19
Nov
08

Weekend randomness

OK, so it’s now mid week, and I am pleased to report that I am feeling pretty good today. πŸ™‚

Firstly can I thank my not-so-wicked Mother In Law, Phyllis, for a gorgeous belated birthday present. She had ordered me a gorgeous Willow Tree figureen called “Quietly”, which depicts a mother and two children who are very similar in ages to Ricky and Robbie. I am very touched and love it.

Photobucket

Next up, thanks to my Dad for THE most gorgeous Sunday lunch…roast beef with all the trimmings, including spinach with cheese sauce which is one of my most favourite things. I ate so much that I felt bad that evening, which says a lot, in all the RIGHT ways, about the quality of my Dad’s cookery!! Bernadette was staying with Dad this weekend, and it was lovely to see her. She had made a delicious apple sponge and an apple tart which Ricky had two helpings of. Thanks to all concerned for a lovely afternoon- I am only sorry I was in such a bad mood and didn’t contribute more… 😦

Before we went to Dad’s, I took the kids to Mount Stewart, an estate not far from where we live. It is absolutely gorgeous. I wanted to give Ian a bit of time to himself because he’s been so massively over worked recently. It must be very hard keeping a cheerful face on at all (well most) times, when your partner has a disease that makes her temper absolutely FOUL for ten days out of every three weeks, and you’re having to look after two small kids pretty much single handedly, do all the housework and take care of a very demanding full time job as well. Once again, Ian is DA MAN…I don’t know how he does it.

Anyhow, Ricky wanted to take some pictures and I am hoping they will distract you from the below-

Photobucket

Ricky took this one- random, huh? He is Soooo pleased with it….

Photobucket

Silly faces…

Photobucket

YES, I am well aware I have put on bloody weight, I know you’re thinking it, thank you very much. I have so much FECKING dieting to do when the cancer is dealt with. Hmppppphhhh…..plus the little bugger wouldn’t let me take my glasses off. Crouching is never very flattering, is it. At least that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. The camera adds 10lb. Yes it does. And no, there were NOT ten cameras. I only wish.

Photobucket

OK, so now that you’re all fully distracted by how fucking fat I’ve got, here’s a delightful story about our walk round the lake at Mount Stewart. I realised, too late, that the second cup of coffee before I left the house was not a good plan, that we were quite a distance from the main house, and I needed a wee. Badly.

Luckily, I spotted a disused cottage deep in the undergrowth beside the path, and hurriedly ushered the kids behind it.

Hunkering down and telling everone to BE QUIET, I was merrily relieving myself when Ricky pipes up, “Mummy, WHAT are you doing!! Mummy, are you doing a POOOOO!! Mummy, are you ALLOWED to do that here?!!”

We were not far off the path, and it was a Sunday. How all the passers by must have laughed…

13 Responses to “Weekend randomness”


  1. November 19, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Tears and Laughter in the same post.

    That figureen is simple but so precious, but you shuold really watch where you “poo”.

    This is sounding dangerously close to the boys-pee-standing-up-and-girls-pee-sitting-down story we all have to tell.

    I’m still not talking to you. πŸ˜›

  2. November 19, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    U are stunning! And I swear I am coming there someday to visit you and see that gorgeous place!

    You’re welcome ANY time. πŸ™‚

  3. 4 suzy2110
    November 19, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Ah, MTAE, we’re good, calm down! πŸ˜€

    Everyone, he snagged a less-than-flattering picture of me for his own evil purposes. That’s why he’s in the dog house. I still love him really. πŸ˜›

  4. 5 Bernadette McPolin
    November 20, 2008 at 12:18 am

    The photos are lovely Suzy, all of them; you look really good, and they show what a great time you and the boys were having. xxx

    The boys were very good, I have to give them kudos!

  5. November 20, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Will you give Ian a big hug for me? He sounds like such a wonderful person and it makes me smile to know that you have each other. I’m so happy to read that you’re feeling better.

    I think you look beautiful and not at all fat. I can show you fat that would make you feel so much better if you’d like! (In your e-mail, not here πŸ˜‰ )

    The figurine couldn’t be more perfect for you! I once gifted my Mom with a necklace of a mother holding her daughter. I recently gave it to my friend Becky. I didn’t mean to, but I made her cry.

    Ian is wonderful, I don’t know how to begin to say how much he does for me and the kids. The necklace sounds lovely- it was so sweet of you to give it to Becky, I am sure it meant a lot to her.

  6. 7 welshpurpletree
    November 20, 2008 at 10:50 am

    The figurine is lovely. Don’t you just love it when kids say things like that? Ricky took some really good pics, at least you’ve all got heads in them (and you don’t look fat!).

    I deleted the ones that didn’t have heads… πŸ˜€

  7. 8 Leigh
    November 20, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I love Rickys pic of the trees, he has a little latent talent there. You look fab by the way, all the better to distract passersby from the fact you’re behind a cottage doing a “poo”….I am shocked and very , very amused xxx ( we may have to rethink any future outings though!!!! )

    Ricky was asking me just this morning when he could see you and Soph. We’ll have to get something organised! I will try not to lose bladder control or do anything ELSE that could cause embarrassment while we’re out- Scout’s honour… πŸ˜›

  8. 9 Leigh
    November 20, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Free anytime you guys are xx How about lunch and bowling ? Or something outdoorsey ?

    Sounds great! We’re busy this weekend, but maybe if you have time next weekend? I will be in touch on facebook! xx

  9. 10 Skry
    November 20, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    “Ricky was asking me just this morning when he could see you and Soph” – Cheeky monkey! He’s not even 4 and he’s already sounding like he’s got a girlfriend πŸ˜› He looks like he’s doing a lot of High-Five’s in those pics.

    You look great in your photo’s Suzy. If you put on any weight at all you can easily blame your dad’s cullinary talents πŸ˜‰ Everyone who has eaten his food will believe that!

    Signed: The Gannet x

    LOL, I’d forgotten Mum used to call you that!!! Ricky does indeed have a girlfriend- she is very beautiful and special, and her mother and I have high hopes… πŸ˜€

  10. November 21, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    If a little weight gain is your biggest complaint from your current ordeal, I imagine everybody (probably including yourself) wouldn’t complain!

    Making a poo. BWAHAHAH! But hey, my son asked for an explanation of what an “adult motel” was the other day…luckily he didn’t ask me!!

  11. 12 Valerie
    November 22, 2008 at 2:44 am

    You look beautiful! Who wouldnt put on weight. I would be eating like a pig! When you get through this and start feeling better then you can worry about your weight!

    Love the story of pooing in the woods! Ricky has the cutest sayings!

  12. November 22, 2008 at 4:08 am

    PLEASE, sweetie, don’t fret about your weight right now. Throw out your scales. I mean it. Don’t make me come over there and do it for you. I just might. You do what you have to in order to get through this, and if that means eating chocolate for breakfast, and cake for tea, then that i what you do.

    You will have plenty of time to worry about the rest, when this is behind you.

    I love that figurine. It’s precious…


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

