19
Jan
09

Quick hits

Ricky’s birthday was on Saturday, but it was completely washed out by the weather. The morning was pretty quiet, but there was one heck of a storm in the afternoon, torrential rain and very high winds. The kids were basically stuck inside all afternoon as a result- I wouldn’t have wanted them to be out in the car at all- too dangerous. Our neighbour’s fence blew down and Ian kept having to rush outside to rescue his motorbike, which kept threatening to fall over!

I did have to venture out, as the weather was too severe for my horses to be out in. The drive to my Dad’s was absolutely terrifying, I was seriously concerned that a tree would fall on my car. Then, when mucking my horses out, I was becoming increasingly alarmed that the roof of the barn they live in might actually come off. The noise was incredible. The horses were miserable and delighted to be rescued, but they intensely dislike loud noises, so it was fun getting them to come in!

I made it home in one piece, luckily, but a tree fell on a car on the road my Dad lives on, literally two minutes after I drove down that stretch of road, killing the woman inside. From a phone call received in work today, she was the daughter of one of our customers, and most of us here had met her. She leaves two very young children behind her- I can’t stop thinking about them today. If I hadn’t been lucky, it could very easily have been me. A tragic loss.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have to go and get my bloods taken this afternoon with a view to getting my last round of chemo tomorrow. The chest infection is still on the go- I might as well have wiped my arse with the antibiotics for all the good they did- and I do not feel very confident that it will go ahead tomorrow.

This is really frustrating- I just want it over and done with.

I am due to start my radiotherapy on 2nd February, but wonder if it, too will have to be postponed if I miss my chemo again tomorrow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We bought our kitchen tiles yesterday- at long last!! Ian is going to tile the kitchen this week, I will be sure to post a picture once it’s done.

It’s been a LONG time since he started working on the kitchen, but it’s finally starting to look like the lovely family room I had in mind… ๐Ÿ˜€

Well, that’s about it- will post an update later after my appointment at the hospital.

9 Responses to “Quick hits”


  1. 1 welshpurpletree
    January 19, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    The weather has been terrible hear too, but not as bad as you had it. I saw the news about the lady being killed in her car, really tragic. It must feel even more real for you as you’ve met her.

    It’s scary that I met her and also that I only just dodged the tree myself- seriously, I drove down that road moments before she was killed- it really scared the wits out of me! The irony is that I went that way instead of my usual shortcut because it was the mainer road and I thought it would be safer- it just goes to show…

  2. 2 Jo
    January 19, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Good luck this afternoon – I’ve got everything crossed!

    Thanks Jo! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 Leigh
    January 19, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    I didnt hear about that poor woman, very scary indeed, everything hinges on a minute, how terribly tragic for those children xx
    I hope that everything goes well today but I think you are right to expect not to be given the go ahead, then if you can have your last lot it will be a huge bonus.
    Fingers crossed the tiling gets done, when you are at ours this weekend , please dont look up in our kitchen ….yes…my ceiling stilll isnt bloody done !!! Men !!!

    I remember thinking how lovely your kitchen was the last time I was in your house, and deeply envy you your massive stove… ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. 4 Kim
    January 19, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I know it’s a little different but I lived in Florida a long time and can sympathize driving through and living through bad storms. One summer we had FIVE hurricanes and trees down all over. One fell in our backyard and had it fallen the other way, it would’ve landed in our bedroom. I’d always wanted a skylight, but not like that!
    GOOD LUCK today!

    This storm was NOTHING like the ones you get in Fla, but in terms of living here, it was bad!

  5. 5 Emma C
    January 19, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Thinking of you tomorrow Suz.

    Thanks Emma!

  6. 6 Bernadette
    January 19, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    I heard on Sunday evening about the girl being killed by a falling tree – what an dreadful thing to happen, you were so fortunate Suzy. I can imagine how you must be feeling especially since you had met her.- it was very bad here also, with bits of branches flying everywhere.
    Half of an old apple tree in the garden has gone, and three large plant pots blown across the yard and smashed.
    I am hoping that your chemo will go ahead this time. If it is put back again hopefully it won’t mean that your radiotherapy will be delayed.
    XXX

    Sorry your garden got trashed! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. January 20, 2009 at 4:29 am

    That’s so awful about your customer’s daughter. I’m so glad you made it safely and that your horses are okay. What a terrible storm! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Hope your blood work came back okay. I was thinking about you this morning and wondering how you were doing.

    YAY! For new kitchen tile. I’m very envious. I have very ugly flooring in my kitchen and can’t wait for the day that I can replace it!

    The tiles are for the walls- the flooring is a whole other issue, it also needs replaced!

  8. January 20, 2009 at 5:15 am

    oh dear….such sadness for the young mother’s death. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I”m glad you were safe, but oh dear….such a sad loss.

    Yes, it’s terrible. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  9. 9 Jenny
    January 24, 2009 at 10:12 am

    We read on the net about the woman who was killed – I had a rather anxious wait overnight for her name to be released, since I have another a friend of the same age who travels that road fairly regularly. How terrible for the family of that woman, and for her too of course.

    I am selfishly glad that it wasn’t you, though. How much would it suck to go through cancer and chemo and hair loss and then get killed by a TREE?! It would be totally unfair.

    I drove past earlier, and there were lots of flowers. I feel so sad for that family. So tragic.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

