12
Nov
08

Adventures in (NOT) wig wearing, #3

Well, me and the wig are hitting the wall.

I hate, hate, HATE wigs and wearing one. I think this is definitely karma biting me in the ass for all the times I took the piss out of people I suspected of wig wearing. A common saying in my place of work is that we “doubt the authenticity of such and such’s hair”, which has previously resulted in much merry making.

My natural dislike of sweeping things under the carpet and hiding my feelings seem to be asserting in this. I feel panicky when wearing a wig- like I say, I feel like everyone can tell, which brings out a lot of insecurity in me. I feel more prepared for stares and comments if I am wearing a headscarf. Does that make sense? LOL, I feel like Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman (now there’s irony for you- if only I looked like her too!!) when she’s shouting at Richard Gere that if he’s going to tell everyone she’s a hooker, he should let her wear her hooker clothes so she feels prepared… πŸ˜€

So, this week I have been wearing a headscarf to work. It started as an accident on Monday- I had been waiting for the district nurse to come to my house to change my picc line dressings, and forgot to change over from a scarf to a wig before heading in to the office. I previously worried that the guys in work would feel uncomfortable about it, but they were pretty much unphased. One of them commented that they might feel weird if I came in with a baldy head, but apart from that they didn’t care what I wore! So that made me feel better about it.

Apart from feeling defensive and insecure when wearing the wig, I also find it uncomfortable, hot, itchy and ill fitting. It’s a good make, so I think this is probably par for the course.

I fear that me and the rug will be ending our all-too-short relationship. Except for special occasions and fancy dress parties. I don’t feel like hiding.

Well, at least I tried! πŸ˜€

11 Responses to “Adventures in (NOT) wig wearing, #3”


  1. November 12, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Sometimes, I cover my hair with a scarf because some Christians practice headcovering. I go in and out of this phase. When my mom was sick, I wore a scarf a lot. Maybe I felt an extra security to God. I don’t know. While I was in the radiation center, I started thinking… “Oh, no… what if they think I have cancer too!”. As if there is a shame to having cancer? Does society make us feel that way? Or maybe I didn’t want people thinking I was something I wasn’t. Either way, I was uncomfortable with my thoughts.

    Anyway, beyond my babbling- cancer is nothing to be ashamed of. You have a beautiful face and you absolutely don’t need a wig. You style yourself however you like. The rest of the world will adjust. Your comfort comes first.

    Thinking of you everyday. ((HUGS))

    Thanks Mandy- I am thinking about you a lot too. xxx

  2. 2 Emma C
    November 12, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    My friend Anne-Marie tells me that wig wearing is not comfortable (she rarely does it) and also tells me that your first hair growth after treatment should be shaved off- for better quality of regrowth. You looked cracker with your short do after the hairdresser, but I’m sure it is not so easy now. None of us can really imagine, but I’m sure I think like many of your friends when I say that I envy your stamina, togetherness and ability to share your thoughts so profoundly.

    I didn’t hear that before about shaving off the first growth, but it kind of makes sense. I hope Anne-Marie is making a good recovery! I wish I felt like I had stamina and togetherness. Most of the thought sharing is kind of therapy! πŸ™‚

  3. November 12, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    I’d love to see you in the head scarf. I rather like the idea of it better than the wig. Wigs do sound itchy and uncomfortable.

    They are a royal pain in the arse. I’ll be glad to have my hair again one day!

  4. 4 Skry
    November 12, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    It’s a pity that you didn’t like the wig. Jen seems to get a real kick out of them and I really thought you two were destined to be future wig buddies!

    However if you feel that it’s itchy and that you don’t like it then go for the scarf. It’s not like anyone will really care as much as you do, so whatever makes you happiest is the main thing. Like Mandy says, the rest of the world will adjust and your comfort comes first.

    Perhaps because Jen wears her wigs over her own hair it removes the itchy feeling? Maybe when you get your hair back you’ll put on your wig again and think “This isn’t so bad…”

    If anything you’ll get a giggle and a hug from Ricky for it πŸ˜€

    I guess it’s just horses for courses! Part of the problem with comfort is that I wear glasses, and they don’t fit well around the ears with the wig, which leads to real discomfort during the working day. I keep having to run off to the loos and take my wig and glasses off for a few minutes! Jen looks great in a wig, even though she has such gorgeous natural hair, but I can see the attraction, I just loathe them myself. Probably part of it is that it’s enforced wig wearing, whereas Jen wears them by choice! πŸ™‚

  5. November 13, 2008 at 12:49 am

    Is it weird that I’m kinda happy you’re ditching the wig? It just seems like you’ll be happier and more confident if you’re little head is more comfortable. You can do so much with your scarves and with that pretty face of yours you will always look lovely.

    Aw, thanks! **blushes** I don’t think I can make my peace with a wig.

  6. 6 katbur
    November 13, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Congrats on ditching the wig. I did scarves when I was somewhere that I didn’t feel comfortable but I ran around bald headed most of the time. We even painted it to celebrate Christmas. I have to say I also found it powerful and empowering to be bald sometimes, I didn’t want to hide and I think other people need to know. Good luck!

    Too bloody cold here to go baldy, and I do feel a bit weird with a baldy head, to be honest. I hope headscarves are a compromise. πŸ™‚ I love the Christmas idea!

  7. November 13, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I say go with whatever makes you feel comfortable. If it’s the wigs, fine, if it’s bald, fine, if it’s scarves, fine.

    If you feel comfortable AND empowered with the scarf instead of the wig, then I will gladly use my myriad of worldwide underworld contacts to have you appointed the new Mayor of Scarfville. πŸ˜‰

    I never heard of Scarfville- is it in a nice area? πŸ˜€ The power might go to my head, no pun intended…I could sit on a throne, surrounded by scarves, barking orders at minions… ” I said SCARLET!!! That headscarf is clearly RED! Off with your head!!”

    I might be a bit scary. Better shelf that plan for now.

  8. November 13, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    There’s no reason to hide that beautiful head of yours anyway. *hugs*

    Aw, thanks! There was a strong breeze tonight and I was sure my scarf was going to blow off, ha ha!

  9. November 13, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    I think you look beautiful in the headscarves. Very… elegant. πŸ™‚ And you can think of them as a fashion accessory, and just be all the more stylish because of it… Don’t feel as if you *need* to wear the wig. If you’re comfortable with how you look, then everyone else will be, too! And goodness knows, you don’t need the wigs making you feel uncomfortable, too! So headscarves it is! πŸ˜€

    Thank you Karen! I do not believe anyone has ever described me as elegant before, ha ha! apparently (and I know nothing) headscarves are actually in fashion at the moment. This will hopefully work in my favour! πŸ˜€

  10. 10 Valerie
    November 16, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Suzy- I agree… if you are not comfortable stop wearing them! I did find this breast cancer site and they have beautiful head scarves… If you are a cancer patient they are $1. I hope this works but here is the site http://shop.thebreastcancersite.com/store/item.do?itemId=30421&siteId=224&sourceId=365&sourceClass=Category&index=18

    Val, I only just saved your comment from the spam queue, lol! It didn’t like your link- sorry if you posted this ages ago! Thanks so much- will check it out. You’re such a good friend! xx

  11. 11 Jenny
    November 18, 2008 at 8:04 am

    Hey Suzy, sorry the wig isn’t working out for you. I do know from the wig support board that a lot of women with no hair complain of the itchiness – I guess Skry is right when he says I am insulated from that by my own hair. Anyway, I’m sure you can donate your wig to somebody else who needs it if you do decide to abandon it completely.

    I bet you look great in your headscarf or baldy head, anyway πŸ™‚

    I think I might flog it on ebay. I could do with the money, ha ha!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

