26
Mar
09

Random stuff for today

Ricky had his second appointment with the speech therapist today. I didn’t get to go due to work commitments, so Ian took him, but it seems to have gone well. She’s given us a few exercises to work on with him- mainly on saying “t” and “k”. We have to take him back after Easter.

I’m slightly confused as to why we haven’t been discharged because she says he’s bang on target with his speech, and in many areas speaks better than his age, but we’ll definitely persevere for his sake.

My brother Marty has been emailing me this morning and is planning on taking the boys to the Armagh Planetarium this weekend. I know Ricky in particular will really enjoy this outing- he’s fascinated by space. Marty is wondering if he’ll be welcome there, however. Our parents took us there as children- Marty must have been seven or eight but was already a computer whizz, and he managed to hack into their computer system and was merrily reprogramming everything on them. Security WAS involved and we did not leave the place on good terms… 😉

Oh, and I hope if you’re looking at the link above, that you have more joy in working out their website than I had. It’s absolutely crap and almost impossible to navigate.

Lastly, it was Mother’s Day here last Sunday. I visited my Mum’s grave, and was reminded of how much she enjoyed the day. Personally, I think it’s a load of rubbish designed to boost card and flower sales, but it really meant a lot to her.

My Dad will probably kill me for recounting the following story… 😀

When we were quite small kids, small enough for my Dad to still be in charge of birthdays etc, he somehow neglected to notice that Mother’s Day was coming up, and forgot to get us a present to give to Mum.

She was absolutely FURIOUS and everyone spent the morning tiptoe-ing around the house. When we went to church that day, the minister (who personally put himself on my List of Enemies that day) asked if any children present had forgotten Mother’s Day. My Mum made us all stand up, and I can still remember how mortified I was.

Poor Dad- but at least she didn’t make HIM stand up!!! We all still giggle over that one!

Robbie made me get up at 5am today, so I’m feeling a bit insane with tiredness. How he can be so relentlessly cheerful on so little sleep is beyond me!

Have a lovely day everyone! 🙂

7 Responses to “Random stuff for today”


  1. 1 welshpurpletree
    March 26, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Nowadays, Mothers Day has become a commercial event, but really it’s Mothering Sunday and a celebration in the Church calender. We had a lovely service for it on Sunday, and all the mother’s received flowers

    The church I went to as a child didn’t do anything like that- what a lovely thought! 🙂

  2. March 26, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Mother’s Day is usually the first day after winter I go out to the cemetery to visit my grandmothers and aunts (my Mom’s urn is here in the house with me). I loved doing nice things for my Mom on Mother’s Day, just another excuse to spoil her like she had done for me pretty much every day. I go to the cemetery because I know she would want me to and it would make my Nana especially happy.

    One of my favorite jobsites was the Adler Planetarium in Chicago. I got to see a lot of things that I wouldn’t have gotten to see as a patron. Those places are a LOT more fun before they’re open to the public! Ha!

    That’s a lovely tradition, Heather.

    I wish I’d had time to visit the Adler Planetarium when I visited Chicago. Maybe next time! 😀

  3. March 26, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    I have been to a few planetariums and the one in Chicago is my favorite.

    I can imagine you all didn’t forget any Mother’s Day after that one, huh?

    Yeah- this being Northern Ireland, I don’t think our planetarium is quite up there with Adler, but they should have fun anyway! 😀

    No, we NEVER forgot Mother’s Day again!

  4. 4 Bernadette
    March 26, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Was never too sure how I felt about ‘Mother’s Day’, especially in recent years but my two daughters always seem to remember, and I still have lovely cards received from them over the years, some of which they made themselves. I won’t go into the story of what happened when my brothers and me once tried to make a cake for our mother on Mother’s day. One word will do – DISASTER. One thing I’ve never really understood though is how – down here- some ‘festival’ sort of days – Patrick’s Day, Cheltenham Racing Festival and Mother’s Day happen during Lent !!.
    Lovely photos of Donaghadee. XXX

    Your daughters are pretty good at that kind of thing! Heather even remembered to send my Dad a birthday card earlier this year, he was so chuffed! 🙂

    I bet your mother looked on the cake as a “thought that counts” gesture! 😀

  5. March 27, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Wow, that minister earned a place on your Bad List! That’s some mean stuff to do to little kids!

    My boy is fairly into the space stuff too. I hope he gets some good quality time with the telescope at his grandparents’ this week.

    I don’t think the minister in his wildest dreams expected that any of the kids present would actually not have got their mother anything! He probably felt as mortified as I did, well maybe not, but a bit bad anyway!

    Have a lovely weekend!

  6. 6 Kim
    March 27, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    I’m so sad I’ve never been to a planetarium – I know I’d enjoy the heck out of it.

    I kind of would like to go, but this afternoon to ourselves is the one brief window of opportunity to get our house tidied up- it looks like a bomb’s hit it- and if weather is OK we might try and do the garden too. 🙂

  7. 7 layla2376
    March 29, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I got a beautiful home made card this year which meant more to me than anything Hallmark could ever provide, it was customised with Charlie & Lola and Winnie the Pooh- all “my” favourites.
    That minister was nothing short of sadistic. What a disturbing experience for a kid !
    I love the Marty story, what a genius !

    Luckily, they failed to identify him on this trip! The kids had a great time!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

