07
Nov
08

Invading the dreams of others

My friends Lou and Phil recently moved to Sydney in Australia, having previously lived in New Zealand for a year. I know it’s been a big upheaval for them, but hope that things are settling down now, and that life in Oz will be everything they’ve ever dreamt of.

That said- apparently, Lou has been dreaming about ME! ๐Ÿ˜› She sent me an email earlier and I know she won’t mind me posting it for your amusement. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hi Suzy,

im just dropping you a line because i had a lovely dream about you last night and i thought you would find it amusing. Basically Phil and i were back home and all of our mutual friends were together in a bar. Pretty usual, except you were the landlady serving everyone drinks and it seemed to be like a local bar for local people (in the league of gentlemen sense). We seemed to be the only ones there (which given our drinking capacity im sure would not have impaired your income). You looked just as you did the last time we saw you before we left for NZ and seemed really happy in your role. I was really happy too, cause im assuming you were giving me mates rates! It was a really comforting happy dream and it resonated with me as soon as i woke up.

I think its all easily explainable though……….i’ve been missing everyone at home, Phil’s cousin in Christchurch just bought a bar in the countryside and as you have always been the consumate hostess, you would be the natural landlady figure. No psychoanaylis required there then! Of course its possible that there is an underlying deep-seated meaning to all of this and in my professional opinon it means that you and Ian should buy a pub in Dunfanaghy and invite everyone down for regular lock-ins!

For those of you who don’t know, The League of Gentlemen is a very bizarre comedy show that we get over here- it’s set in the Yorkshire Dales, is frequently quite bloody and features at times fairly strong horror, but it’s also pant-wettingly funny. I’m not too sure why a pub I run (even in Lou’s subconscious) would be similar to anything featured in The League of Gentlemen. I don’t know what this says about her opinion of me… ๐Ÿ˜€

For the record though, a lock-in (even if it has to be virtual) sounds like a great plan. Thanks Lou, for making me smile today!

9 Responses to “Invading the dreams of others”


  1. November 7, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    I’d go!

    That said, my in-laws ran a bar for a while, and it surely seemed like a royal pain in the butt…

    Yeah, I don’t fancy it, the stress must be massive. These days, we have a smoking ban throughout Ireland- whilst I am in total agreement with this and support it wholeheartedly, I appreciate that it has resulted in sales being down in a lot of pubs, so times are hard there. Still, a virtual pub would be great! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. November 7, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    After a fierce debate, they passed a smoking ban in my town as well, and I love it. No more waiting extra-long for a non-smoking section seat, and no more smoke wafting over from the smokers. I even went to a concert and didn’t come back reeking of tobacco! I don’t think it’s markedly affected sales here, either, despite the cries of doom beforehand. Success! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Mainly it was the whole bit of dealing with drunken customers, especially regulars, who occasionally got out of hand. Some are nice people who just occasionally get too far gone and have to be dealt with; some are always that way. But they’re your regulars, and they have friends and family, so you hate to come down on them too hard, but you hate to get in trouble for selling to them when they’re already intoxicated. And this was also in an area where most people had a 5-10 mile drive from the bar to their house, so you know they were driving under the influence.

    Where do you draw the line? I dunno, but worrying about it has to be nerve-wracking.

    A virtual pub, though, I can get behind that idea!

    I can see how that would be hard to deal with. I do think there are rather different attitudes to drink driving here- the very vast majority of people don’t drink at all and drive- it’s very socially unacceptable. I find it terrifying that people are willing to drink all evening and get behind the wheel of a car. It must be very hard when it’s your livelihood at stake and you’re trying to strike that balance. I can see why it must be so stressful.

  3. 3 Lou
    November 8, 2008 at 1:33 am

    I meant local and league of gentlemen in the sense that everyone there knew each other so it would have been weird for a stranger to walk in lol.

    Thank goodness- I was worried you might think I dish up the “special stuff” ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. November 8, 2008 at 1:39 am

    I love the added psychoanalysis of the dream!

    I do NOT miss bartending one bit!

    I have a degree in psychology, and think most of what I learned during the degree was complete bollocks. Especially a lot of the child psychology, but I digress… ๐Ÿ˜€

    I never worked in a bar. I can imagine it would be right down there with working in a petrol station for 10 months as I did when I was at Uni. I believe I was paid an amazing ยฃ2 an hour- that was crap even in 1995- and I hated every second!

  5. November 8, 2008 at 2:08 am

    After doing some bartending for said cousin to help him out for a couple of weeks, I can certainly say I prefer being on the punter side of the bar!
    I also prefer being the cousin of someone who owns a bar though it’s a long way to Rangiora…
    He texted me this morning to tell me he’s coming over in a few weeks and we’re going to head to the Hunter Valley wine region. Good times ahead!

    Phil, you’re a semi-professional drinker, so it goes without saying that you prefer being on the punter end… ๐Ÿ˜› I am envious of your trip to the wine region. Maybe one day…

  6. 6 Skry
    November 8, 2008 at 7:28 am

    LOL That is such a weird dream, because I can still remember the last dream I had with you in it Suzy ๐Ÿ˜€

    You had invited me round for dinner but you had to pop out for a spell. You asked if I would take the food out of the oven in 5 minutes and you would dish it out when you got back.

    However I forgot about the dinner and when you came in the meal was nicely burning in the oven. When you found it you started shouting at me as you’d been slaving in the kitchen all afternoon and I’d just destroyed the meal. I felt really guilty and very sorry for myself.

    Jenny hit in on the head when she said we must see you as some kind of mother figure.

    Dwell on that one Mr Freud…

    I’m a little freaked out by your dream. To be fair, if I asked you to take something out in real life, and you forgot and it burned, I would react exactly as you dreamt….are you scared of me??

    As for being a mother figure, I don’t even know how to respond!! I always thought I was the big sister!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  7. 7 Lou
    November 10, 2008 at 12:30 am

    I don’t remember my mum ever serving me lots of alcohol!!! So, no i think i’ll stick to the hostess figure.

    LOL! Thanks Lou- I’d rather be known for feeding my friends and getting them drunk than shouting and nagging any day… ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. 8 Skry
    November 10, 2008 at 3:19 am

    When I said “mother figure” I meant that we look up to you and respect your advice. Certainly a figure with some authority, although not necessarily our personal mothers. That *would* be very weird!!

    You’re telling me!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Aw, respecting my advice is a big compliment.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

