15
Dec
08

Cheesy Chicken & Sweetcorn Pattys

Robbie is going through an “I love anything with sweetcorn in it” phase, so, finding a can in the cupboard earlier and seeing what else I had around the house, I made these, and they were great! The kids devoured them, and there’s LOADS for me and Ian later, in fact the recipe would probably serve up to 8 depending on how hungry you are! You could halve the amounts very easily. It’s a very quick, easy meal. You can leave the chicken out if you’re a veggie, and you can change the ingredients about depending on what you have in your cupboard- I would think bell peppers, mushrooms, bacon, broccoli, or even a well drained can of tuna instead of chicken would all work very well with this recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚

Feeds the Five Thousand-

8oz self raising flour
1 small can sweetcorn, drained well
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp mustard powder
4 oz cheddar cheese, grated
1 small bunch scallions (spring onions), sliced lengthways and then chopped
1 fat clove garlic, very finely chopped
5 oz cooked chicken breast, finely chopped
1/4 tsp celery salt (you could season more, but it’s mainly a kids recipe, so adjust if you’re making for grown ups! Pepper would be good)
2 eggs
10 fl oz milk
good sized knob butter
1 tbsp olive oil

1. Mix all ingredients very well in a bowl (as I say, this recipe is REALLY hard)
2. Leave in the fridge for an hour or two as this will thicken up the batter- not essential but will help the pattys hold together.
3. Melt butter and oil in a non stick pan. Drop spoonfuls of mixture onto surface and flatten slightly.
4. Cook over a medium heat for 3 minutes or so on each side, until golden and cooked through.

I served these with homemade macaroni cheese, and it went down a storm, but I’d think it would be great with mashed potato or champ too.

Photobucket

4 Responses to “Cheesy Chicken & Sweetcorn Pattys”


  1. December 15, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    okay…so what is sweet corn?
    These sound delish. Thanks for sharing.

    Ummmm….

    I’m not sure what you call it- maybe just corn? Comes on a cob? Yellow and juicy? Sorry. Have no clue, my love! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. December 15, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    We have sweet corn here too.

    There should be no pictures of yummy fried foods when I am at work and hungry!!!!

    Ha ha, it’s evening here! You’re at the opposite end of the States from Corey, who is in Oregon. I have no idea what they call it there. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. December 16, 2008 at 12:34 am

    that picture made me want to go out and make it!

    Thanks for your comment! I looked at your blog and found it really interesting, as I like wine rather too much! I will be reading more! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. 4 Skry
    December 19, 2008 at 11:13 am

    When I am capable of cooking again I am so going to get myself the ingredients and make those. They look delish, but it’s gonna be another month or so before I’ll be able to fully use my arm.

    Maybe I’ll get Brian to make them for me. Think you can teach him the recipe before he heads to New Zealand…? ๐Ÿ˜›

    I will instruct my brother in the advanced cookery techniques required- wish I was coming over too! Maybe in a year or two!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

