22
Jan
09

I guess I really WILL have to do something!

I have somehow found myself entering this year’s Race for Life, so my ass is definitely going to have to get moving now! 😀 This is a really worthwhile cause, raising funds for Cancer Research UK to try and help improve treatments for people like me.

I wanted to start some kind of fitness program, and am working on the diet, so this seemed like a good impetus.

It’s on 31st May at Stormont Park- if anyone fancies joining me there, let me know! It’s only 5km so I reckon even in my completely out of condition current shape, I could somehow manage to stagger that far. I really want to be able to run it though.

I am not expecting anyone to sponsor me, so please don’t take this as a request or threat, except maybe for immediate family and close friends, who will be shot if they don’t donate, but if anyone has a few spare pennies (yeah, I know there’s a credit crunch!!) then you can click on the link below to sponsor me.

You will be rewarded by many moaning blog posts about how much I hate running, and some unflattering and sweaty pictures at the end of May, featuring me with lank hair and a red face. 😛

http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/suzymcelwaine

Wish me luck!

Edited to add- crap! I forgot I had no hair to look lank!!!!! 😀

5 Responses to “I guess I really WILL have to do something!”


  1. January 22, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Woohoo!

    You can’t threaten me with gettin’ shot, I’m redneck enough to be complacent about such threats by now. 😉

    LOL, I don’t own a gun and don’t know anyone who does, plus I live thousands of miles from you, so you’re pretty safe for now!

  2. January 22, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Welcome aboard. Start with walking first. Then alternate walking and jogging…but be careful and take it slowly.

    I did some short jogging sessions on the Wii Fit and some yoga last night, and it went well. I started slow- only did half an hour last night, but will try and build it up. My fitness isn’t good, so I can only improve!

  3. 3 Leigh
    January 22, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Good for you !! I have been wanting to do it for years, I’ll join you if you’ll have me . I was going to do it with Soph last year but they won’t allow buggies and I knew she wouldnt walk it all xx It means we would have a training buddy ??!!

    Yay! Thanks for volunteering, and thanks for the sponsorship! Will talk to you tomorrow about it!

  4. 4 Lou
    January 24, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Good on ya for doing the race! I absolutely hate running with a passion. Someone would have to be either running infront of me dangling a Hell’s pizza (awesome NZ chain) or running behind me with a whip to get me to move! Good luck with the training! x

    Thanks for the sponsorship! The whip may be my only hope, pizza isn’t enough! 😀

  5. 5 Jenny
    January 24, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Good for you! I’ve done the Race for Life a few times and it’s always amazing. But I’ve never managed to run it without tears streaming down my face at least once during proceedings. Some of the messages pinned to people’s shirts are just heartbreaking, and some make me tear up because they’re so positive. The whole thing is really very emotional, so prepare yourself for that if you haven’t run it before!

    Have you seen the Couch to 5k program? That is a fantastic way to build up your running stamina – I’m doing it myself at the moment and am currently on week 3. Google “couch to 5k” and you’ll find the program itself. I make my own MP3 soundtracks to keep me motivated, but you can also download some free ones – google “couch to 5k podcast” and you’ll find links.

    Good luck!!

    Thanks for your sponsorship!! I looked at the couch to 5k program and it looks good! I am getting on fairly well so far and am hoping to keep at it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

