24
Nov
08

Spoiled, spoiled, spoiled…

I have been such a spoiled girl this weekend!

Firstly, I am still reeling from the generousity of my online community for their beautiful quilt which still makes me teary every time I look at it!

I was invited to stay with my Aunt over the weekend, which I did like a shot- she’s a wonderful host, and treats me like visiting royalty!

She had bought me THE most beautiful Radley handbag as a belated birthday present. I love it so much that I think Ian thinks he is being cuckolded… 😀 It’s one of the poshest things I have ever owned! She also bought me a gorgeous new outfit which I am wearing to work today.

We had a lovely relaxing weekend. Her friends Liz and Desmond, and their daughter Lisa, came for lunch, and it’s always lovely to see them- they are great people. We ate a yummy dinner in front of the tv with all the bad tv that Ian hates me watching- the X Factor, and Strictly Come Dancing… 😀

Then, my Dad had me and the boys down for lunch yesterday and I think the boys consumed more than their own body weight…HOW can such small kids eat so much without bursting?!

Oh, and on Saturday morning, when me and the boys went to muck out my horses at Dad’s house, some of Dad’s friends were there doing a catch of the small birds that live in his garden. They do this (I think) twice a year, to weigh them and tag their legs. It’s a very interesting project. They catch the birds in nets which they put up around the garden- it doesn’t hurt the birds and enables them to monitor populations too. Radio Ulster were at Dad’s to interview the folk who were doing the catch, and they interviewed Ricky, who was “helping” (cough)…so Ricky might be famous come the weekend! 😀

So, a pretty productive weekend! Thanks to everyone who helped make it so special for me (and there are MANY of you who did). I am also SO relieved that I didn’t end up in hospital again as this was the dreaded “middle of chemo” weekend where I have got so sick before.

Also, thanks everyone for your recent comments! I am woefully behind both on answering comments and in reading other people’s blogs, but will catch up over the next day or so. MTAE, I see you have another installment in your fascinating story up, and I am desparate for a few quiet minutes to read it!!!

7 Responses to “Spoiled, spoiled, spoiled…”


  1. November 24, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    sounds like a really cool weekend. WOW! 🙂

    I’m a lucky pup!

  2. 2 Sara
    November 24, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Sounds like a perfectly lovely weekend! I’m glad you didn’t get sick this time around! Yeah!

    Not being sick is definitely a bonus! 😀

  3. November 24, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Boys can eat three times their body weight. They need it for all the running around they do…it is like storing it up for the winter.

    That bird tagging project facinates me…

    I haven’t explained it very well!! But it is very interesting to watch.

  4. November 24, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    You deserve to be spoiled!

    Aw, thanks!

  5. 5 Emma C
    November 24, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    When is the Radio Ulster broadcast? My dad is an avid garden bird watcher. Maybe you can ask your dad, my dad says he has seen a yellow hammer and apparently they are very rare!

    The broadcast is this Saturday from 8-9am (really early) and I’ll ask my Dad about the yellow hammer but I know they are rare- I remember seeing them as a child and it being a special occasion!

  6. November 24, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    A Radley bag! I’ve literally gone green with envy! We (OK, probably only me) need to see photos of this please! I bought myself a very small plain cream radley for a wedding last year, and I love it so much I’ve barely used it, which kind of defeats the object, but there we go! I dream of owning one of their signature bags.

    Glad that you had a lovely weekend by the way (I may have got a little carried away there!) xxx

    I’ll definitely post a pic first chance I get! It’s gorgeous and dark brown, so hopefully I won’t be able to destroy it too quickly! 😀

  7. 7 Skry
    November 25, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    The hand bag thing goes right over my head, but I’m sure jen will make up for my lack of knowledge on this front!

    As for the bird tagging thing, that was one of the last things I did with your dad while I was in NI. It seemed like an interesting way of monitoring bird levels around the country and the details of it were pretty cool. Cannons that shot nets to catch birds in? Makes me wonder why they don’t use them on a bigger scale for riot control 😛

    Glad you had such a fun-filled weekend and I can’t wait to hear Ricky’s debut on radio. Will it be online? Also you know he’s too cute for radio – it’s only a matter of time before he’s on the box! Gotta get that bladder under control first though 😉

    These are the little kind of bird, not the Brent Geese! I think if you shot a canon at these little guys, they would not survive!

    I’ll post the link for the radio program at the weekend. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

