01
Apr
09

I’m so pathetically excited!

Most of you know that me and the family are heading to my much-beloved family holiday home in Donegal for the Easter week.

My Dad now owns the house, it having been passed down from my Great Uncle to my Mum and now to him.

Going there is good enough on its own- the place is AMAZING- OK, so the house is lacking in basic essentials like central heating and internet ( tongue.gif ) but it is right on the beach, has a vast open fire, and is generally just the biggest feel-good place in history.

BUT- my Dad is staying there tonight, having wanted to check that the place was OK before we went up as noone has stayed there since the New Year.

He called me a few minutes ago to tell me that Ian and I were getting treated to a meal out at the world-class The Mill Restaurant which is- bar none- one of the very best places to eat that I have ever been, and, as they are normally booked up months in advance this is HUGE!

The holiday house is a terrace house in the village, with locals living on either side. Our friend Liz, who lives on one side and has two kids of her own, PLUS she’s the incredibly talented dessert chef for The Mill, is going to babysit. I spoke to her on the phone tonight, and she absolutely wouldn’t take no for an answer!

I bet she never repeats the offer once she realises how crazy my kids are!!!

8 Responses to “I’m so pathetically excited!”


  1. April 1, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    When should I be there?!?!?! πŸ˜€

    That sounds absolutely wonderful! I hope you enjoy yourselves (how could you not?) and take LOTS of pictures. I LOVE your pictures.

    My pictures suck ass, it’s just that the places I photograph are so lovely you can’t really balls it up! πŸ˜€ I wish I could take as good pics as you! Wish you COULD be here!

  2. April 2, 2009 at 4:11 am

    The beach and a fire…those are two of my favorite sounds. Enjoy yourself!!!!!

    I plan on it! As you know, the thought of this break has really been sustaining me through my treatment, which is why you’re all so sick of hearing me bang on about Donegal! πŸ˜€

  3. April 2, 2009 at 8:49 am

    The holiday sounds wonderful but……no internet!! I’m not sure I could cope! We are going to Spain for a few days next week and first thing I check is has the hotel got the internet? How sad is that?

    Have fun.

    ps. I discovered your blog via Kim. πŸ™‚

    Hey Joe!! I have to confess to having been surreptitiously checking out your blog too! πŸ˜€ Spain is great- have a wonderful time. After a few days of rocking quietly in the corner, my withdrawal symptoms from the net will ease and I will find I don’t miss it so much…

  4. April 2, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Sounds like a ridiculously fantastic time to me! Hope you soak it all in, you’ve earned it.

    Aw, thanks! It’ll probably rain all week, in which case there is always the pub!

  5. 5 Kim
    April 2, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I’m with Heather; I’d like to fly out today if possible!
    Sounds like it’s going to be a great time and I’m sure you all will have lots of fun.
    Don’t forget to take pictures!

    Believe me, you will all be SPAMMED with pics when I get back!! πŸ˜€ Wish you could come and visit some time. πŸ™‚

  6. 6 layla2376
    April 3, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Pathetically excited ??? are you serious, I am excited for you.
    I hope you have a wonderful time although with Donegal that is virtually guaranteed x
    I bet she does repeat the offer, your kids are fab, my small daughter is begging a date with them by the way x

    We shall discuss it on Sunday!! If my legs will even slightly take me up the Stormont hill after this big walk tomorrow! πŸ˜€

    • 7 layla2376
      April 3, 2009 at 4:28 pm

      Oh, I forgot about that, Good Luck !!! I am on night duty tonight so I wont be able to make it ( honestly, you can phone the ward and check !)

      LOL, that won’t be necessary… πŸ˜€

      • 8 layla2376
        April 3, 2009 at 5:48 pm

        Just in case you thought I was wimping out, you know I am uber fit & would have nothing to fear from a five mile walk…ahem…

        Me, too, of course… (looks at ground and shuffles feet)


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

