09
Mar
09

Dreams and other stories

Wow, things like trips, appointments and other general gubbins mean that this is probably going to be the longest post in history! 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Firstly, I had my first ever dream about a blogosphere friend!

This dubious honour goes to More Than An Electrician (MTAE as we all know him!), and the details are sketchy and embarrassing, but thankfully involved no removal of clothing or anything unsafe for children. I give it a rating of PG. Somehow in my dream, I wasn’t involved with Ian but had started seeing Monty Halls, whose show based on his experiences of living in a remote part of Scotland we’ve been watching on BBC2!

Anyhow, me and the delectable Monty had only just hooked up in my dream, he was dressed in an immaculate suit- not the kind of man I normally go for, and from what I have seen on his program, not his usual attire either!! So- I was very keen to impress. It occured to me in my dream that I knew a celebrity!

Yes, you’ve guessed it- MTAE!

For those of you who are not familiar with MTAE, he’s currently embarking on a new adventure, setting forth into the world of stand up comedy. I know he’ll be brilliant, because he makes all of us who read his blog laugh so much! He can also run pretty well, and is working towards competing in a full distance marathon in a few day’s time. Yep, an all round Superman, I think you’ll agree.

Anyway, in my dream, MTAE was not only a famous comedian, and household name marathon runner, but he also owned a very posh….sandwich bar….and of course I decided that this would be a great place to take my fab, muscle bound new boyfriend on our first date. 😀 The sandwich bar was very nice- we had ham and cheese paninis- but sadly MTAE did not make an appearance and Monty was very disappointed. I feel like I have lost points there. 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We had Ricky’s speech therapy appointment last Wednesday. It went well- the lady who assessed him seemed largely unconcerned about his speech too. The only area for improvement is that he made a “b” noise instead of a “p” noice a few times- apparently these are the same action, but you put more emphasis on a “p”. She’s going to give us some exercises to work on for this, but he made a “p” noise very well when prompted and she said it wasn’t a big issue. Apart from that his speech is at the level of a 4 1/2 year old, and as he’s just over 4, he seems to be right on track.

She was really pleased with his vocabulary and by how outgoing and friendly he was. He’s really easily able to have conversations with strangers and is not a bit shy- I am really proud of how great he is at having conversations with anyone and everyone.

One thing that really mortified me- one of the pictures she showed him and asked him to identify was a vacuum cleaner, and he couldn’t tell her what it was!!! The pic was of an upright cleaner, and we only have a small one, but still! 😀 Must try harder!!

I was glad of the reassurance, though. We go back in a month’s time, but only as a precaution.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ricky and I had our big trip to Scotland last Thursday! It was so exciting!

Of course, the weather didn’t cooperate and it was snowing pretty hard when we were boarding the plane. It was a bit of a shame because on the outbound flight, he couldn’t see anything when we were taking off and I think that took away from the excitement of his first flight a little, but the cloud cleared when we got closer to Edinburgh and he could look down on the snowy mountains below. He loved it! One funny comment though was when he could see areas of forest against the snow, and because he had no frame of reference, he asked me if it was poo! 😀 I said to him, no, it’s trees, and the look on his face when he looked back and realised it was because they were so far below was priceless!

We went to Edinburgh Zoo for the day, and again, it snowed a LOT! It was too wet to lie, but was at least better than the rain! The zoo was a lot of fun but seemed a little lacking in animals that were willing to show their faces. I guess they didn’t like the snow any better than we did!

The lions could be heard but not seen; the zebras were hiding in the bushes, and (to Ricky’s huge disappointment and my massive irritation at having needlessly climbed a mountain in the snow) the Giant Anteaters were long gone.

They DID have rhinos, a cute pygmy hippo, some stunning and quite incredibly massive sea eagles, and, best of all, a gorgeous koala bear, which I could seriously have taken home! My favourite though were the tapirs, which were really friendly and kind of beautiful. 🙂

The weather cleared when we were heading back to the airport, so the take off on the way home was much more fun for Ricky. He could see up into the Highlands and really enjoy it. That said, even the turbulence in what is locally known as the Vomit Comet couldn’t keep him awake, and he fell asleep as we flew over Ailsa Craig!

A lovely day out- thanks so much to my brothers and Dad for funding a wonderful day out!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Quick update on me- the chest infection is finally lifting, and I really am starting to feel more like myself again.

I am really glad to be getting back on track after everything the last eight months has thrown at me! I am still very easily tired out, but I think this is improving on almost a daily basis. This is just as well, as I really need to get my skates on and get running for this run in May that I am doing!

Work has kind of got on top of me, so I am once again sorry for being behind in everyone else’s blogs. I swear that one of these days I will be back on top of it all!

5 Responses to “Dreams and other stories”


  1. 1 Bernadette
    March 10, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Lovely to hear how you and Ricky enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh in spite of the miserable weather. Not surprising he fell asleep coming home, I’m sure he was very tired afterwards – mostly due to the excitement of it all I should think. It’s especially good to hear you are starting to feel so much better now Suzy, XXX

    He had a great time- we both did. I saw the painting you did of Dad and the doggies- you are SO talented, it is gorgeous!

  2. March 10, 2009 at 12:18 am

    I want to go to the zoo with you, too!!! Even if the animals are hiding!

    Glad to hear that the infection is letting loose it’s grip on you. I hope you continue to get better every day.

    I so look forward to your updates and hearing how you’re doing.

    Aw, thanks Heather! Maybe we can go to the zoo together some day, ha ha! I’ve been to the zoo in Chicago. It was very HOT!

  3. March 10, 2009 at 3:29 am

    I am very glad you are getting around and feeling much better and that, of course, I am working my way into your subconscious…

    My “willy” and I are a little disappointed that he didn’t make a showing…but you wouldn’t recognize him if you saw “him” anyway. 😉

    I was quite disappointed not to have seen your willy too, but you never know. There’s always tonight! 😀

  4. March 10, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Being back on top of your health is much better news than being back on top of all our blathering!

    All I can say is that it’s a good things our dreams aren’t admissible in court. Yours was funny but at least plausible in a weird way…mine would have me committed for insanity.

    There have been some MUCH more bizarre ones! I wonder where my subconscious gets it from sometimes!

  5. March 11, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    I had to laugh at the poo/forest part – it’s amazing what the human mind invents when it’s not sure what its looking at.

    My favourite plane experience was coming back from Japan and watching the sun rise over the earths horizon – truly beautiful.

    Sounds fantastic! I did have to laugh at the poo thing…the boy is obsessed, lol!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

