11
Nov
08

Third round of chemo

I had my third and (hopefully) final round of FEC this morning. After this I move on to a different drug called taxotere which is apparently the most effective chemo drug they have for breast cancer. It’s also extremely nasty stuff, but hopefully won’t make me feel as sick as the FEC has.

Because I’ve come down with septicaemia with both the previous two cycles, the consultant has made the decision to reduce the dose by 20%, because I don’t seem able to tolerate the normal dose. I asked how this would affect the outcome, and he said for people with metastases (spreads to other parts of the body) the outcome would be worse, but that as they haven’t been able to find any mets with me, it would, hopefully, not affect the outcome. He said it was all a calculated risk, but that the risk at this stage of me developing a serious, life threatening bout of septicaemia was too high for them to continue with the full dose.

He doesn’t plan to increase the number of cycles of chemo. The chemo I am getting is supposedly a precautionary measure rather than an active attempt to shrink a known tumour, so he thinks it should hopefully do the trick anyway.

I got SO sick with the chemo administration today. You get a taste in your mouth when they are giving you the drugs- not particularly nasty but just chemical sort of taste- it clearly triggers something in my brain!

I went straight to bed when I got home and slept for five hours, to my amazement. I feel a good bit better this evening, long may it last!

So, with any luck, and with no desire to jinx myself, that’s the halfway point now. πŸ™‚

11 Responses to “Third round of chemo”


  1. November 11, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Hope you get your no-jinxing wish!

    I was thinking of you this morning when I remembered it was Tuesday (sometime around brushing my teeth, I think). I’ve been thinking positive thoughts for ya!

    Thanks! With the time difference, probably I was throwing up just about when you were brushing your teeth. Perhaps ESP was at work… πŸ˜›

  2. November 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    If the ESP was working and I knew you were throwing up, I probably would have brushed my teeth a heck of a lot more! πŸ˜‰

    Ha ha ha!!! Oh, BTW, I have big plans for cooking your version of stew this weekend. It sounds too nice to pass up. I’d love if you find the time to post your chili recipe too- we have our own chilis growing on the kitchen windowsill (MAN they are HOT!!!) and I want to make some chili with them. πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Leigh
    November 11, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    I hope this round goes a lot smoother than before xxx

    Thanks Leigh! xxx

  4. November 11, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Oh sweet girl I hope you continue to feel better every day. I’m glad they decided not to add more rounds to your treatment. You already know my thoughts are with you but I figure it’s worth repeating. Big hugs!

    I’m kind of glad too, because it’s not fun, but I hope what they ARE giving me will be enough to kick this thing’s ass. Time will tell!

  5. 5 beatis
    November 11, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I wish you all the best!!! I had breast cancer last year and finished my chemo 14 February 2008.I am thinking of you and wishing you strength in my mind.
    xxx

    Thank you so very much for the lovely comment! From your past tense use of the word “had” in relation to the breast cancer, I truly hope that you are free from it now. It’s always good to hear positive outcomes. Wishing you all the very best. Thanks again.

  6. 6 Bernadette McPolin
    November 11, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Hi Suzy – I was thinking of you today – sorry to hear that you were so sick having the chemo.
    It’s good to hear that you are now feeling better this evening after having a good rest. Long may that continue.
    Lots of love XXX

    Thanks Bernadette, doing OK so far. Looking forward to hopefully seeing you this weekend! xx

  7. November 11, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    You’ve been in my thoughts and prayers all day. Congrats on passing the half-way point! Hopefully, the next half will be easier on your body… (((HUGS))) Great job, Suzy!

    XOXOXOXO

    Thanks Karen- back in work this morning and not feeling too bad so far!

  8. 8 Skry
    November 12, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Hey Suz! Past the half-way mark, well done πŸ˜€

    I hope that this round of chemo doesn’t hit you quite as badly as the last two, but even if it does you can be happy that this is the last of the three sessions. Congrats for passing this milestone.

    Perhaps the 80% chemo they put you on this time can be supplemented by 20% red hot chilli’s? πŸ˜›

    The chillis are SO hot that they will kill anything, probably me, so maybe I should look into that!

  9. November 12, 2008 at 5:07 am

    You are a tough lady…knowing these treatments are coming have to like dragging a huge weight with you everyday.

    Well, yes, pretty much! πŸ˜€ But I am concentrating on being free of this shit, so that is keeping me going through it! πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Pamela
    November 12, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Glad to hear you have got to the half way point. You are coping with all this crap amazingly well and will deserve a long holiday when it is all over. Aidan was really glad to see you in the office last week. The 1st issue of Gaelic Star is now out and will be available in all good newsagents by the weekend! Have to say it looks really professional and I now understand why Aidan was crawling into bed after 4am for a number of nights. Talk nicely to him and he just might give you a free copy.

    He was telling me about all the late nights!! I am sure the hard work will be worth it. I hope all continues to go well for you guys! xo

  11. November 13, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    XOXOXO Prayers daily!

    Back atcha, Angela… ((hugs))


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

