05
Nov
08

More random musings

My brain is a little pickled at the moment, so I hope you will forgive another very random post today.

– I now have conjunctivitis in one eye. It doesn’t hurt, but looks nasty. This now means that I have a huge bright red eye in addition to the whole baldness and overweight thing. I so hot I SMOKIN’!!!!! Seriously boys, form an orderly queue. πŸ˜›

– I can’t stop confusing my three year old son. We were talking about the chemo yesterday and he is a little confused as to why the medicine is making me so sick, when, of course, he thinks medicine should make you feel better. I ended up using some kind of long and convoluted analogy involving the strong medicine being a bit like the police, hunting down the bad cells and kicking their ass. And that, regrettably, the police-medicine was indiscriminate and was kicking Mummy’s ass too. So, to sum up, it was nothing like the police but that everyone’s ass had been well and truly kicked. Or something.

– Chemo drugs- BAAAAAAAD. I’m sick of being sick, and feeling depressed for the first ten days. Seriously, when the depression lifts, you feel positively euphoric, kind of to the point of manic-ness. I feel better at the moment. Therefore, will be having some white wine tonight when the kids go to bed. Totally legal, shop bought drugs- GOOOOOOOOD. πŸ˜€

– Ian and I were talking last night and are wondering if we can persuade someone, anyone, to look after the kids for a night once my treatment is over so we can go to the house in Donegal, have a lovely meal in one of our favourite reastaurants, The Mill in Dunfanaghy, and get mildly pissed in a stunning setting. Any takers? I am willing to ship the pair of them to the States.

– Ian has booked the whole of December off as he had a lot of annual leave to take. Ian has been wonderful since my diagnosis, but one man can only do so much, and he needs the break more than anyone I know. So, send him some positive vibes for a good holiday, plenty of rest and (ahem) the strength to finish installing our new (YEAR OLD NOW) kitchen… πŸ˜€

Right, enough deranged rambling for now. I am supposed to be working! May your day be filled with good things!

12 Responses to “More random musings”


  1. 1 welshpurpletree
    November 5, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    I can see it must be a very difficult thing to explain to a 3yr old. I’m always confusing Danny when trying to explain things to him. Take Care.

    I can never seem to keep it on his level! Ian can do it much better than me!

  2. November 5, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    You and Ian do need some time alone together. I wish I lived next door!

    I wish you lived next door too!!! Though, I think we’d be a bad influence on each other, in the BEST possible way!!! πŸ˜‰

  3. 3 Emma C
    November 5, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Suzy, I can do an overnighter in your house, no prob!!!!

    Emma, that is such a very kind offer! Sadly, my house is unfit for polite company… πŸ˜€ I am hoping my family will step up, otherwise you’ll regret saying that! πŸ˜€

  4. 4 Sara
    November 5, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    I hope your eye clears up soon! That’s got to be no fun!

    I’m sure explaining chemo to a 3 year old had to be hard, but it sounds like you had a pretty good analogy for it. I hope he understands that even though mommy is sick right now she will get better.

    You know I’d gladly take the kids so you and Ian could get away. If you are willing to ship them! lol

    I hope Ian has a nice break in December and gets that kitchen done!

    Sara, I can just see Scott’s face now, with my two waifs turning up on your doorstep, lmao!!!

  5. 5 Emma C
    November 5, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    I truly mean it xoxo

    Thank you!! I have it in writing, ha ha! xxx

  6. November 5, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    You never have conjunctivitis in only one eye – you have it in one eye so far. (Hope you get lucky! I have a horrible case of it in all of my brother’s wedding pictures, heheh.)

    I hope Ian holds up well, the “being strong for both of us” kind of bit has always been hard on me when I’ve had to do it. I hope for a good, long, restful winter for both you AND Ian!

    I didn’t know that about conjunctivitis! It’s been there two days, so I don’t think it’s shampoo redness- though being bald, feckin’ everything gets in your eyes in the shower. Don’t these things always happen in time for family photos, lol!

    Ian is always strong for both of us. Though my brother always says we both wear the pants in our relationship. I do not consider this to be a bad thing!

  7. 7 Leigh
    November 5, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Suzy, the two gorgeous lads are welcome to stay over in our house anytime, you would be doing everyone a favour, Soph would love it, seriously bear it in mind. We are used to being up in the night too. Get in touch if you want to talk about this- reallly !! Did you get my answer about this weekend ? L xxx

    Leigh, the pair of them would have your head turned!!! Thanks for the offer, will definitely bear in mind! I did get your answer about this weekend- sorry it won’t suit, maybe we can arrange for a few week’s time when I am likely to be at my best following the next round. Will be in touch. xx

  8. 8 suzy2110
    November 5, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    My Dad (who reads, but never comments) πŸ˜› has now emailed me and offered his services as babysitter! Thanks Dad!!!

  9. November 5, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    I’m so glad your dad will do that for you… *sends BIG hugs to Suzy’s dad* Because, well, you know that 2 more in MY house just wouldn’t make that much of a difference! LOL

    Sending you lots more feel-better vibes… I hope that eye clears quickly!

    Karen, what’s the major airport near you? I just need to get their passports sorted, and they’ll be on the next flight. πŸ˜‰

  10. November 5, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Well…medicine is supposed to make you better.

    That sounded like a “dig” on the kitchen renovation…Grrrrr!

    Moi? Make a dig? Surely not!!! πŸ˜€ C’mon though- it’s been going in for more than a YEAR!!!!

  11. 11 Skry
    November 7, 2008 at 1:21 am

    OK here’s my random ramblings:
    1. You wouldn’t consider shipping your kids to NZ but you’d ship them to the States?
    2. Your dad reads but never comments? Voyeur or what? He ought to leave a wee Hello or something.
    3. Looks like your comment a couple of posts back about your dad being the best dad in the world was right πŸ˜€
    4. I haven’t been online for a while cause of work (I got a new job!) and other random computer problems. But I’m still thinking of you. \m/

    1. Bearing in mind Jenny’s child aversion, and for the safety of your chickens, I think shipping the kids to you guys might not be the best plan. πŸ˜€
    2. To each their own! Comments are nice, but I talk to him nearly every day in any case, so it doesn’t matter. πŸ™‚
    3. Yes!
    4. Ohhh, what’s the new job?? Hope it goes well for you! xx

  12. 12 Valerie
    November 11, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    I have a better idea, you and Ian and the boys come to the states for a couple weeks. Visit around, I will watch the boys while you do your day trips or whatever! You and all 3 boys can stay with us. Our house is small but we will all be cozy!

    Val, I’d be there in a heartbeat- you know it!! πŸ˜€ Funds allowing, some day I am going to have a BIG tour of the States and visit all my friends (whether they like it or not!!!) xxxx


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

