28
Jan
09

Chemo is finished!

Hey everyone

I am sorry I have been so MIA this week. There has been a lot going on with me that I can’t blog about, and it’s been taking up a lot of time the past week or so. Whew!

I won’t get a chance to read or comment on anyone’s blog for another couple of days. I am very sorry, and really miss everyone. Please bear with me and rest assured that I still love you all, ha ha! πŸ˜€

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I did finally get my last round of chemo yesterday, and am feeling completely wiped out today. I am so very glad it is over and done with!

I start my radiotherapy on Monday, every weekday for four weeks.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ricky’s speech- we are going to get the referral to get his speech checked out. Better safe than sorry!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My brothers have very kindly chipped in to send me and Ricky to Edinburgh, Scotland for the day which we’re doing at the start of March. Ricky has wanted to fly somewhere for ages, and I reckon the short half hour flight will be perfect for his first go.

Plus, I love Scotland and it should be a fun day out. Edinburgh has a great zoo, so the plan is to fly in at about 9am, spend a few hours at the zoo, which is only 4 miles from the airport, and then fly home again that afternoon. Ricky is BEYOND excited about it!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have removed the headscarf! I’m still a bit baldy, but there’s enough hair on my noggin to get away with it. I got fed up with all the pitying smiles in the supermarket. πŸ˜›

That’s pretty much it for now…you probably won’t hear much from me until next week now, but you all know where you can find me anyway!

12 Responses to “Chemo is finished!”


  1. 1 Jo
    January 28, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    woop woop! hurrah hurrah!

    bloomin marvellous news πŸ˜€

    I am hopefully getting there!!!

  2. 2 Kim
    January 28, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    So, so, so happy to hear it!

    I really hope I am winning! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Leigh
    January 28, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Fab news all around. Great dayout for you and Mr Ricky !! lovely gesture by your brothers, brothers are great aren’t they.
    Looking forward to seeing you sans scarf, I spotted your hair on Saturday and there is enough for sure !! – YAY !!

    Yeah, it was all going a LITTLE too well- hair is ALL coming out now. Poo. Hope we can meet up for a walk this week!

  4. 4 welshpurpletree
    January 28, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Great news! That day trip to Edinburgh sounds fab, I would never have thought of just going for a day. Wonder if you can fly from Cardiff? May have to look in to that – after hearing how your trip goes of course!

    Edinburgh is going to be a lot of fun! We can’t wait! πŸ™‚

  5. January 28, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    oh I do hope you have some time to relax and feel good.
    Can’t wait to hear all about the trip with Ricky. How exciting. πŸ™‚

    Ian and I are in early-stage negotiations to do a three week trip to the States in about 5 year’s time…Oregon is on my list… πŸ˜€

  6. 6 Bernadette
    January 28, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Hope the post-chemo wiped out feeling won’t last for too long Suzy . It’s really good to know you have finished with it and to now be able to think about new hairstyles. Ban the scarves !! I can imagine how excited Ricky must be about his flight and visit to Edinburgh – and lovely for you to look forward to also. It’s a very attractive city and I hope you both enjoy a wonderful day out.

    Bernadette, the two scarves you gave me have been worn SO much and apparently will be seeing more use now, lol! Thank you so much! xxx

  7. January 29, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Congratulations!!!!

    Why thank you!!

  8. January 30, 2009 at 12:01 am

    SUZY!!!

    We must be sisters on different continents.

    I had an awful upper respiratory thing while on my last two chemo rounds and it took two (consecutive) antibiotics to finally get rid of it. Had pain DEEP down in my lung so I guess it was the same bug???

    Finished the chemo, am starting radiation, had my second planning appt. scheduled yesterday morning but it SNOWED so the kids were home from school. So will do that next week.

    Also … my hair is coming back too … it is definitely going to be cute … you all can see pix of my whole hair journey at http://community.breastcancer.org/forum/69/topic/707348?page=37

    Cheers and all my best to SUZY, the girl who started the thread!!!

    What a sweet message- thank you Anne! You are so cute! Hope you’re feeling better now. xxx

  9. February 1, 2009 at 11:36 am

    So glad to hear that, really good news!

    I’ve given you an award, details on my blog!

    xxx

    I need to check out the award, lol! Thank you! I am still catching up! xx

  10. February 3, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Hooray for the end of chemo!

    We were so cold on Wednesday and Thursday that I grew my hair out to try to keep warm. I was thinking about you whenever I’d rub my head, heheh.

    He he!!! πŸ˜€ It’s astonishing how much your hair keeps your head warm! Of course, it WOULD be winter that I had to lose all of mine!!

  11. February 6, 2009 at 3:41 am

    I was just thinking about you and wanted to leave you some of these…

    XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO

    Sending those back… πŸ˜€

  12. February 6, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Hey, is that chicks kissing?

    *pulls up a chair*

    πŸ˜€

    TB, you HAVE seen pictures of Heather, right??? Would YOU not??? πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

