30
Mar
09

The little things

I just went to tidy our kitchen, which was the usual cess-pit, while Ian read the kids their books and put them to bed.

I picked up two open milk cartons (yes, I know) and took them to the fridge, where I discovered a third, open and within date, carton of milk. WHY?!!!

Ian has been working from home today. He doesn’t really think about things like whether there’s already some milk that’s open, he just goes with whatever comes to hand.

Now, we have a very happy and successful relationship, and in part, that is a by-product of us BOTH being messy pigs. We were together for nearly ten years before we had kids, and we were nearly as bad before the kids came along as we are now. That said, silly things like that drive me completely insane.

In our (nearly) thirteen year relationship, here are Ian’s crimes-

          He is unable to load the dishwasher to my liking. He puts the cups where the plates should be, and the plates where the cups should be. I find myself constantly reloading the dishwasher. This, for some unclear reason, greatly amuses him.

          He is unable to put clothes pegs back on the line so that they can be slid up and down. Despite constant nagging, he has been unable to rectify this glaring fault.

          He will only shave under heavy duress and after I have accused him hourly of looking like a hobo over a period of several days.

          He won’t clean the bathroom, no matter what threats are levied.

Despite these heinous shortcomings, he has some pretty sweet plus points.

          He is a wonderful father, much more patient than I am, and the kids adore him. He’s never afraid to horseplay with them, even though he always ends up getting hurt (I dislike the whole rolling around on the floor, accompanied with frantic giggling which inevitably ends in tears, for this very reason!)

          He’s DAMN hot

          He’s never, ever said a single word about my weight gain, and often tells me how beautiful I am, even now when I have no hair and am in danger of being attacked by the Japanese every time I hit the beach…

          He can cook really well, and often does (in fact, not only has he put the kids to bed tonight, he’s also cooking me dinner)

          He’s not afraid to cry in front of me- this is a strength and not a weakness.

          When I feel down or afraid, he can ALWAYS put a positive spin on the situation and make me feel better.

          He “gets” my eccentricities

          He can make me laugh until a little bit of wee comes out

          He’s a good time keeper, because if he wasn’t there is NO WAY we would still be together

I could go on, but you get my gist!

When I look at how wonderful he is to me and the kids, it makes me realise that stupid stuff like toilets that could use a scrub, and a poorly loaded dishwasher REALLY doesn’t matter.

The clothes peg thing is something we need to work on, though… 😀

7 Responses to “The little things”


  1. March 30, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    It all evens out wonderfully, doesn’t it?

    I think the dishwasher thing is funny. Just in the fact that Ian appears to do it on purpose just to get to you. Hee!

    For the record, you ARE beautiful and he’d be a dumb-dumb if he didn’t agree. 😉

    I really hope it isn’t on purpose to wind me up, or there’s going to be murder!!! 😀

  2. March 30, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    My boyfriend always reloads the dishwasher after I load it. I wonder if that’s a hint…? Hmm.

    I suspect it may be… 😀 Thanks for your comment and I love your story that you are writing on your own blog- I will be sitting down tomorrow to read it more closely. 🙂

  3. March 31, 2009 at 2:16 am

    This post made me smile and say “Awwwww”, and giggle hysterically! You have a great guy. Blessed, indeed!

    Thanks Laura- I really am. 🙂

  4. March 31, 2009 at 4:30 am

    You know…freshly opened milk containers taste better than one that has been previously opened…everyone knows THAT!!!!!

    It must be a bloke thing… 😀

  5. March 31, 2009 at 4:51 am

    Great post, Suzy! it really made me smile. My hubby can make me laugh until I wee too. ♥

    We are lucky girls, apart from the whole incontinency thing. 😀

  6. 6 apieceofwood
    March 31, 2009 at 5:37 am

    Ha- this made me laugh – my husband is incapable of putting wet clothes over radiators so they actually have a chanc of drying!!

    YES- that’s another one on my con list!!! We really are up against it with these buffoons!!! 😀

  7. 7 Layla2376
    March 31, 2009 at 11:32 am

    They all have their little maddening foibles but I suspect a big part of their appeal would be lost of they didnt.
    I never thought bringing about incontinence would be on any list of attributes but its also very true in my case, Stu makes me laugh like no-one else.
    I could list Stus little short falls but it would be pointless, he doesnt respond to shame or nagging and laughs like mad when I start blah blah blahing, I have learned to let them go .

    That’s a trick you’re going to have to teach me sometime!!!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

