24
Mar
09

A lovely treat

I have a new colleague called Chris at work, and he lives on a farm with lots of free range hens, sheep and horses.

A few days ago, he brought us all boxes of beautiful, freshly laid free range eggs! As you can see, he has lots of varieties of hen on his farm so the eggs come in lots of different shapes and sizes. The kids were fascinated by this- especially by the green egg. I don’t think they have seen one that colour before!

Photobucket

For their supper last night, I boiled a few of the eggs for them. They can’t cope with eggs in the shell just yet- I scoop them into a cup for them- but as you can see, they went down a treat, especially with Robbie!

Photobucket

Ricky huffed because I’d forgotten to let him smash the top off the egg before I put it in a cup for him. Sometimes I just can’t win.

3 Responses to “A lovely treat”


  1. 1 welshpurpletree
    March 24, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    I don’t think I’ve seen a green egg in real life either. My kids love boiled eggs – they only have them when they go to my parents’ house for tea as I don’t like them.

    You should make them eggs for breakfast one day at the weekend! 🙂 The green egg was especially cool. I must check what type of hen it came from.

  2. March 24, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    I might have a hard time eating the green one.

    I had a bit and it just tasted like a normal egg! 🙂

  3. 3 layla2376
    March 25, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Free range eggs are scarily different, I was a total convert to them a few years ago when I was given some by a farmer and the colour of the yolk was so drastically different, they taste so much nicer too .
    What a terrible mother you are, imagine not letting him behead his egg, shame on you ( you cant win with a 4 year old, dont bother trying) xxx

    The irony is that I CHECKED with him if he wanted to do it, and he said no, then completely flipped out when I brought it in to him. Sighs and rolls eyes…


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

