20
Mar
09

What we’ve been up to! (Don’t get excited)

I have really not been doing too well with keeping up with my blog recently! It’s a combination of work and family commitments- plus I am really trying to spend more time with Ian in the evenings instead of being glued to the laptop.

I’m starting to really, really feel better now. I have nearly got rid of the chest infection at last, and my energy levels are returning. I’d forgotten what it was like not to feel exhausted constantly, and it’s very refreshing!

Last weekend, I spent a lovely evening with my friend Heather and her housemates. I had a bit too much to drink, which was part of the point, and Heather had cooked a delicious meal of thai style pork balls with couscous, and a gorgeous carrot cake for pudding. I read everyone’s tarot cards, but have no idea how accurate they may have been, though I seem to remember everyone getting ten of swords, which isn’t a particularly positive card. Either we didn’t shuffle them properly or the cards were trying to tell me to lay off the red wine. In any case, I had a lot of fun and hope I didn’t make too much of an ass of myself!!

On Saturday, I went for a meal with my Dad and brothers in my Mum’s memory, as it would have been her 60th birthday. We went to Frenchie’s in Clough- the food was really nice- simple home cookery. It isn’t haute cuisine, but my lemon and rosemary chicken in particular was really tasty.

I then got the train to Coleraine to stay with my aunt, which, as regular readers will know, is always a real treat for me! As usual, she spoiled me rotten, buying me some lovely stuff at the Estee Lauder counter, and taking me for a lovely meal (I’ll write a separate review!).

We all had St Patrick’s Day off work and school, so we tried to get some stuff done in the garden (with mixed results) and went for a walk. After the walk we called in unannounced at my Dad’s house. He still managed to look pleased to see us, even though the kids trashed the place and ate all his chocolate! A class act, my father! 😀

The School’s Cup Final was on tv, so we watched that too. The two finalists this year were my old school, Methody, and Ian’s old school, Inst, so it made for interesting viewing. For those of you outside Ireland, it’s a rugby league for schools which takes place here every year and is ruthlessly contended by extremely professional teams, who play to the highest level. Methody and Inst are regular finalists, and rugby is taken very seriously by all concerned in those schools!! Methody, to my delight, kicked Inst’s ass 16-0. We’re hoping the boys will go to Methody in due course. 🙂

Nothing much else to report! Spring is finally springing in Northern Ireland, so I am going to try and get some new pics to post over the weekend. Flat text on a blog can get a bit boring after a while, it needs some colour!

Leigh, if you’re reading this, I must get in touch with you so we can try and work out some kind of training schedule for the Race For Life, which we’re both doing at the end of May. With my various health issues, my training is woefully behind, and my behind is consequentially woeful in size, so I need to get going pronto!!!!

9 Responses to “What we’ve been up to! (Don’t get excited)”


  1. March 20, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Your rugby tournament sounds a bit like our current NCAA basketball tournament craze.

    Glad you’ve been feeling more yourself again! You’ve certainly earned it!

    The schools cup is contested by 16-18 year olds, so it’s even more amazing the level they play at. Many go on to play professionally.

    Bloody right, I’ve earned it! 😛

  2. 2 welshpurpletree
    March 20, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I love carrot cake, thai style pork balls sound yummy too. Mmmm feeling hungry now

    Me too, thinking about it! 😀

  3. 3 Kim
    March 20, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    I can’t imagine how much fun St. Patrick’s Day must be in your neck of the woods! Here it’s pretty much just an excuse to wear green, get drunk and for people to say things like, “Well, I’m 1/16th Irish! I think!”

    I think you’d be very disappointed by the lack of fuss made here over St Patrick’s Day- you guys do more I think! We don’t wear green, eat anything involving cabbage or corned beef (which frankly sounds indescribably revolting) or profess to have any Irish blood 😀

    Getting drunk isn’t optional, though…

  4. 4 layla2376
    March 20, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Loads of lovely news. Not sure if you realised this is me ( Leigh), I have been reading a few blogs so signed up to WordPress.
    How about my fat ass and your fat ass arrange to get together next weekend ??? -we really do need to get going
    Speaking of asses, indeed what an ass whopping Methody gave Inst ( as you know I also inhabit an Inst / Methody household ) , much smugness all round.
    Very glad to hear you have been filling your time with eating, boozing and getting spoilt, all long overdue x

    I’ll email you about the weekend! Did you start your own blog? If so let me have the address!

  5. 5 Sarah McBride
    March 20, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Glad things are definitely on the up. Guess who else is doing the Race for Life at the end of May…. it’s meeeee!!!! lol (don’t laugh too hard now)

    Cool! Do you want to run it with me and Leigh? It will be more of a staggering than a run at this rate, but should be fun anyway!

  6. March 20, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    So glad to hear the feeling really, really better part! YAY!

    I’m feeling relieved about it myself!

  7. March 21, 2009 at 3:41 am

    Time to work on that “bottom reduction plan”, huh? Do we get BEFORE and AFTER shots? 😉

    I don’t think a camera has yet been created that could fit all of my ass in frame at the moment, so definitely no before pics. Plus you still won’t show me your willy, so until that day comes, you’re not seeing my bum either. 😉

  8. 8 Bernadette
    March 21, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Have just been watching the Ireland -Wales match which was amazing and a really tense game, but Ireland after all this time has done it !!. If you’ve been watching I hope you enjoyed it too Delighted you had a lovely time on your weekend break in Coleraine, and to hear you sounding in such good form, so positive and upbeat. Heather told me about the great evening you both had and how much she really enjoyed having you over for supper. XXX

    It was a FANTASTIC game, though I could hardly watch at the end! God bless Ronan O’Gara, especially after the pasting he took in the first half! 😀

  9. 9 Rosalind
    March 22, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Lovely to have you at the weekend, and delighted to hear that you are feeling better. I am in Hungary now. Students were thrilled at Ireland’s victory though we do have one Welshman who must have divided loyalties. v. pleased to hear of Methody’s victory. Love, R

    We have quite a strong Welsh contingent at Coping With Chaos, so I have to watch I don’t say anything too inflammatory about Ireland’s victory (but probably will anyway!!)


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

