02
Dec
08

First Round of Taxotere

Hey all

Sorry for being so lamentably MIA the past few days- I can’t seem to get it together to either blog or get to reading everyone else’s blogs, but promise I will catch up soon.

I had my fourth round of chemo earlier, it was my first cycle of Taxotere moving on from FEC, and so far I don’t feel too bad. Apparently this one won’t make me feel as sick, but has its own particularly unpleasant side effects, mainly complete exhaustion, and an even higher risk of septicaemia. They could only give me 75% of the normal dose because of my problems with not tolerating the FEC.

I brought my quilt o’ wonder to the chemo with me (thanks again, so, so much to all concerned), it made three different nurses cry, and even my consultant, Dr Abram, looked positively misty-eyed, having asked specifically to see it (the nurses had been telling him about it!). I wrapped myself up in it and it kept me warm, emotionally as well as physically.

I have to go and get my bloods checked next Friday, which coincides with my work Christmas do- they said they would be able to give me the go ahead (or not) to attend based on the results. I really want to go and have my outfit all lined up, so fingers crossed!

Will spend time this evening catching up with you all! Thanks again for all the prayers and positive thoughts. ๐Ÿ™‚

11 Responses to “First Round of Taxotere”


  1. December 2, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Sending you many, many prayers that this round will be easier on you, and that you *will* be able to go to your Christmas party!
    (((HUGS)))
    xoxoxoxo

    Thanks Karen- I hope so!

  2. 2 Leigh
    December 2, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    I will be keeping everything crossed that you get a big night out xxx
    How lovely you had the quilt with you , it is great to have something so tangible representing so much love coming your way.
    I hope you know you have loads of Adamson love coming at you too xxxx

    If I can’t get out for my work do, me and you should SO hit the town, lol! xxx

  3. 3 Leigh
    December 2, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    You’re on, if you think you can keep up with me !! I had a blast on Saturday, a night out for us mums is a great idea xxx

    I think we deserve it, lol!

  4. 4 Emma C
    December 2, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Thought you were due treatment today but wasn’t sure, glad you are feeling ok so far xx

    Thanks Emma, still feeling OK here, long may it last!

  5. December 2, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    I keep thinkin’ about ya!

    Aw, thanks TB!

  6. December 2, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I was wondering when you were starting the ‘new stuff’. I so hope you can go to your Christmas do! We’re probably gonna need pictures of that outfit! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Always sending you good thoughts and the hugs I wish I could deliver in person.

    I feel sure there will be pics- how pissed I am when they are taken is another matter! Hugs back! xx

  7. December 2, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Wishing you the best from over here…we’ll talk about you when you are busy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you, internet husband, though I gather me, you and TB are having some kind of web menage-a-trois???? ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. December 3, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Now wait just a damned minute here!!!

    Ha ha, I couldn’t resist making you even more uncomfortable… ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. 9 Sarah McBride
    December 3, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Hey, glad you got on ok so far with the taxotere, hopefully it’ll be easier to tolerate. Glad you got to meet Dr Abram, he’s a sweetheart, one of the really nice ones to work with (most of them are nice to you patients, but not to use “admin” lol)

    That’s good to hear that you like him! The other dr, Barbara Black, is wonderful too.

  10. 10 emma
    December 4, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Huge love missus. Hope you’re not feeling too bad.

    On the mend, lol!

  11. December 5, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    seriously, girl….you made me cry talking about the quilt and how it moved the nurses and your doc. WOW! I am thinking of you so much, and hope that you are still feeling okay.
    hugs!

    I think that quilt has made just about everyone cry now, but in a good way! Thank you so much for your part in it!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

