08
Apr
09

Pets

My heart is with Heather today. She posted very movingly about the loss of her beloved doggie Jasper, who recently died.

My family have always had pets, and they’ve always been real family members. I actually feel sorry for people who don’t feel the same way about pets- I really think they are missing out. Some of the best people I know are animals!

Dogs, in particular, I have found I form very close relationships with. A good dog friend is, to quote a cliché, the best friend you could possibly have. They are always there for you, with a sympathetic head on your knee if you’re sad, full of good humour and cheer when you are happy, and full of personality.

My family lost two wonderful dogs a few years ago, called Jamie and Foxy. I don’t think any of us will ever really get over it, either.

Foxy, in particular, died so suddenly (even though she was getting on in years) that I felt her loss very acutely, and I know it affected my parents the same way. She was the sweetest, gentlest, most caring and devoted friend anyone could ever have had, and I’ll always miss her.
Photobucket

 

Pets enrich your life so much. I can’t imagine not having pets in my life. It just really, really sucks that their lives have to be so much shorter than ours.

 

5 Responses to “Pets”


  1. April 8, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    We had two beautiful Burmese cats and they are both dead now. I do miss them. My partner was very allergic to them though, so we won’t replace them with any new animals. Well just our fish.

    It’s a shame fish don’t have more personality, lol! At least they don’t cast though! Burmese cats are lovely. We have a cat, but he’s not any particular breed, and is missing half his marbles. 🙂

  2. April 8, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    I love that picture! I just posted in response to a comment that not everyone takes their pets into their family and I can’t relate. I’m not sure if I’m ready for another doggie friend yet, but with the way I miss the big guy I don’t think it will be long. Thank you for posting this, Suzy. You’re the best.

    And, for the record, I still have one (naughty) cat and I am completely convinced that they are ALL missing half their marbles! 😀

    Our cat isn’t naughty, he’s a living Saint and should be canonised for putting up with all my kids throw at him. He is, however, a complete idiot. He hasn’t two brain cells to rub together- in fact, I believe the two cells would rotate around each other in the otherwise empty void, and occasionally collide, which would be a thought, in Max terms. 🙂

  3. 3 Bernadette
    April 8, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Heather and Emer grew up with a very affectionate and protective great pyrennean mountain dog called Elsa – was never sure did the three of them think they were all doggies or toddlers!!
    I still miss a beautiful Burmese cat I had called Finn, who used to watch for me on the gate pier every day – when he saw the car coming in the gate he would jump off and run to the door. Then one day coming in from work I noticed he wasn’t on his usual watch on the pier. Have no idea what happend to him but I never saw him again after that. That was about 4 years ago.Both he and Elsa in their time were much loved pets.

    I’ve seen some very amusing photos of you, Elsa, Emer and H, and she looked like a gorgeous dog! As for Finn, I had the very great pleasure of meeting him for myself some years ago. He was a very fine cat indeed.

  4. 4 layla2376
    April 10, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Oh wow, Heathers story moved me to tears x We didnt really have pets as children ( with the exception of some fish and a hamster),and I still feel we really missed out in a big way.

    Pets are wonderful. I cried every time I thought of Heather and Jasper for days!!! Maybe Soph would like a (small) doggie??

  5. 5 Skry
    April 22, 2009 at 3:27 am

    That is such a cool wee pic of Foxy. She was a great doggie – full of love, personality and tongue! 😛 Jamie was a great dog too, so gentle for all his size and occasional bark. I miss both of them loads…

    With my track record with pets I am dubious to ever own one again – between short-lived hamsters, short-lived goldfish and a very short-lived dog, not to mention two cats that pissed on absolutely everything expensive and electrical I owned, it’s made me a bit wary about owning more pets.

    However I would love to get two dogs if I ever became self-employed. My dream would be to own an Irish Wolfhound called “The Professor” and a Border Collie called “Mr. Dog”, and that they would be long-lived and well behaved. Doubtful that’ll ever happen, but I can always dream…

    Oh yeah and I’m now back onto your (and everyone elses) blog again thanks to a sneaky bit of changing settings in work. How long I’ll be able to pull this off for is anyone’s guess but hopefully I can keep it up 😀

    “The Professor”- is that a come-on??? 😀 I think you loved Jamie and Foxy nearly as much as my family- I remember how distraught you were when Jamie died. You were at my house for dinner and we all became very morose. What good times, huh?! 😀


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

