23
Nov
08

The most moving gift I will ever receive

On Friday, I got a letter from customs asking me to collect a parcel they were holding. When I opened it, I could not believe my eyes and started to cry my eyes out!

My online friends in the States and Canada have been such a massive support to me since my diagnosis, but what they have done this time is beyond simple friendship, and has been the most wonderful surprise.

Each of them designed and decorated a square of fabric, which they then posted to my talented friend Stephanie, who brought it all together in the form of the most fabulous quilt.

This was a massive undertaking, which must have taken weeks or months to organise. I am in awe of the love these amazing women have demonstrated for me and can never, ever thank them adequately.

This is a family heirloom, something I am convinced will be handed down through generations. My great-great grandchildren will know what these wonderful friends have done for me.

Thank you, my dear, dear friends.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

22 Responses to “The most moving gift I will ever receive”


  1. November 23, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    How truly wonderful and what an amazing gift.

  2. November 23, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    oh girl….you have me all teary. sigh…….I hope this gift gives you the strength you need to endure this tough time.

    Much Love!

  3. 3 Leigh
    November 24, 2008 at 12:16 am

    What a fantastically beautiful and thoughful gift .

  4. November 24, 2008 at 12:18 am

    Wow – what a wonderful thing to have received! I would have been in floods of tears if I’d been in your place!

  5. 5 Jenny
    November 24, 2008 at 1:38 am

    Stoppit Suzy, you are making me blub at work!

    That is such a beautiful gift, so thoughtful and meaningful. You have some amazing friends across the water.

  6. 6 Nichole
    November 24, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Oh Suzy, I’m so glad you got it!!! I hope it warmed your heart, and made it a little stronger. There’s a lot of women (and even a few men 😉 ) wishing and praying for nothing but the best outcome!!! I wish I could be there in person, but since I can’t, please know that I think of you everyday. Lots of love!!!!

  7. November 24, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Oh my gosh! That is absolutely beautiful, Suzy! I’m misting up right now. Screw it, I think I’m going to go ahead and cry. It’s not often I get to use these happy tears, you know?

    You certainly have a talent for finding your way into the hearts of your wonderful friends. You’re pretty special, sweet girl.

    And I was just going to knit you a scarf or something. 😉

  8. 8 welshpurpletree
    November 24, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    That’s fantastic! I can see why you cried your eyes out when you received it.

  9. November 24, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    That is incredible…people can be pretty cool.

  10. November 24, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    WE love you girl! Let me tell you, I think we ALL cried tears during the whole planning process. It moved ME to see how we could all come together like this! I’m so thankful it finally got to you!

  11. November 24, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    That is ridiculously wonderful!!

  12. 12 Emma C
    November 24, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    Wow, that made me cry. Not only will your great-great grandchildren know how wonderful your friends are, I think it might actually reaffirm to them how wonderful you are.

  13. 13 Leeann
    November 24, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    We are all so glad you love it. We are thrilled that it finally made it there. We love you

  14. 14 Aunt Rosalind
    November 24, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I’m Aunt Rosalind and I cried too over the quilt. Thn five minutes later, Suzy made me laugh at the impropriety of something that I had innocently bought for the Boys! It was lovely to have her over the weekend.

    I forgot about that!! It deserves a blog post all of its own… 😀

  15. 15 Bernadette McPolin
    November 24, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Delighted to hear that you had a wonderful weekend being sinfully spoiled Suzy.
    As for the Quilt – it is beautiful – what a wonderful gift to receive

  16. 16 Pamela
    November 25, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Wow!!! What a special gift to receive. You must be feeling just a wee bit special when you think of all the hard work that went into making it. Glad chemo has agreed with you better this time Suzy.

  17. 17 suzy2110
    November 25, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Thanks everyone for your comments!

    I am still teary every time I look at it!

  18. November 26, 2008 at 2:39 am

    It is still making me all teary, too. I love what Emma C said – that your great-grandchildren will someday have that treasure so they can know what an AMAZING woman you are.

    We love, love, love you. May you feel our warmth around you every time you snuggle up with that quilt.

    Well, I love, love, love you guys too! I’m bringing it to my next chemo session with me.

  19. December 2, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Love you Suz!

    Back atcha! ((hugs))

  20. 20 annya1
    January 13, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    These beautiful photos have cheered me up so much – thank you for posting them,
    Annya

    I am so, so lucky to have such amazing friends!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

