09
Nov
08

Yet more randomness!

Wow, the weekend has already gone past! It was actually quite productive. Ian took the kids out yesterday, and I got a lot done around the house. Then, I took the kids out today and Ian made a start on the kitchen (woo-hoo!)

Our kitchen was bought and mostly installed a year ago, but we ran out of time and money and haven’t been able to replace the tiles or flooring yet, and it looks horrendous. There are a few bits and pieces that still need to be installed, too. You know when you just leave something so long that you only notice it if someone calls in? That’s how it is. Plus the kitchen has become a bit of a dumping ground of late, but Ian sorted that out today. It is a good sized room, with plenty of dining space, but we’re not capitalising on it. I hope by Christmas, it might be getting there. ๐Ÿ™‚

Dad had me and the boys round for a gorgeous lunch today, and we had our first ever “breakage” incident…Ricky knocked over a vase and broke it. I totally over reacted (it was an accident) and feel like a complete bitch this evening. He’s only little and it’s not like he meant it. He got an absolute bollocking. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I was feeling very tired, but there is NO excuse for yelling at a little kid who has no means of defence and who certainly didn’t mean it in the first place. Ughhh. It’s so hard to step back before exploding sometimes. I calmed down quickly and apologised to him for shouting, and tried to explain that I was frustrated because he had been careless, but I doubt he really got it. Must try harder- a LOT harder.

My next chemo session is on Tuesday, and I’m interested to hear what their plans are. I have no idea what they’ll come up with, but suspect it’s going to involve reducing the dose and upping the number of cycles, which is depressing. It’s a means to an end. I will get through it.

Big thanks of the weekend go to Bernadette, who sent me a gorgeous blue headscarf. I promised pictures, but unfortunately got it wet yesterday because it was raining, so it has been handwashed and needs to be ironed now! Sorry Bernadette, I will post pics very soon. It’s really lovely, I adore the colour.

Ricky has started “getting” what the alphabet means in the last fortnight or so. I know most kids his age are probably already doing this, but he’s suddenly started being able to spell things, can all of a sudden write his own name and recognise simple words. It’s like a switch has gone off! I think my kids are both pretty bright, but they’ve both talked fairly late, despite clearly understanding a lot from an early age. I’m certainly not rushing them, and think they are both doing well. ๐Ÿ™‚

Still trying to come to terms with the fact that a fair number of my closest friends apparently see me as some kind of mother figure, following Lou’s dreamย that I posted about two days ago-ย you lot are off your rockers!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

Not much else to report! Hope everyone has had a great weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Responses to “Yet more randomness!”


  1. November 10, 2008 at 2:50 am

    I know you feel awful about overreacting, but please try not to beat yourself up too much about it. From what I’ve read you are an excellent and gentle mommy. It’s not like you blow up at the slightest things every single day, you know? You apologized and I’m sure that Ricky is over it already. Kids are so forgiving and terribly resilient. It’s the adults, like me, that hold a grudge. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I don’t know a parent (my sweet Mom included) who hasn’t done the same thing while under stress.

    Can’t wait to see the pictures of you modeling your new scarf! ๐Ÿ˜€

    He’s forgotten all about it! I hope!

  2. November 10, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Get over the “mother figure” thing. It just shows you are someone they see as being responsible…it is a blessing and a curse.

    I’m sure you’re right, lol! I’m not upset, just to clarify, just surprised… I don’t know why!

  3. November 10, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I’m seen as the ‘mother figure’ of my group of friends too – I’m getting used to it! Although it does make for people assuming I’m older than I am…grrr! Also, my kitchen is also in a state thanks to a flood we had from the upstairs flat some time ago (we have concrete ceilings so it’s cosmetic, rather than dangerous damage!!) and we also just haven’t had the money to sort out getting it replastered. Every time I think that I’m going to get it done, some other demand for the money appears – very annoying!

    Hope Tuesday goes OK and that the treatment is less taxing from here on in.

    xxx

    Glad to hear I’m not alone, lol! Thanks for the well wishes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. November 10, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I’m always considered the mother figure as well.

    I guess I should stop wearing this apron, huh? (But Eddie is my hero!)

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    Best of luck tomorrow. I had a drink for you on Saturday night! (And fell asleep way, way, way too early.)

    LOL, love the image of you being the mother figure, TB… ๐Ÿ˜€

    I had a drink on Saturday night too. Well actually a couple of drinks. I was in bed by 10.30pm. Parenthood takes all your stamina away, I can never hack the pace any more.

  5. 5 Emma C
    November 10, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Ehh, most kids Ricky’s age can certainly not spell words and recognise words…. a clever little imp! Writing their name usually does come first but not so early on in the preschool year and also tends to be girls that do that a bit quicker. Looks like you have two smart asses on your hands! P.S. best wishes for tomorrow xo

    I thought he was actually a bit behind, but it appears I am wrong! We’re NOT pushing him on it, especially as nursery schools these days don’t encourage it because primary schools have a set way of teaching them to write. He can write his name pretty well, and also a few other words. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 6 Emma C
    November 10, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Don’t push it but DO encourage it!! That’s a text book answer about primary schools teaching different ways (what are they trying to do, put parents off?), if he is interested keep going! Remember, you are probably more intelligent than most of the teachers that he will ever be taught by.

    That’s very interesting coming from someone who does this for a living, and reassuring too! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

