05
Nov
08

What tact!!

I read the kids their books tonight (this is done in Ricky’s bedroom, with both of them sitting in his bed. I then take Robbie next door and put him to bed before tucking Ricky in).

When I went to tuck Ricky in, I gave him a kiss and he asked me to lie down beside him for a minute. This is a common request and I am always happy to oblige. He’s a great cuddle, and I welcome the time to ourselves!

However, tonight, the little bollocks decided it would be fun to whip off my headscarf as soon as I lay down. I’ve not let the kids see me with no hair, partly because I don’t want to upset them and partly because I don’t want to upset ME!

Then, laughing so hard that he was practically crying (which was infectious, I confess- I was laughing too) he says, “Mummy, your head looks like a boiled egg!” which rendered us both incoherent with mirth.

A minute later, he turns to me and says “Mummy, put your headscarf back on. You look silly!” πŸ˜€

Yep, I do. But if we can all laugh at it, so much the better. Aren’t kids the most amazing levellers. Thank goodness for my beautiful son.

10 Responses to “What tact!!”


  1. November 5, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    I can’t recall hearing the term “amazing levellers” used to describe kids before, but yep, you are absolutely correct.

    My son wants to see me without my beard just because he thinks I’ll look goofy. *eye roll*

    (He’s right.)

    Some people are meant to have beards, and you are most definitely one of them!!!!!! πŸ˜›

  2. November 5, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    AWWWWW… That Ricky – he’s a bright one… I’m glad you got a good laugh, and a smile, today…

    XOXO

    I’m feeling good, and making the most of feeling good!!! πŸ˜€

  3. November 6, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Aww!! That’s too funny and I bet you’re the cutest boiled egg EVER!

    Hmmm…not sure how cute boiled eggs generally are, but I do my best! πŸ˜›

  4. 4 Nichoel
    November 6, 2008 at 3:17 am

    Aww! The things that come out of their mouths! :lol

    I’m glad you got a laugh though! And a good snuggle!

    Laughing and snuggling at the same time is always therapeutic!

  5. 5 Sara
    November 6, 2008 at 3:31 am

    Sometimes kids have the ability to make even the worst situations light-hearted ones. I’m glad you got a giggle out of it.

    Sometimes you have to laugh… πŸ˜‰

  6. November 6, 2008 at 7:05 am

    That is hilarious! Next, the boys will be rubbing your noggin for good luck!

    Meg, Buddha I ain’t. I wish I was… πŸ˜€

  7. 7 welshpurpletree
    November 6, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    That made me laugh just reading it! I love having a good giggle with my two, it sounds like something mine would come out with too.

    They make me feel better, every day! πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Skry
    November 7, 2008 at 1:25 am

    LOL Ricky sounds so funny! Can’t wait til Robbie is his age so I can se what he gets up to πŸ˜›

    Robbie is going to be just as amusing, I’m sure… πŸ˜€

  9. 9 Skry
    November 7, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Oh yes and you’re right about kids being amazing levellers. I called for Brian Johnson one day and his wee brother came running out to see who was at the door.

    At that age his head was around my groin level and as the door was open he just kept running.

    Fastest level ever…

    LOL, if he was as hyper as Brian Johnson, it’s no wonder!!

  10. November 8, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    This made me smile until tears. Our children are the ultimate blessing.

    They certainly are! It’s great that they remind us sometimes, because when I am tired and cranky, I can sadly lose sight of it… 😦


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

