27
Mar
09

Affirmative Action

So, from getting on the scales this morning, I am now officially the heaviest I have ever been, to my utter disgust. I don’t think I am eating all that much, but I must be! Yikes!

Getting exercise fitted in has been a bit of a struggle. The evenings are still too dark for me to get out on the roads around our village after work- we don’t have too many footpaths, so I’d have to run on the road. Part of it’s laziness too. I get home from work at about 5.30pm, and we normally have the boys in bed for 8.30-9pm. By the time Ian and I have dinner, it’s nearly 10pm and it’s all I can do to stare at the tv for an hour before bed. LAZY!

I also feel guilty if I leave Ian to feed/bath/get the boys to bed on his own, and certainly don’t think it would be fair every night, just for the sake of me losing a few pounds.

I rarely take a lunch break in work- just stuff a quick sandwich into me very quickly- but I think that the only solution is that I take a change of clothes into work and at least go for a walk in my lunch break.

I’ve decided to give this a go next week and see what happens, because something clearly has to be done! I am disgusted with myself for letting it get to this stage. I was pretty slim untilย I hit my early 20’s, but when I moved in with Ian, quickly gained weight. I think this was partly as a result of having no competition for the good (read fattening) food when there was only me and Ian, as opposed to me, my two brothers and my parents when I lived at home! Also, I bought my own car, which meant I wasn’t walking everywhere any more. And, let’s face it, my portion sizes went through the roof too. To sum up, it’s entirely my own fault and as much as I might want to blame it on a bad metabolism, I just need to eat less and get my ass in gear.

I am meeting Leigh (who comments here as Layla) for a walk on Sunday, and am hoping she is just as unfit as me! We’re doing the Race for Life together at the end of May, and it would be nice to be able to run just a little bit of it, even if it is only down the hills with the wind behind us!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

I’m also (F*CK!!!!!!!) going to have to start calorie controlling again. GRRRRRR.

Therefore, as of Monday, you can expect me to be in a very bad mood. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good times ahead!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

6 Responses to “Affirmative Action”


  1. March 27, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    When I started in the gym last month I was the heaviest I’ve ever been. Now, I’ve lost 10 pounds in 6 weeks, and you really can’t tell. ๐Ÿ˜›

    I feel the same way about spending time away from home working out as you do (and Dys has, on occasion, let me know that she’s not a huge fan) but on some levels it has to be done. And honestly, in my case, pushing around big weight piles is a good outlet for pent-up aggression. Not that you seem to have the same problem with that that I do!

    I have plenty of pent up agression but blogging helps! We’ll see how it goes! Well done on the weight loss and keeping at it!

  2. 2 Kim
    March 27, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I’m right there with you, slowly getting back into a walking routine and being a lot more careful about what I cram down my food hole. I think the hardest part of it all is the getting started part but if you can get past that, it becomes a routine and you actually start to crave it because of how much better you feel – if only to have a short time to yourself every day! That’s been my experience so far anyway.

    Yeah, you’re right. ๐Ÿ™‚ It is just getting started, but I definitely have a plan now. I lost a lot of weight before but I have put ALL back on with extra since I was diagnosed with cancer. Grrrr. I blame the cancer, ha ha!

  3. March 27, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    You’re preaching to the chubby choir over here, sister. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I wish you much success with your weight loss, sweetie. I know how hard it is and I, too, get very disappointed in myself when I see how I’ve let myself go.

    *sigh*

    It’s no fun, is it!!!! xxx

  4. March 27, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    I should really join in with you, as I’ve slowly climbed back up the scales recently ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but the truth is, I just don’t seem to be able to motivate myself to start. Any hints and tips would be helpful!! And good luck xx

    If I had hints and tips, my ass would not be “so big, it can be seen from anywhere in the world”… ๐Ÿ˜€ If I get the weight off, I will be your guru! I need to get some weight off, or if I go on the beach in Donegal this summer, the Norweigans and Japanese will turn up in huge boats and try to harpoon me.

  5. March 27, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Well congratualtions!!!!! A new record!!!!!

    (awkward silence and slow clapping)

    There are things you can do while watching TV to ease back into a routine…just don’t panic yet! You knwo that you have been through a lot and your body has to adjust to everything. Try not to get on the scale too often until you get back into a routine.

    Ummm…thanks…. :-l

    Yeah, I have a huge OCD streak and cannot resist the scales, kind of like Brigid Jones only even chubbier. At least I recognise I need to do something about it?!!

  6. 6 Bernadette
    March 27, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    The lunch time walks are a good way to get started Suzy – and I know that getting started is the hard part. Once you get into the routine of a little lunch time exercise it gets easier, and you will be surprised at how you will find ways to increase exercising. Just go easy on yourself to begin with … and stay away from the scales for longer periods.

    Yes, you’re right! Hopefully I’ll be able to keep going with it… ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

