10
Dec
08

Get well soon Sophie!

Leigh, don’t panic when you read this- I am sure your beautiful daughter is just fine!!

My Dad has two sweet dogs called Sophie and Bonzo (yes, I know- we tried to stop him…) who are pretty much constantly by his side. They’re great with the kids and wonderful family members.

He was walking them last night near Castle Ward estate, down a lane which is heavily surrounded by woods, and it was very dark. Sophie must have tried to jump a barbed wire fence, but missed, and cut her stomach very badly in the fall.

She had to stay in the vets overnight and had a lot of stitches done under general anaesthetic. Dad is wondering how she would cope with the “lampshade collar” they give you to stop a dog from chewing stitches!

She’s home now, and on the mend, but I am not sure who this has been most traumatic for- Sophie herself, Bonzo, who loves her so much and was very sad and lonely without her last night, or my poor Dad who had to scrape her up and get her to the vets!

Hope she’s feeling better very soon!

I’ve been looking for a decent pic for ages but the below is the best I can seem to find- most pics are of her and Bonzo chasing a stick, so they are blurred and useless. The best pics of the dogs I have seen are taken by my Uncle Geoff, but I don’t have any of them! He reads the blog sometimes- hi there! 🙂

Photobucket

5 Responses to “Get well soon Sophie!”


  1. 1 Leigh
    December 10, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Poor wee thing, hope she gets better soon xx

    I saw her last night and she was surprisingly chipper, so I am sure she’s on the mend!

  2. December 10, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Ooohhh! I hope Sophie heals up really quickly. Poor baby. Reading that makes me mist up. I have to go hug Jasper now.

    Give Jasper a hug from me too! Sophie is much better.

  3. December 10, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    Poor thing…that has to hurt.

    Those collar things are tough too! Someone is going to have to lick her butt for her.

    Hope she gets well soon

    Bonzo will have to do the butt licking, I am sure as hell not… 😀

  4. 4 Geoffrey McElwaine
    December 10, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Suzy. Steady on : this exposure to a world audience will give me a big head !! I’ve sent you an album of ” doggie ” pictures : hope you enjoy them. Keep strong ! Love.

    Thanks for the lovely pics you sent me- they are amazing, you are very talented! Believe me, you won’t get much exposure here, lol!! 😀

  5. 5 Skry
    December 19, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Aww, I feel Sophie’s pain… Hope she’s back up and running around after sticks soon 🙂

    She’s doing much better thanks Keith!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

