12
Mar
09

Bits and pieces

Well, my appointment with the surgeon is this morning- I imagine that, like every man and his dog for the last eight months, he will wish to look at my boobs. For this reason, I have taken the prudent step of wearing a skirt instead of my usual dress to work. Some of you may remember that before my first appointment with the oncologist before my radiotherapy, I did not make this astute decision and ended up having to almost completely strip, to my horror and humiliation!

I’m not 100% clear on what this appointment is for. I think he’ll probably just want to check that I am healing properly. Of course, after the radiotherapy, my burnt skin is peeling off that boob in chunks, so it’s even less of a pretty sight than usual.

I’ll also be waiting for him to comment “You’re looking well”, to which I will be forced to reply, “Well, I’ve put on two stone and all my hair has fallen out since I last saw you. But thanks for lying!” 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have a really busy weekend planned! On Friday night, I will be going for drinkies and takeaway at my friend Heather’s house. I’ve been looking forward to it for weeks and weeks! Heather is the daughter of regular commenter here, Bernadette, and is one of my oldest friends. 🙂 I think I may be reading her tarot for her. Large amounts of wine will be drunk.

Saturday would have been my Mum’s 60th birthday. She died in October 2007. My brothers, Dad and I are meeting to visit her grave and go for lunch. I miss her a lot- she would have been so happy to see the boys growing up as they are, and it’s still weird not picking the phone up to tell her about all the little things they’ve been doing.

After lunch, Dad is dropping me to the train station and I will be heading to Coleraine to stay with my Aunt, who will, as you all know, spoil me to within an inch of my life!! She’s booked for us to go to a restaurant in Portstewart called Preference, and from the reviews it has had on Trip Advisor, it looks like it should be a wonderful meal!

On Sunday, I will get the train home and take the boys out somewhere nice for the rest of the day. Ian will need a break by then!

Should be a nice weekend, in any case.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have a new project, now that my treatment is over!

I’m writing a children’s book! It’s a rhyming one, as I have always had an aptitude for rhymes. I highly doubt it will ever be published or anything like that, and it’s definitely more a bit of fun for my children than anything else. I’m not giving away my plot line just yet! 😉

I mainly want to see if I can do it or not.

Watch this space! 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Also, a couple of things about my blog- I have now enabled your ability to reply to individual comments made on here, rather than you just having the ability to reply to my post. So, if another commenter says something you want to respond to, hit the “reply” button to the side of their comment and it will let you respond to them rather than to me. Nifty!!

My little visitor map at the top right hand side reset itself yesterday. There appears to be some kind of archive once a year, so it now looks like I’m a Billy No Mates! 😀 I really enjoy looking at the map and marvelling at all the places around the world I’ve managed to invade, ha ha! I believe you can still see the old map, should you wish to do so, by clicking on the map and then clicking on the archive. If you ever really wanted. Yeah, maybe not. Ahem. 😀

6 Responses to “Bits and pieces”


  1. March 12, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    I’ve always wanted to write a short book too but it’s finding the time or more importantly having the effort to start it and see it through.
    A children’s book sounds like more fun – have you seen that Black Books episode where they try and write a childrens book? It’s hilarious.

    Black Books is wonderful! I’m getting on OK with it so far but it’s early days. 🙂

  2. 2 Kim
    March 12, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I would love to go hang out with you for the weekend to take my mind off of the WAITING. Lucky for you I am poor, so you’d never have to worry about such a thing as me inviting myself and showing up all stalker-like.
    I know what you mean about wearing a skirt – I learned how to dress properly after my first appointment with the fertility people. They like you to get naked, but I’ve found ways around it and always keep my socks on!

    You’re not in the least bit stalker-esque and I would love to hang out with you too, whether or not you needed your mind taken off anything! Those healthcare professionals really know how to make you feel like a complete pillock!

  3. March 12, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Every man wants to look at your boobs, eh? You’re just noticing this? How old are you, anyway? 😉

    I’m sure your boys will love your children’s book, now and decades from now. Maybe you’ll get lucky and other kids will get the chance to love it, too.

    Did your mother never tell you it’s rude to ask a woman her age?? 😀

    I hope the boys like my book too. Once it’s finished, everyone I know with young kids is going to be tortured to read it to them so I can get some feedback!!!

  4. 4 Lou
    March 12, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    My mum started writing children’s books a few years ago when she retired. She hasn’t been successful in getting an agent or a publisher, but she loves doing it, so that doesn’t bother her too much. She’s decided to self-publish now so that she at least has something for herself and family to show for the effort. I’m on editing duties at the minute!

    That’s so cool, Lou! I haven’t even thought about trying to get published- I am light years away from that stage for now! As long as my kids enjoy it, that’s all I am aiming for. 🙂

  5. 5 Bernadette
    March 13, 2009 at 12:20 am

    If you ever want an illustrator….

    The surgeon just wants to see how your boobs are doing after all they have been through – so expect lots of looking and feeling. XX

    Yup, that’s what there was! 😀

  6. March 13, 2009 at 2:59 am

    Having the writing to focus on will be really cool and hopefully fun!

    I have a few ideas, but haven’t had any time to devote to it yet. I’ll keep you all posted!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

