16
Feb
09

Yikes! Has it really been that long?!

OK, OK, I have been very MIA of late. Thanks very much to everyone who has sent me a message asking if everything is alright- it meant a lot to me.

Sometimes it’s hard to blog whenย  you feel like you have nothing positive to say, and it’s been partly a case of that and partly a case of having virtually no net access.

My oncologist made me take some time off work. I am VERY much hoping he will let me go back next week, but I haven’t worked yet this month, which is very frustrating. I have fun at work- the guys I work with are a constant pick-me-up through my recent illness, and not being around them is (whether they know it or not!!) not good for my health!! ๐Ÿ˜› I miss them.

I’ve had this chest infection for, I think, around six weeks or so now. It won’t go away no matter what antibiotics I take and has really dragged me down, hence the oncologist insisting that I take some time off. I feel like I have the flu most of the time and can’t stop coughing, which is a right pain in the arse.

I ended up back in hospital again about two weeks ago (feels like a YEAR!!) and they took some chest x-rays. My oncologist saw some things on the x-ray that he wasn’t happy about- apparently there were enlarged blood vessels in my lungs which could indicate cancer. Naturally, I was devastated and terrified- noone wants to get to this stage of their treatment and be told that, well, actually there’s not much they can do. The oncologist ordered a CT scan which I had last week, and thank goodness the CT scan was clear. I don’t think I have ever been so relieved about anything! I had really managed to get my knickers in a twist, especially with all the stuff in the news of late about Jade Goody…I feel so bad for her and her family. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

ANYHOW- my radiotherapy treatment is now more than half way over- woo-hoo! It’s going OK, but making me feel constantly exhausted. It’s also a massive nuisance having to go to the hospital every day for it. It isn’t the same hospital as my chemo was done, it’s at the other side of Belfast, so takes a while to get to and from each day. Still, with luck, in under two weeks my treatment will be done and I can move on. ๐Ÿ™‚

My hair is coming out again- grrrr- it must be because my last chemo session was delayed. I reckon another day or two and I will be having to wear the headscarf again. I feel frustrated by this, but it isn’t nearly as hard as it was the last time. I’ll get through it!

I hope that is enough of a pity party for you all to be going on with! Can you see now why I haven’t been blogging? ๐Ÿ˜€ Sometimes it just feels like there’s no point if you don’t have anything nice to say.

Hope everyone is well- I am still only with very limited web access and haven’t even tried to get up to speed with everyone else’s blogs. I will be doing so over the next week or two. I have really missed blogging, and feel a bit out of the way of it now, so will try to get back at itย  now! ๐Ÿ™‚

13 Responses to “Yikes! Has it really been that long?!”


  1. February 16, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    VERY glad to see you back, and glad that the CT was clear! I hope radiotherapy finishes up quickly and you’re back in blogging action soon.

    I am trying to get back at it but am very behind! Missed you!

  2. February 17, 2009 at 1:19 am

    I’m sorry the treatments are making you tired but you’re halfway through! YAY!! Your hair will be back soon.

    I’ve missed you so much…but you knew that already. ๐Ÿ˜€

    You were so sweet to keep in touch- you’re a great friend. xxx (Yes, TB, more girl on girl action… ๐Ÿ˜€ )

  3. February 17, 2009 at 4:27 am

    Don’t worry about getting caught up here…I am still pissed about something…like usual!!!!!!

    Welcome back.

    Your blog wouldn’t be nearly so much fun to read if you weren’t pissed about various things… ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for the welcome back!

  4. 4 Jo
    February 17, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Glad you’re feeling a bit better, good to see you around the net again.

    Keep on trucking girl, the last few miles are always the worst but you’ll get there.

    It REALLY is only a few days now! Woot!

  5. 5 welshpurpletree
    February 17, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Very good to see you back, and phew! about the CT scan. Hoping you’re feeling much better very soon, will be sending you lots of positive vibes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you, WPT!! Missed you!

  6. February 17, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Everything’s on the up now – the end of treatment is in sight; warmer weather will help shift that cough, and that big shiny thing in the sky that makes things warm has been out a bit, so things must be improving! Glad to ‘see’ you again, it has been odd being without your updates. Take care, and chocolate is the way forward! xxx

    I was out for a walk with my Dad earlier, and it was almost warm! ๐Ÿ˜€ You’re right- everything IS on the way up!

  7. 7 Pamela
    February 17, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Glad to hear all your tests came back clear! I’ve really missed reading your regular updates. Hopefully in a few more weeks you”ll be fighting fit and looking forward to days out with your boys. Take care and love from all the Donnellys xx

    I hope so! Love back to all the Donnellys- I most definitely owe Aidan an email! Hope all is well with all of you.

  8. 8 Kim
    February 17, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I was so happy to see your comment this morning! I’ve missed you and been worried; I’m so glad everything is looking up.
    I commented to your comment too.

    Thanks Kim- have been thinking about you loads. I really hope all is going well and you KNOW you have many positive thoughts coming your way from Northern Ireland. ((hugs))

  9. February 17, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    I was missing ya quite a bit and was about to email Heather to see if she’d heard from you, but I told myself I’d wait until Monday before bugging anybody. Sorry for all the setbacks, but it really is great to hear from ya again!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    It’s nice to feel like I’ve been missed! I missed you guys too!

  10. February 17, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    So much love for you Suzy! I miss you blogging, but most just want you to be feeling better. I NEED you to be feeling better.

    HUGS!

    Sure Corey, you know what’s going on anyway whether I blog or not- you’re a great friend! xxx

  11. February 17, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Great to have you back blogging again! You make even the negative things sound positive so NEVER worry about moaning!!

    love you lots my little stinks xx

    You are such a great friend, Heidi! xx

  12. 12 Bernadette
    February 21, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Suzy it’s so good to have you back in ‘blogland’. I missed you, as clearly did all of those who keep in touch with you and look forward to your blog. Going through radiotherapy and the constant tiredness that goes with it and coping with a chest infection is not easy so no apologies needed for how you’re sounding.
    I just want you to be well again – the hair will be back so scarves can be binned or banned whichever! and then I hope when you are feeling much better the McElDoherties will still be able to come onwards and southwards in the better days to come. Much love, XXXes and ((hugs))

    We will definitely come and visit! Hope you have a nice time today! xx

  13. February 25, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Suzy, I’m glad you’re on the home stretch! Me too! BTW, I wonder if chest things are a SE of chemo? I had the same thing and in fact had such a rough time was wondering what that pain in my lower lung was, cancer or what? Every time I coughed, oh boy! But I got over it and without any scary tests as you had to endure. I am so sorry you had to be tortured like that.

    I am also doing rads, am on #9 or #10 – I thought #9 but rad onc sez #10, so you see I must have had a tx. without knowing it LOL!

    Yeah the only pain in the butt is having to go everyday but I am getting in the swing of it. Hospital I am at is about 15-20 mins from the house, so not too bad. They let you park right by the office in spaces that say “For radiation patients only.” Ha! Ha! Ha!

    They also have chocolates in a bowl there to make me happy.

    Chocolate is always good- it’s when they give it to you free that you know you’re in trouble!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I am so glad to hear your treatment is going well! xxx


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

