30
Dec
08

Gulp…am I wise?

I’m not, and never will be, a “go to your room” kind of parent. I feel very strongly about bedrooms (MTAE, mind out of the gutter PLEASE)- they should be a place you can retreat when you need some peace and don’t want to be around others. I want my kids to not associate being in their bedrooms with some kind of punishment, so I’m always happy for Ricky to tootle off and play in his room for a while. Robbie is still too little to be left unsupervised, but it will come. πŸ™‚

It’s a momentous day in our house- Robbie is graduating from cot to single bed. My mother in law Phyllis gave us the bed and we bought the mattress and bedding earlier.

Robbie is the kind of child who loves books. His first instinct today upon seeing his new layout was to want to sit on his bed and read- I hope he’ll always enjoy doing that. I think love of books is one of the biggest gifts you can give your child- something they’ll always love and use.

So- on the cusp of a new year- here’s to my little guy. I hope he will always love spending time in his room (on HIS terms!) and that I MIGHT GET A LITTLE BIT OF SLEEP TONIGHT!!!! πŸ˜›

Photobucket

Photobucket

OHHHH a good storyline…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

12 Responses to “Gulp…am I wise?”


  1. December 30, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    How exciting. so funny that Sugar just got out of her crib a few months ago. LOL She loved her crib though.

    I hope Robbie loves his bed. and books….wonderful things.

    Every kid is different! Partly it was because the bed had been delivered by MIL and was taking up space in our bedroom!

  2. December 30, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    How cute! We just moved Will to the bigger bedroom and plan to try getting Lorinc to sleep in there as well by the end of the week (Will has a full-sized bed, so they’ll share for now). I hope you get some sleep!

    He slept pretty well! Good luck with your own transition!

  3. December 30, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    YAY! What a big man he’s becoming.

    Ricky looks ready to be up to something in that fourth picture. πŸ˜‰

    For the same reasons you listed above, I refuse to argue in my bedroom. I would go to my room as sanctuary and my ex would try to follow me in there to argue. I’d immediately turn around and go into the living room to finish it. Haha!

    Ricky is always up to something, ha ha!Good thinking on not letting an argument take place in the bedroom!

  4. 4 Kristi
    December 31, 2008 at 12:01 am

    You have the most handsome men…. best of luck tonight!

    Thanks Kristi!

  5. December 31, 2008 at 4:53 am

    (rolls eyes)

    *ahem*

    We use the room not as a punishment, but when things (like their attitude) get out of hand I do have them go to their room in order to clear their heads and be able to come back in a better state of mind. They can play, read or do what they want in there, but it is always about time to themself. No two of them together.

    BTW, I want my OWN room to be able to be sent to…

    I wish Ian would send me to my room as well, ha ha!

    Hey, it’s only my own philosophy, everyone does things differently and I’m certainly not saying I am right and everyone else is wrong! πŸ™‚ What works for me might not for everyone else!

  6. 6 kimmothy69
    December 31, 2008 at 5:14 am

    As a book fanatic married to another book fanatic, we hope to become parents soon and we will MAKE SURE our child shares our love of books. I’ve seen what happens when parents don’t make it a priority and it’s not pretty.

    Ooooh, good luck with becoming parents!! You’ll be fantastic! xx

  7. 7 Jenny
    December 31, 2008 at 9:07 am

    I hope you got your night’s sleep and Robbie enjoyed his first night in a big-boy bed.

    Can’t believe how big he is getting, and Ricky is hardly a little boy himself any more. It’s always a surprise to see photos of them and see who they’re turning into πŸ™‚

    Ricky is nearly 4 and is very tall! Yes, they are growing up really fast! Hope my brother isn’t breaking your house up over there! Have a great new year (or is it already the new year in NZ?)

  8. December 31, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    As a parent, I like your theory on the use of the room as retreat/sleeping quarter and not as a room for punishment. We just bought our youngest daughter a twin bed today as well, and she is super excited!

    Cool! I hope she slept well! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

  9. 9 Angela
    January 1, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    What a cutie!! Love the bed! πŸ™‚

    He’s doing really well so far- thanks! πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Angela
    January 1, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Miss you! *HUGS*

    Hugs back! πŸ™‚

  11. 11 Skry
    January 1, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Loving that wallpaper πŸ˜€ Hope the new bed is appreciated and that you all had a Happy New Year.

    I did the painting myself and the fish are stickers. I love it! πŸ™‚

  12. 12 Leigh
    January 3, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Very cute pics. Is he still doing well ? Hope you are getting some rest courtesy of it !! xx

    We had to move the security gate from the top of the stairs to the door of his room because he kept coming into our bedroom and crying- it’s still a learning curve. I doubt I will ever get a full night’s sleep again!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

