29
Mar
09

It is what it is!

Here’s a rare picture of my two boys together. Normally, they are heading off in opposite directions, and it’s impossible to get a photo of them standing together, or they’re attempting to murder one another (all in the name of play, of course) and picture taking would be pointless.

Photobucket

It’s not perfect by any means, but I’m pleased with it, given the circumstances.

Ricky wanted to go to the beach at Kilclief today (pronounced Kil-leaf), but when we got there, there must have been some kind of Equinox tide, because the sea was too high and there wasn’t really enough beach to take two small children onto. Hmmm…new plan needed.

I thought I’d take them for a walk to the St Patrick Monument, which bizarrely and inexplicably, I can find absolutely no reference to on the internet whatsoever! This is a huge monumental statue of St Patrick which sits atop a hill with mesmerising views of Co. Down, and it can be seen for miles around. I have searched on Google under Raholp (the locality that it’s in), St Patrick’s Monument Co. Down, Lecale (the greater district) and some other searches, and they have all come up with zero. I am flummoxed.

Anyhow, it’s a steep ascent to the statue. I thought the kids would be able to cope OK with it. They were doing really well, and we made it about two thirds of the way up. There’s a statue of the Virgin Mary around that point, because it’s a ceremonial place used by the Catholic church, and (forgive me for the irreverence) Ricky saw it, and piped up, “Look, Mummy! Cinderella!” πŸ˜€

Not sure where he got that idea from, but it was the highlight of the walk! Just past that point, BOTH boys seemed to completely give up the ghost, so far as walking was concerned. Robbie was holding my hand, and he suddenly went limp and threw himself to the ground, screaming his head off. Ricky simultaneously followed suit.

I have NO CLUE why they did it- it was kind of weird- but when I prised Robbie off the ground, I became concerned about his elbow, and worried that he might have dislocated it again, because he wasn’t using his right arm at all. Regular readers will remember that he dislocated it a few months ago.

I picked Robbie up, got Ricky up, and turned to head down the hill again, thinking I was heading for A&E at the nearest hospital. The views were incredible, but sadly taking any photos was now obviously out of the question!

We got back to the car, Robbie and Ricky both stopped crying, I gave them some juice, and they started laughing and smiling.

By the time we got to my Dad’s to feed the horses, five minutes later, they were running around like hallions again and there were no further problems.

WTF????

I don’t even begin to pretend I understand my own kids.

Maybe the hill was just too steep!

Edited to add- my brother kindly emailed me to point out that a search under Slieve Patrick would bring up the place immediately. D’oh!!!! πŸ˜€

7 Responses to “It is what it is!”


  1. March 29, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Boys! Hahaha!! πŸ˜€

    I wish it was acceptable behavior for adults to throw themselves on the ground and start screaming!

    You mean it’s NOT?!!! Shit! :p

  2. 2 Sara
    March 29, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    It’s probably just a toddler thing…At least you got a picture of them together…and they were fine (no more dislocated elbows!) Hopefully, they’ll sleep well tonight after all the exercise!

    Only time will tell… πŸ˜€

  3. March 29, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Uh…girls do it too!!!!!

    I’m sure they do! πŸ™‚

  4. 4 Layla2376
    March 30, 2009 at 10:17 am

    That is a great pic, I love the look on Robbies face, hard to tell if its admiration or mischief….
    Maybe meeting Cinderella was just too much for both of them ????

    I think it’s both! πŸ˜€ I think Cinders may have finished them off… πŸ˜€

  5. 5 Kim
    March 30, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Although you know I wish more than anything to become a mother, I do fear those instances of complete and utter craziness.
    I think that’s why God makes them so darn cute!

    The cuteness does buy them a lot of brownie points. Thankfully these moments are not constant, or I really would fear for my sanity!

  6. 6 Bernadette
    March 30, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    That is so funny – I’m sure she’s been called much worse…..by other people making the climb. They are so cute in that photo. If they ever have that ‘momentary lapse of reason’ in the supermarket you might have not-very-mother-like-thoughts – believe me I know .

    Momentary lapses of reason in the supermarket are almost a weekly occurence…. πŸ˜€

  7. 7 welshpurpletree
    March 31, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I’m always trying to get a nice pic of my two together, like you say it’s a near impossibility. The best one I’ve got they were both leaning over the arm of the sofa watching the telly, I stood in front of the telly so they had to look at me, it’s nearly perfect.

    Glad it’s not just my kids that have spontaneous tantrums for no apparent reason

    I think they probably all do it! It’s amazing, the apparent restorative powers of juice!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

