10
Nov
08

Irish Stew

Here’s my recipe for Irish Stew, as requested by the Taoist Biker, who posted his own excellent stew recipe today! TB, in Ireland a casserole refers to anything cooked slowly in the oven with a sauce. As usual, I don’t think we call things by the same description here! 😛

Serves 3-4 depending on how hungry you are! It’s cheap and tasty, and only takes a few minutes to prepare. For extra tender meat, cook in the oven at 150C for about 2 hrs, stirring well every thirty minutes or so, instead of simmering on the stove. You could also crock pot it well on a low heat all day, and it would be great. You can easily adjust the quantities up or down as needed.

2 cups lamb, cubed (a cheap cut like neck is fine)
6 medium old potatoes, cubed
2 carrots, sliced
1 large onion, chopped
2 parsnips, sliced
1 bunch fresh parsley, chopped
1 tbsp butter or oil
Vegetable or lamb stock
Salt and pepper

1. Heat the fat in a large pan and cook the lamb and onion over a high heat until the lamb is browned.
2. Reduce heat and add all the other vegetables and the parsley. Stir well and cook for about 2 minutes.
3. Add enough stock to barely cover all the ingredients in the pan.
4. Simmer uncovered until the potatoes have smushed down so you have a nice stew- this will take 20-25 mins. Season with salt and pepper.

You could use steak pieces instead of lamb and it would still be nice. Also instead of parsnips you could add a sweet potato instead, or as well as. That is far from traditional, but tastes great, and I know parsnips aren’t to everyone’s taste (EMER!! 😀 )

Serve in big bowls with some very fresh crusty bread and butter on the side. I love adding a squirt of Worchester Sauce or HP Sauce for added zing once it’s in the bowl. Great in cold weather!

6 Responses to “Irish Stew”


  1. November 11, 2008 at 12:58 am

    That’s amost my stew but swap the lamb with beef. 😀

    It really is getting to be stew weather around here. YAY!

    Beef stew is delicious too, and works well with this recipe. 🙂

  2. November 11, 2008 at 4:07 am

    Oh man… that just made my tummy rumble. YUM. Thanks for posting this, Suzy!

    I hope you will like it if you make it!

  3. November 11, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Uh…

    As mean and cruel as we Americans are, many people have issues with eating lamb.

    Beef would be the normal substitute.

    (Pssst…hmmmm…lamb is yummy!)

    LOL, more cultural discrepancies!! That is funny! I don’t really get the difference between eating lamb and cow- the cows we eat are very young too.

    I hadn’t realised lamb was something of a rarety in the States- sheep are very common here, so maybe that is why this is such a traditional Irish dish! 🙂

  4. November 11, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Mmmm! We all love stew, and I’ve recently bought slow cooker so I think that I may have to do something like this tomorrow. Mmmm!

    I got a slow cooker a while ago, but it’s never worked well for me. My Dad got a different one just after me, and his works great. I need to persevere more I think! I hope the stew turned out well!

  5. November 11, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Crock-potting that sounds awesome!

    Lamb is delicious but I can’t eat it too often – too rich! (Also a little harder to find in the grocery stores here.)

    Thanks for sharing!

    I guess it’s a local supply thing. Sheep thrive here so lamb is very readily available. Beef would be a great alternative though, and I have often made it that way. 🙂

  6. November 11, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    I don’t like making my stew in the crock pot for some reason. I like my stew pot the best. Old habits die hard.

    Me too!! 😀

    PS This is the 1000’th blog comment I have had since starting blogging at the end of February. Go, me!!!! 😛


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

