29
Mar
09

The training begins!

Leigh and I met up this morning for a walk at Stormont Estate, which is where the Race for Life will be taking place at the end of May- we’re both taking part.

 Photobucket

It’s a lovely day here, sunny and not too cold, so conditions were perfect.

For those of you outside Northern Ireland, Stormont is home to the Northern Ireland Assembly (local parliament). It’s set in beautiful park land, with the paths leading through the woods.

Photobucket

Photobucket

My cousin Astrid recent emailed me saying she heard that the Race for Life route makes you run up the hill to Stormont- it’s quite steep, I can’t really see me making it all the way to the top without having a coronary (though Leigh’s a nurse- I’ll be in good hands) because even walking it is still puncturing me!

View from the top of the hill-

Photobucket

I feel like we had a productive walk today- we probably walked most of the route we’re going to be (cough) running in May. It’s fun too when someone is with you- we had a great laugh.

I did take some pics of me and Leigh, but was under strong instruction not to post any pics of her that were less than perfect. The pics of us two were far from fabulous, as I was using Ricky’s camera, which doesn’t have a view field that can be turned around when you are doing self portraits, so am sad to report that none of the ones of us have made the cut!! 😀

I am starting my new take-trainers-to-work program tomorrow, so maybe in another week or two, the hill at Stormont will start to be a source of less dread.

Photobucket

I’m doing a five mile walk at Castleward next weekend with my Dad, and am meeting Leigh again next Sunday at Stormont.

My ass will surely HAVE to start shrinking soon! Go, me! 😀

6 Responses to “The training begins!”


  1. 1 douglas34
    March 29, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    exercise and scenic pics. . . nice post 🙂

    Thank you! Thanks for the comment!

  2. March 29, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Lookit you go!! I’m glad you enjoyed yourself, it’s great motivation to get back out there again and again!

    I doubt I would be able to RUN any sort of thing in May if I started training now, I’m too far gone in my fitness. Maybe May of next year? Hee!

    I’m inclined to agree, but still hope to be able to run SOME of it, even if I can manage it all. I could easily run down the hill, ha ha! 😀

  3. 3 Layla2376
    March 29, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Great pics from this morning, I had a great time. I am not surprised the pics of us werent great, I can bet it was the pic of me !- squinting is so not a good look ….
    I am willing to aim for running down the hill,we would just about make it at a push. Based on this morning we could easily laugh our way down x ( such great fun reminiscing)

    I had so much fun- even if- and noone else can get this- we’ve been cursed with such attractive children- WHY does he mock us?! 😀

  4. 4 Sara
    March 29, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    I’m glad your exercising is starting off well and I’m hoping your daily at work routine goes off without a hitch, too. I need to get off my duff and start exercising. There’s always tomorrow! lol Keep up the good work! I’m sure those lbs will start falling off left and right and you’ll be racing up that hill come May in no time flat!

    I hope so! Thanks Sara!

  5. 5 Jenny
    March 30, 2009 at 7:30 am

    Unless they’ve changed the route, you do have to go up that hill. I’ve done the Race for Life in Stormont myself, and that bit nearly killed me. It seemed so unfair!

    Have fun with your training. Hope the weather is kind to you 🙂

    At the moment, I can just about walk up the hill. By the time of the race, I don’t know if I’ll be able to run all the way up it, but I’ll do my best! I’ve been for a walk today in my lunch break, so at least I am now making an effort!

  6. 6 Kim
    March 30, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I’ve done two of those “runs” (I walked) Race for Life things – one was a 5k and the other was more of an all-night relay thing, and both of them were a lot of fun! Though I’m sure your scenery will be a lot prettier than my Florida walks were. I think you’ll enjoy it.

    It should be good! I’m sure Florida has some really pretty scenery too!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

