13
Apr
09

Thirteenth on the Thirteenth

OK, OK, don’t look so surprised to hear from me. We haven’t come back early, I scheduled this post when I was still at home. I hope we’re enjoying ourselves, ha ha! πŸ˜€

Today, 13th April, is Ian and my thirteenth anniversary.

The following is the shocking tale of how we met and, eventually, got together. It’s not pretty, and it’s not romantic. It’s a tale of teenage debauchery, and if that bothers you, look away now! πŸ˜€

Ian and I met nearly twenty years ago, when we were both fourteen, and running around the streets of Belfast like hallions. It actually makes me go pale now, thinking about what all we and our friends got up to, but LUCKILY no harm came of it all…I did a lot of living in my teens!

When we were 15 or 16, I really liked Ian and had heard through the grapevine that the feeling was mutual. I decided I would ask him out. Please try not to judge the next bit, I was a teenager…we were all in Botanic Gardens in Belfast which is a beautiful park, except on Friday and Saturday nights during the summer, when large numbers of youths gather there for a night of hard drinking and general misbehaving. I am fairly sure that if I went back there now on a Friday night this summer, it would still be exactly the same scene, with many, many teenagers in various states of drunkenness falling around and the police haplessly trying to control the situation… πŸ˜€

We were sitting in a group of about ten, and I was drinking beer and trying to get it together to ask him out.

(I know regular commenter and great real-life friend Leigh won’t mind me telling this story because it was so long ago πŸ˜€ )

Next thing I knew- Leigh and Ian were kissing. The horror!! I had let my chance go by! πŸ˜€

Leigh and Ian dated for a while, and she did me a huge favour. If we’d got together at that age, it would probably have lasted a few weeks or months before we would have broken up and never seen each other again. As it was, we remained friends until he left for university in Scotland when we were eighteen, and I stayed in Belfast to go to university there.

Time passed, I was hanging out with a different crowd and lost touch with Ian for several years.

When 13th April 1996 came, I had a really bad day. I’d had a terrible fall out with a girl who was one of my closest friends a couple of weeks before, and it was still affecting me a lot. The fall out was largely my fault, and I still feel ashamed of what caused it, and have no plans to discuss it here! πŸ˜€

I’d just come back from the Holiday From Hell, and was reeling from the shock of realising my own naivete…

Worst of all though, was that my dog Tessa had been put down earlier that day. She was fourteen and a King Charles Spaniel that I’d inherited from my grandmother. She suffered from diabetes, and had somehow managed to scale a tall bookcase to get at an Easter Egg. It caused massive damage to her organs and she couldn’t take the strain.

I was feeling very upset about all of the above, and my friends insisted in me going out, instead of sitting at home licking my wounds. I didn’t want to go out AT ALL, but they basically dragged me kicking and screaming!

When I walked through the door of the club we went to, the first thing I saw was this gorgeous guy smiling at me. In my frazzled state of mind, it took me a few seconds to realise it was Ian!

We were delighted to see each other, and spent ages talking and catching up. During this time, copious quantities of alcohol were consumed. After a few hours, I managed to do what I had failed to do all those years before and I pretty much pounced on him (my God, my father will be reading this!!!!!!!). After this, I drunkenly uttered the now-immortal phrase, “I fancy you. Will you go out with me?” which was nothing if not to the point. Luckily, he was too plastered by this point to do anything but say yes.

A terrible day turned into a very positive one. We’ve barely spent any time apart ever since! It could all have been so different if Leigh hadn’t got her courage up before me in that summer in the early 1990’s…. πŸ˜€

10 Responses to “Thirteenth on the Thirteenth”


  1. 1 Kim
    April 13, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Ah, alcohol – the ultimate matchmaker! I know for a fact I never would have gotten the nerve to talk to Brian had I not been very tipsy the night I met him! Thank goodness for booze!!!
    That upset me about the dog and the Easter egg though – was it a hardboiled egg that did so much damage?

    Easter eggs in Ireland are chocolate eggs- I think a boiled egg would have been OK, but not half a pound of choccy. 😦 I’ll never know how she got it!

  2. April 13, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    It’s a simpler and much less geeky story than my own! (Hint: text-based computer games. Woohoo!)

    Happy anniversary to you two!

    Geeky stories are cool too. πŸ™‚

  3. April 13, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Happy anniversary! Good things come to those who haven’t consumed enough Dutch Courage… πŸ™‚

    The consumption of too little Dutch Courage is a rare occurance in our house… πŸ˜›

  4. April 14, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Happy Anniversary to you both! I, personally, think the story was precious. πŸ˜€

    LOL, you must not have high standards when it comes to romance…joke!!!!

  5. April 14, 2009 at 1:33 am

    Happy Anniversary!!!!

    Why thank you!

  6. 6 dyskinesia
    April 14, 2009 at 3:04 am

    Happy Anniversary! Hope you two are doing something wonderfully fun and relaxing today. πŸ™‚

    We did have a lovely day, thanks! πŸ™‚

  7. April 14, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Happy Anniversary!! That’s a cute story. πŸ™‚

    I don’t know if cute is the word, ha ha! Thank you!

  8. 8 layla2376
    April 16, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    AAAGGGHHH !!!! Just stumbled on this ! Very glad I “contributed” to the very happy family you guys now have ! Poor Ian – to say we dated is overstretching it, I spent most of the time pining over my now hubby Stu !! – favours done all round xx
    Hope you have had a wonderful holiday, looking forward to catching up & hearing all about it x

    Glad I could make you laugh- we were all half-crazed back then, I think!!

  9. 9 Skry
    April 22, 2009 at 4:24 am

    Happy Anniversary Sooz! Loved the story, even though I’ve heard it before. It’s a cool story and it always makes me smile πŸ˜€

    It’s such a Belfast story too. I read a great article the other day in the Belly Telly that really reminded me of home – I know/have done about 20/25 of these:

    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/lifestyle/article14212543.ece?a=23

    I don’t suppose they use the word “Baltic” much to describe coldness in New Zealand…I hear it’s getting chilly where you are, just as it starts to warm up here! πŸ˜€

  10. 10 Ivan
    April 23, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    The Botanic Gardens have a lot to answer for, love lost and won. I used to live on the Stranmills Road so Botanic Gardens AND The Botanic Inn were regular haunts and I met my wife there. Some alchol was consumed on occasion. Actually nearly every occasion πŸ™‚
    I was glad to see out of sadness came so much love. You have great friends ’cause without them dragging you out you may never have been reunired with ‘YER MAN’.
    Cheers for now.
    BTW we are so jealous Donegal is one of our fav places.

    There are more than one of us here who feel the same about Botanic… πŸ˜€ Donegal is wonderful- hope you guys can head up there someday soon. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

