24
Mar
09

The Giant’s Ring, Belfast

On Sunday I took the kids for a walk to the Giant’s Ring, near Belfast. It’s a megalithic monument, a peaceful and wonderful place. If it was in England, it would be mobbed by tourists, but as you can see, it’s more or less deserted, which is exactly how I like it! πŸ˜‰

It’s a bit hard to take a picture of the place- but basically it’s like a huge circular enclosure with banks around the edges and a dolmen (the stones) near the middle (the dolmen is actually off centre). Noone is really sure what it was for- there’s not much evidence that anyone ever lived there, so it’s thought that it was for ceremonial purposes.

They used to hold horse races inside the ring, but although it’s big, the riders must have got a bit dizzy!

Ricky was very disappointed not to see any giants. I told him it was a bit like looking for the Gruffalo when we were in the woods- just because we’ve never seen one yet, doesn’t mean we won’t see one… πŸ˜›

Belfast is in between the mountains and the trees you can see in the background. It always amazes me that the city is so close and you’d never know it was there!

Photobucket

Ricky decided the dolmen was his new house, but quickly complained that his new house had no central heating!

Photobucket

Heading for a walk at the other side of the Ring- Mummy not going fast enough…

Photobucket

Ricky’s standard photo pose at the moment…sigh…

Photobucket

Robbie just before he pitched a massive “I want to go the other way” fit… πŸ˜€

Photobucket

Oh, to be a child again. Places like that have so much wonder! πŸ™‚

Photobucket

7 Responses to “The Giant’s Ring, Belfast”


  1. March 24, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Very pretty landscape and cute little explorers!

    Thanks! I wish I could take pictures like yours- your blog looks beautiful. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment!

  2. 2 welshpurpletree
    March 24, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    My kids love places like that – where they can just run. I know all about those “I want to go the other way tantrums”.

    Yes, it’s great- no danger of them falling in a river or hurting themselves in any way, except when they climb on the dolmen!

  3. March 24, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Here in the states, that would be the perfect place for a subdivision, a Wal-Mart and a Shopping Mall…

    Don’t even joke!!!! I’m always scared that places like that will no longer be so tranquil. Like I said in my post, you’re so close to the city, and yet so far away.

  4. March 24, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I’d love to go there with you guys! I spend a lot of time on the beach and forest preserves around here and there’s just nothing better than being outside and running around like a bunch of silly people!

    The boys are just so cute and always look like they have the potential for wonderful mischief. I hope they hold onto that quality their whole lives. πŸ˜€

    Me too! They get it from me, I hope! Nothin’ like a bit of mischief!!!

  5. 5 Bernadette
    March 24, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Lovely photos Suzy of the boys being as little boys are. The monument is interesting – it looks almost like a larger version of the ring fort that is Tara, and probably like Tara looks better from the air. You might like to go there – if you have not done so before – when you come here for a visit. On a good day the views from there across Leinster are amazing.

    I’ve been to Tara many times, Bernadette, and you’re right, the views are stunning. I would love to visit with the boys soon, and could tie it in with a trip to Trim! πŸ˜€

  6. 6 layla2376
    March 25, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I havent been up there in years !!!
    Great pics of the boys, Robbie has got so much bigger since I last saw him !! He looks hairier too !

    My God, Leigh, my son is not a gorilla!!!!!!!!

    • 7 layla2376
      March 25, 2009 at 12:55 pm

      LMAO !! His hair has gotten longer is all …!

      Regrettably, it needs to be cut. I love his curls, but they are starting to get to the point of dreadlocks now, so sadly they have to go. WAAAAAAAH!!!!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

