06
Jan
09

Dundrum Castle, Co. Down

OK, so the light was seriously fading and Ricky seems to have lost the ability to pose for a photo without making a silly face dry.gif but here are some pics from our trip to Dundrum Castle on Sunday afternoon. It’s a few miles from where we live, and dates back to around 1210- what an amazingly old place! It’s in the most stunning location, set up on a rocky outcrop looking over the sea and the Mourne Mountains, which are the largest mountains in Northern Ireland.

It was freezing here, the kids were a bit cold but we still had a fantastic time. Ricky and Robbie have recently discovered the inherent childhood joy of running down steep hills whilst yelling “ahahaahaaaaaaaaaa…”  so with it being such a steep site, they really enjoyed doing that a LOT…

I am such a poor photographer.

I love the shadow of the trees on the keep in this one-

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

Absolutely my favourite kind of tree, ha ha! I love those kind of gnarly ones! biggrin.gif

user posted image

Sunset over the Mournes- Slieve Donard is NI’s biggest mountain and is on the left, Slieve Commedagh is on the right.

user posted image

Thanks for looking! smile.gif

11 Responses to “Dundrum Castle, Co. Down”


  1. 1 Kim
    January 6, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Gosh but did those pictures ever make me happy. Beautiful!
    I don’t know if you’ve ever seen the movie Big Fish, but those trees are straight out of that movie. Awesome!

    I haven’t seen that film, but will definitely check it out! 🙂

  2. January 6, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I love the gnarly trees AND making funny faces! Their little cheeks are so pink and cute. That is a really beautiful place. I would LOVE to see that in person. I have a feeling I could dawdle there all day. Those pictures made my day.

    You could easily spend ages there on a warmer day- a picnic spot for sure! It’s a lovely peaceful place.

  3. January 6, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Wow. That is simply stunning.

    And to think, the oldest “historical” rather than “anthropological/archaeological” sites in Virginia, the oldest of the old states, are four hundred years newer than that! It boggles the colonial mind. 🙂

    I know! It’s amazing how much of it is still standing. It’s quite an extensive site with a lot of buildings.

  4. 4 Nichole
    January 7, 2009 at 3:08 am

    Wow! It’s so GREEN!!!! I need to make it out there one day *sigh* So beautiful!

    Yep, book a flight and bring the family!! I’d love to see you!

  5. January 7, 2009 at 3:42 am

    It is amazing how green everything is this time of year there.

    I LOVE that first photo. I think it would make and excellent wallpaper to one of my computers…if someone would be kind enough to send me the file I would be honored to give you all of the credit when asked where it came from!!!!!!

    You’ve got mail! 🙂 It’s funny you all saying how green it is, because to me, everything looks brown at the moment, but I think I just have it lucky!

  6. 6 Jo
    January 7, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Wow, if I ever make it over the NI, Dundrum Castle will be on the list of things to see!

    And yes, small children (of all ages) + steep hills = hours of fun 😀

    I’ve never managed to visit Wales, and hope I’ll do so one day- I know you have a lot of gorgeous scenery too! Come on over, I’ll show you around! 😀

  7. 7 Bernadette
    January 7, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Love those photos of the boys Suzy, good to hear you and they had such a fun time. The light is just perfect in all of them.
    The way you captured the shadow of the trees spread over the battlement wall in the first photo is amazing, and I think the misty effect in the very last one is beautiful.
    There is a sizable castle down here too, for you to explore – a few of them in fact, when you are up to it.
    xxx

    I did once explore the aforementioned sizeable castle with your older daughter…the kids would love it, and so would I! Expect an infestation of McEldoherties very soon! 😀

  8. 8 Rosalind
    January 8, 2009 at 1:04 am

    You are a super photographer, Suzy! Love, Aunt

    Aw, thanks, but it’s not true!! 😀

  9. 9 Bernadette
    January 8, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Onwards and southwards- McEldoherties all.
    xxx

    Can’t wait!

  10. 10 Leigh
    January 9, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Some fab shots in there Suzy, we must take Soph, Stu has been but I haven’t. I love really low Winter sun, it provides gorgeous light in the pics x

    Maybe we should tie in a visit! Oh, I was going to mail you this evening- Ricky was on YouTube earlier watching Britney Spears “Baby One More Time” which sadly seems to be his favourite song EVER- we have seen it a kazillion times now- and he said to me “Mummy, she is very pretty” and I said, “Is she the prettiest girl ever?” and he said, “No, Sophie is the prettiest girl ever!” I thought you would enjoy that one! 😀

  11. 11 Skry
    January 17, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Love the pics Suzy. The kids are getting so big too. Can’t believe that Ricky is 4 now too!

    The pic’s are a great reminder of home. Here they only have one castle, but really it’s a stately home like a manor. I can’t see them filming Braveheart there any time soon 😛

    That film always makes me think of Emer and her big claim to fame- “ooh, look, you can nearly see my hair in this frame!” etc etc… 😀


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

