Actually your blog was my first port of call when we got home, but I didn’t get time to comment on any of it today! You are in my thoughts! xxx

  3. April 20, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Welcome home! Lovely beach. I’m glad you had such a good anniversary. 🙂

    I hope you had a nice holiday too, Joey!

  4. April 20, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    That’s it! You’re going to have to adopt me.

    I’m definitely willing to adopt you, Heather. You are much better at housework than me, and would be a welcome addition to my family… 😛

  5. April 21, 2009 at 3:42 am

    I discovered Inishowen in November-December 2007. I mostly went there to paint, hike and photograph. My blog post has a video. http://judithreidy.blogspot.com/2008/01/video-view-from-sandrock-hostel-at.html plus photos if you scroll down you can see the whole trip in photos.
    http://judithreidy.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2008-01-01T00%3A00%3A00-06%3A00&updated-max=2009-01-01T00%3A00%3A00-06%3A00&max-results=25

    My website has a section of paintings I made from the trip. I love the constantly changing sky and the sea. I loved your photos; it makes me wish I was back there.

    J

    Your paintings are lovely, Judith! Thanks very much for your comment!

  6. 6 layla2376
    April 21, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    I love Inishowen, its beautiful, some great pics as always. We have friends who live in Moville and always zip over to Inishowen before we come home after visiting them.Its also where we take Soph to see Santa although its not quite so picturesque mid December when you are freezing yer nuts off !

    If you have nuts to freeze off… 😀 Santa at Inishowen sounds great!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

