31
Mar
09

Nothing-to-say Tuesday

I’m having a sucky day in work, which thankfully doesn’t happen all that often. Stress levels are high and tempers frayed! The result is probably that this will be short and rather pointless.

The time change seems (touching wood) to have improved the kids sleeping. Robbie had been going to bed at 8.30pm or so and getting up at 6am. Now, he’s still going to bed at 8.30 but is staying in bed until what is now 7am. This makes me feel less cheated!

Ricky is FINALLY out of nappies at night! It’s been four nights now, and he’s been dry each night. I’m so proud of him for making this step, and he’s proud of himself. I know most of you out there will be incredulous that a four year old could still have been in nappies at night, but he was late to toilet train and it’s been an uphill struggle, so I am very pleased.

I’ve now been for a brisk walk in my two lunchbreaks so far this week, and am pleased that it is going well. I plan to introduce a little running next week, but don’t want to banjax myself by going too fast too soon, so I reckon I need to walk before I can run, so to speak! ๐Ÿ™‚ I already seem to be 4lb down on the horror that was last Friday, so hopefully I am going to make progress quickly, which will give me the incentive to persevere!

Question for you fit folk out there- do any of you have one of those heart rate monitor watches? If so, what make/model do you have and what are the pros and cons? I am considering buying one, and want one of the ones which beeps if you go above or below a certain heart rate when exercising. It would be nice to get one which also tells you how many calories you’ve burned and how long you’ve been going. A lot of them look way too complicated for me, though, and a lot of them are massively expensive, which I can’t justify for me doing a quick jog round the park.

Spring is definitely in the process of arriving. The weather is lovely and mild. I hope it lasts for our break at Easter, especially as the holiday house doesn’t have central heating!!

Not really much else to say today- hope everyone is well! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Responses to “Nothing-to-say Tuesday”


  1. 1 welshpurpletree
    March 31, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Well done Ricky! I know a few 4 yr olds in nappies at night, so don’t be too worried about it. Dry during the day is the main thing. Think Oliver’s about ready to start potty training – really looking forward to that, not!

    Robbie is wanting to start, but has only actually done anything once or twice so far. Good luck with Oliver!

  2. April 1, 2009 at 1:45 am

    My watch is a GPS too, but I don’t have the heart rate cable…I didn’t want to know before I croaked.

    I was running near someone in the Marathon and they started beeping…so they stopped and then they caught up to me. This happened for about an hour…I thought they were going to explode.

    Yeah, your probably right. I think sometimes I don’t make enough effort, so I thought the beep might make me kick it up a notch if I wasn’t. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 layla2376
    April 1, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Go Ricky, I am delighted for him x
    Go you too with the lunch time walking business x
    Wasnt the weather beautiful yesterday, fingers crossed for a Sunday morning this week as gorgeous as last.

    I hope so! Has Davina had her dust jacket removed yet?? ๐Ÿ˜€

    • 4 layla2376
      April 1, 2009 at 12:04 pm

      Sadly no, the poor bugger is still tightly clad , one of these days I may release her from her cellophane hell…..

      She’d probably retaliate by being even more bouncy and enthusiastic than usual!

  4. 5 Jenny
    April 3, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Suzy, I have a Polar heart rate monitor and it’s fantastic. I bought it years ago so neither the price nor model would be relevant now, but it’s still going strong – I think Polar is one of the best makes out there. Mine was able to “talk” to the gym machines back when I went to a gym in Norn Iron, which was a nice touch.

    I use mine to monitor the effectiveness of my workouts, pull me back when I’m trying too hard and my heart rate is too high (which is probably the only thing stopping me from burning out), and encourages me by showing how many calories I’m burning. My walk to work yesterday morning burnt off 300 of the little buggers ๐Ÿ™‚

    You should definitely get one. It’s a really good investment.

    I’ve been looking at the Polar one, mainly because of the good reviews on Amazon. Thanks for the input and glad the fitness regime is going so well! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

