17
Dec
08

Bone scan

I’ve had a few emails asking how my bone scan went this morning.

Firstly, I won’t get the results until probably my chemo session next Tuesday, so there isn’t any news as such.

My picc line wouldn’t work again, which is really, really frustrating…it took them three goes to get into a vein to give the injection of isotope needed for the scan, and ended up using one between the knuckles of my little finger and ring finger, which hurt like hell and my hand is a complete bruised mess now.

The scan itself was OK, a bit claustrophobic when it scans your head because the machine is literally almost touching your nose and makes your brain think you’re about to be smothered! Definitely a “close your eyes and think of your warm happy place” kind of experience. πŸ™‚

I’m dog tired today! Early night required, methinks. Also, as I am officially Radioactive Girl at the moment, I am not allowed to cuddle the kids until tomorrow lunchtime. 😦 I imagine I will have a healthy green glow in the dark tonight when I go to bed! πŸ˜€

Have a great day! I am working on the first palm reading- keep em coming! πŸ˜€

13 Responses to “Bone scan”


  1. December 17, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    When I worked in a reactor, my girlfriend used to joke that I was her personal night light.

    Not true. I still used to bump into things on the way to the bathroom in the wee hours of the night. So don’t go planning around your Mr. Burns-ish “healthy green glow!”

    Hope they get your PICC line sorted out sometime soon, that stinks!

    Mrs Burns I am!! πŸ˜€ Yeah, the picc line thing is a complete pain.

  2. 2 Leigh
    December 17, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Oh, how hideous , between the knuckles , that is hateful, it sounds like a torture method – ” Ve haf ways of making you glow in the dark !! “You poor thing, that bloody PICC, I hope it gets sorted. I have been thinking about you all day , I will be keeping everything crossed for next week , have a lovely sleep xxx

    LOL you do make me laugh!! πŸ˜€ I can’t WAIT to go to bed, I am knackered!

  3. 3 Bernadette
    December 17, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Suzy was thinking about you today having your bone scan and apart from knowing that it will take a few days to get the results, I hope all will be well. So sorry to hear about the PICC line – that is such a nusiance. Iv’e seen lines having to be put in in awkward places but between your ring and little finger just makes me cringe – you poor pet. I had a bone scan a couple of years ago and remember being warned to stay away from small children, but the isotopes dose used is small so all traces will have disappeared in the next 24 -36 hours or so. Then there will be cuddles all round. XXX

    I know- Robbie doesn’t understand and is really upset this evening because he can’t sit on my knee. 😦

  4. December 17, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    I was thinking about you this morning, but I didn’t think your results would be immediate. Wouldn’t it be nice if they were?

    Get some good rest, sweet girl.

    I’ll be glad to get the results but wasn’t expecting anything today. At least it’s only a week- you hear of people waiting ages…

  5. December 17, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    (Insert a joke about TB’s GLOW STICK here)

    Ha ha, I can’t believe I missed that one!!!!! πŸ˜€

  6. December 17, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    You can have your own!

    http://www.nightlightcondoms.com/

    Fabulous! I love it! πŸ˜€

  7. 7 Emma C
    December 17, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Don’t know how you manage to cope with all of this, but the result will be an even stronger person.

    Thanks Emma! I was just thinking about you today, it was Ricky’s wee Christmas concert- hope the outbreak of chicken pox didn’t ruin yours!

  8. December 17, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I would so freak if my p*nis was glowing…but I’d surely be the only one looking at it, so it really wouldn’t matter!

    LOL, would Mrs MTAE not find it amusing??

  9. December 17, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Uh…she isn’t looking there.

    Well, believe me, a glow in the dark willy will get her attention!!!! πŸ˜€

  10. December 18, 2008 at 12:26 am

    I’ve been thinking of you, and hoping for good results.

    eekkkk about being radioactive. that is freaky.

    Hopefully I will be back to normal today, lol!

  11. 11 Sara
    December 18, 2008 at 1:16 am

    Sending good thoughts your way for good results! Too funny about radioactive Suzy! Hope the time passes quickly so the kids can get their cuddles.

    I’ll be able to give Robbie his evening snuggle tonight! πŸ™‚

  12. 12 Skry
    December 19, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Poor Suzy! That sounds like a terrible place to give you an injection. Could they not find somewhere in your arm, or did it have to be lower down your arm?

    Anyway I hope your mini-halflife has gone and you’re back to being able to give Ricky and Robbie some snuggles. Plus you can go for the part of Radioactive Man’s sidekick, Fallout Girl: “Up and atom!” πŸ˜€

    They are very limited in the areas they can give injections- the right arm is completely off limits due to the lymph node clearance I had during surgery, and a lot of my left arm is taken up with the picc line!

  13. 13 Lori
    December 26, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Just a quick hello to check in and see how you are doing. Congratulations on the bone scan results! I am so happy for you! It sounds like you are doing pretty well with your tx and only a few more to go! Wow! Keep up the good work and great spirits! Check in with us October ladies once in a while, we miss you!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

