02
Mar
09

5 Riddles for a Monday

My friend Gareth has sent these to me. For some reason, I could easily work them all out except for #3, which is blindingly obvious once you know the answer. Answers to be posted tomorrow!! 😀

1. A murderer is condemned to death. He has to choose between three rooms. The first is full of raging fires, the second is full of assassins with loaded guns, and the third is full of lions that haven’t eaten in 3 years. Which room is safest for him?

 2. A woman shoots her husband. Then she holds him under water for over 5 minutes. Finally, she hangs him. But 5 minutes later they both go out together and enjoy a wonderful dinner together. How can this be?

 3. What is black when you buy it, red when you use it, and gray when you throw it away ?

 4. Can you name three consecutive days without using the words Wednesday, Friday, or Sunday?

 5. This is an unusual paragraph. I’m curious as to just how quickly you can find out what is so unusual about it. It looks so ordinary and plain that you would think nothing was wrong with it. In fact, nothing is wrong with it! It is highly unusual though. Study it and think about it, but you still may not find anything odd. But if you work at it a bit, you might find out. Try to do so without any coaching!

PS- I got a different answer to #4 than the official answer, but I think mine was correct too! 😀

13 Responses to “5 Riddles for a Monday”


  1. March 2, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    I get #2 and #4, I have an answer that I’m not positive is correct for #1, but the others? I got nothin’. It’s too early on a Monday to ask my head to work correctly, cruel woman!

  2. March 2, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I think I’ve worked out #4 and#5, but I’m generally rubbish at riddles and am probably wrong!

  3. 3 welshpurpletree
    March 2, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    I think I know no.3 (I don’t seem to have a hash key on my keyboard, how strange, or am I missing something). I’m rubbish at these things.

  4. March 2, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    I have an idea for #1 but something about the wording of the riddle makes me think I’d be incorrect.

  5. 5 Emma C
    March 2, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    I need the answers today!

  6. 6 Jo
    March 2, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I managed #4 and #5 quite easily but the rest… nope!

  7. 7 Kim
    March 2, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    This is way too much thinking for me! Just reading them made my brain hurt a little.
    I is retarded.

  8. March 2, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    I’ve got one and two for sure….and possibly 4. 🙂

  9. March 2, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Husband and I have collaborated and, making one giant brain rather than two lesser ones, we think we have them all now! It has plagued me all day, but I can sleep now!

  10. 10 Rosalind
    March 2, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Dear Suzy,
    I am so glad that you are blogging again and that the rotten treatment is finished. I do hope that the chest infection clears soon. You still looked very stylish at your father’s birthday party. When are you going to come and see me?
    Love, R

  11. March 3, 2009 at 2:43 am

    This hurt my brain! Thank you. I believe I have all of them but #5…or at I have my answers. Maybe not the correct answers, but I have some answers.

  12. 12 suzy2110
    March 3, 2009 at 10:52 am

    OK, the answers are up! 😀

    Sorry for wrecking your heads. I felt that I did not deserve to suffer alone with these. 😛


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

