08
Apr
09

An update on the hair

OK, OK, so I wussed out.

I was all set to dye my hair last night, but when I look at it without my wishful thinking goggles on, it’s still a little bit too short and thin. I’d probably end up simply dyeing my scalp and looking like an even bigger freak.

So, sorry to disappoint those of you who have been waiting with bated breath (ha ha!! as if!) but it will be another few weeks.

I do still plan to leave the scarf off when on holiday next week, so you may find that the odd picture of me creeps in, minus headscarf, when I get back.

It’s a bit like leaving your stabilisers off your bike for the first time when you’re a kid.

Last time the hair grew back, I tested the water at the local shop.

I quickly realised that having very short hair doesn’t necessarily brand you a cancer victim the way wearing a headscarf does. Noone batted an eyelid, and there were none of the usual INCREDIBLY irritating sympathetic smiles, the ones where people tilt their heads to one side when they smile at you. These sympathetic smiles are doubled in strength if you have small children in tow.

I know people are trying to be nice, really I do, but it has been frustrating for me.

At least with short hair, people can just think you like your hair that way. I actually kind of do like having short hair (not THIS bloody short, though!!) and might keep it short for a while.

The hair dye is on my bathroom shelf for now. I still can’t wait to feel like I have enough hair to actually break it out! That day is coming soon though. πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “An update on the hair”


  1. April 8, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    If the “oh I feel so sorry for you” looks were burning your butt, maybe try a severely gelled spiked-up look? Maybe dyed ruby red or something? That would get you a whole lot of odd looks, but I guarantee none of them would be saccharine-sweet sympathy! πŸ˜€

    The thought has crossed my mind, lol! I think the only thing stopping me is that I have to look fairly professional at work, and also I can’t take the mocking the engineers would give me if I did something TOO radical with my hair- peer pressure is a terrible thing. πŸ˜€

  2. April 8, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    You know, I know you’d have a lot more scalp to cover, but when I’ve gotten the hair color on my skin (my forehead and the sides of my head along the hairline), eye make-up remover takes it right off. Maybe you could give yourself an eye make-up remover scalp rub after you colored if the dye decided to ‘stick’? Hee! πŸ˜‰

    I’ll love the pictures with or without the scarves.

    I keep looking at my bonce and wondering if I should just do it- after all, I can cover the resultant mess with a scarf, can’t I? We’ll see how plastered I get once the kids are in bed tonight. πŸ˜›

  3. April 8, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    I think women with short hair look beautiful, and have always preferred seeing it to long. πŸ™‚

    Don’t have much feckin’ choice at the moment, but thank you! πŸ˜€

  4. April 9, 2009 at 12:37 am

    I have had short hair for 38 years…but I do get to choose. Seeing a dyed scalp would have been cool though!

    My self confidence is not at an all time high at the moment. Dyeing my scalp and posting it for the world to see may tip me over the edge!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

