29
Dec
08

Ding dong, the PICC line’s GONE!!!!

OH I am SO HAPPY!!!

When I went to get my picc line dressings changed earlier, they found it had moved yet again, by a distance of 3cm (HOW! The bloody thing was taped down!) and they were going to have to change it- yet again.

However they have decided to simply find a vein for my last treatment, so they took it out! You have no idea the relief!

I had bought a bottle of Moet & Chandon to celebrate the New Year, but instead, I will be having a bath for the first time in months (don’t worry I have been showering with cling wrap over the dressings!) and plan to crack open that bad boy and enjoy my newly-freed arm! 😀

That bloody thing has been the bane of my life since it went in. I will NOT lament its departure!!!

I feel like my treatment is suddenly much closer to being done now. YAY!!!!!

12 Responses to “Ding dong, the PICC line’s GONE!!!!”


  1. 1 kimmothy69
    December 29, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    My GOD what a relief that must be!
    I’m so glad for you.

  2. December 29, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    That’s wonderful! I’m so glad you have that behind you!

  3. December 29, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Alcohol and baths. Just keep the appliances away.

    Congratulations!

  4. December 30, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Oh YAY!!! And booze and bubbles to celebrate, that’s fantastic!!! 😀

  5. 5 Nichole
    December 30, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Wahoo!!!! That’s great! Enjoy your bath.

  6. 6 Angela
    December 30, 2008 at 12:53 am

    SWEET!! That’s AWESOME!!! I still remember wrapping mine when pg with Bryce just to take a shower. You will SO enjoy that much needed relaxation time in the bath. Have a drink for me! I’ll sure have one for you! 🙂

  7. December 30, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Wonderful, wonderful news!!!! Yippee!!!

  8. 8 suzy2110
    December 30, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Thanks everyone! Actually I did open the champagne, but CURSE the chemo, it really didn’t agree, tasted awful and gave me heartburn! I only finished it (with Ian) because at £5 a glass, I couldn’t bear it to go down the sink!

    Never mind!

  9. 9 Leigh
    December 30, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Just an excuse to buy another bottle for after chemo xxx
    PICC – cheerio, cheerio , cheerio ( a big Norn Iron send off !!)

    I’ll definitely have a glass or two when my treatment is over!

  10. 10 Emma C
    December 30, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Can’t believe you are nearly finished…fab

  11. 11 Bernadette
    December 31, 2008 at 12:32 am

    There will always be more champagne to enjoy when the chemo is finished Suzy- and you will probably tolerate it much better then.
    The PICC line has given you a lot of trouble I know but hopefully has served it’s purpose, am delighted for you that it’s now gone.
    Looking forward to seeing you in the next couple of days.

  12. 12 Skry
    January 1, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Yay! Congrats on the removal. I hope you enjoyed your bath. Showering is still a pain for me, but at least I’m off my meds now. Looks like 2009 is the year of healing and washing 🙂

    Healing and washing sound like good options- I can practically smell you from here… 😀 Hope my brother is behaving and not trashing your house too much! xx


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

