27
Mar
09

The sweetest thing

I’m very close to both my brothers, Marty and Brian, and think they are the very best kind of people. They are always there for me, and I know we share a very special bond, even though of course we fight like cats and dogs… 😀

Marty once commented in the middle of a sentence that he would “take a bullet” for either me or Brian, and whilst I didn’t say anything at the time, it really made a huge impression on me, because he was absolutely serious. That’s the kind of love money can’t buy, that time can’t change, that really matters.

They, along with my Dad, have both been a massive source of support, strength, cheer and hope to me through my recent struggle with cancer. I think it says a lot about my upbringing that we are very close even now as adults. If I may say so myself, my parents did a good job- their kids have strong values and close bonds. 🙂

Today, I was on the phone in work, and a delivery guy appeared with the most beautiful flowers. I kind of thought they might be for me, since I am the only girl who works there apart from Joanne, who is part time.

The flowers WERE for me- and when I opened the card, I got a lovely message from my youngest brother Brian (I can hardly type that because I call him Briney!! 😀 )

Photobucket

Upon phoning him, he told me that they weren’t for any special reason, but that he was very happy to see me feeling much better, and that he loved me.

It doesn’t get much better than that.

Ladies, take note. He’s single, funny, reasonably good looking and apparently more solvent than I previously gave him credit for. Plus he’s given to grandiose gestures of love.

WHY is it you’re still single, Briney??? 😀

Here’s a pic of me and Briney- Marty hates having his picture taken and would 100% absolutely murder me and never speak to me again if I posted his photo on my blog. 😦

Photobucket

Thanks to Briney for the amazing and unexpected gift, and to both brothers for…just being amazing. Love you both.

7 Responses to “The sweetest thing”


  1. 1 Brian
    March 27, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    What the hell do you mean “Reasonably Good looking!?” We’ll see how we do at the planetarium and what your boys have to say about their mum when they get back!!

    Well describing you as “stunningly good looking” might freak out my regular readers. And you are expressly forbidden from subverting my children- oh, wait, it’s too late already. 😀

  2. March 28, 2009 at 12:17 am

    Flowers for no reason are the best kind and they couldn’t have been sent to a more deserving sweetheart.

    Well done, Brian!

    He does pretty much rock. 😀

  3. 3 Bernadette
    March 28, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Quite simply lovely. Thats the sort of gesture that makes you miss a beat – as for the person who made it, well how typical and anyone who knows him wouldn’t be a bit surprised.

    He and Marty have even taken the kids out for the afternoon- I am about to enjoy a Guilt Free Nap… 😀

  4. 4 welshpurpletree
    March 28, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Aww that’s lovely, I nearly started crying. I would fall over in shock if I received flowers from hubby, nevermind my brother!

    Yeah, Ian doesn’t get me flowers any more, lol! He used to get me them sometimes, but hey, flowers ain’t everything in a relationship. My brother is very sweet. 🙂

  5. 5 Kim
    March 28, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    If I didn’t already have a sweet, cute Brian of my own, I’d seriously take you up on yours! What a beautiful thing to do – good brother!
    Strangely, my sister recently sent me flowers, though it was for my birthday, but boy was that a great surprise.

    Between me and Ian, we have a lot of Brian’s in my family- Robbie’s middle name is Brian. 🙂 They do indeed rock. 🙂

  6. 6 Emma C
    March 28, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    If only I was single…..
    Love my siblings enormously too.

    Good brothers and sisters are a rare commodity- we’re very lucky!

  7. 7 layla2376
    March 29, 2009 at 9:43 am

    What an enormously sweet thing to do, off occasion flowers are always the best kind to get because they are so unexpected.
    Your blog will be a good bit of advertising for him, he’ll get snapped up in no time x
    Brothers and sisters are the best. I miss my brother enormously, he is one of my favourite people to be around – now I have to make do with emails and the odd phone call x

    He definitely needs a girlfriend. The saying “anything with four legs and a tail” is starting to apply… 😀


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

