03
Nov
08

Finally- she escapes!

I’m home! At last, at long last!! They finally let me out this afternoon, mainly because they found me hanging out the window by my tied-together bedsheets, I was so desparate to escape… πŸ˜›

I went to the hospital last Thursday and as expected, was admitted right away. My white blood cell count was almost non existent, despite the drugs they had given me to try and keep it up.

So- many rounds of IV antibiotics and more of the bone-marrow-stimulating drugs later, I feel fine again and am VERY glad to be home!

There is a bit of a conundrum now over my treatment. To have a septic episode like this on both rounds of chemo so far is not a good start. (Bernadette, Dad said you wanted to know what chemo I was on- three round of FEC to be followed by three of taxotere). I understand that they will now either reduce the dose and give me more cycles than originally planned (please NOOOOOO!!!) or give me antibiotics for the duration of my treatment. I will do as I am told!

Will catch up with everyone’s blogs over the next few days- hope all of you are well and had a good Hallowe’en, which I am disgusted I missed!!! πŸ˜€

15 Responses to “Finally- she escapes!”


  1. November 3, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Oh Suzy! I’m so glad you’re home! But I’m sorry that you are having to struggle through your treatment like this. I hope they can get it all sorted out… You shouldn’t have things be any more difficult than they need to be!

    As ever, keeping you in my prayers…
    XOXO

    Everything about this is a PITA! I hope it will be easier from here on in…

  2. November 3, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    The bedsheet thing works, you know. I saw it on Mythbusters, so it HAS to be true.

    Glad you’re back, and hope the docs can figure something out to prevent a recurrence!

    (And yes, I know I remind people of Jamie.)

    I’m either being thick or there is a cultural discrepancy here. Please explain the Jamie thing!

  3. 3 Sara
    November 3, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    I saw that bed sheet thing on Mythbusters last week, too! It really does work!

    I’m glad your feeling better. I’m sorry that you’ve been having such a tough time with your treatment. I hope that the doctors can find something that will work for everyone. Hugs!

    Oh, and Logan would like to add that he likes the little monster icons that appear for people. He’s been counting them the whole time I’ve been on your page. Silly boy!

    You should let him post a comment some time so he can have his own monster! πŸ˜€ Ricky loves them too!

  4. November 3, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    It wouldn’t make sense unless you’d seen Mythbusters. He’s the bald, heavily-mustached half of the brain trust. Very smart, very stoic, very dry sense of humor. I think that’s why people say I remind them of him. Plus, he’s bald.

    Here’s a link to Jamie’s profile. And here’s a video of Jamie in action.

    (I love this show.)

    LOL, it must be the fine, well tended facial hair!! πŸ˜› We have a similar show here called Brainiac.

  5. 5 Emma C
    November 3, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Yaay, glad you’re home, missed your craic! Most importantly, glad you are feeling better. Sorry you missed Hallowe’en; been thinking about you.

    Ian brought the kids in to see me- Robbie was dressed as a pumpkin and I nearly stored him in the cupboard in my room, he was so cute… πŸ˜€ Missed you too! xo

  6. November 3, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    So glad you are home πŸ™‚

    Thanks Em! It is good to be here!

  7. 7 Bernadette McPolin
    November 3, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Sorry to hear that you’ve been feeling so unwell this time Suzy, following you recent round of chemo, but am delighted to hear you have now been ‘released’ (sorry that sounds like you’ve been in jail !) and are back home. I don’t watch Mythbusters but obviously from the comments here they have something useful to offer, should you ever need it.
    I hope you are feeling much better, and that you will take every opportunity you get to rest.
    Pity you missed Hallow’een and the chance to go fireworking with J and H but I’m sure you will have plenty of other opportunities to have outings with them. Take care and lots of love. xxx

    Believe me, Bernadette- jail is EXACTLY where it feels like I have been!!! I wish I could have gone out with J&H instead of being in there too. In fact I hope I can get out for dinner with them very soon. πŸ™‚

  8. November 3, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    I hope they figure out your treatment soon.

    I will try not to get distracted by Mythbusters…a favorite of mine and my son. It is a show where a couple of “science geeks” prove/disprove common theories.

    We have a similar show here called Brainiac. It’s very entertaining!

  9. 9 Leeann
    November 3, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I am so glad you are home. I hope they get it all figured out so you can get better soon

    Thanks Leeann- me too!

  10. November 3, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Glad to see you back in bloggy action! Have you got a decent rest before the next batch of treatment? Hope that the possible antibiotics will sort it out for you.

    xxx

    Next treatment is next Tuesday…I’ll wait and see what the oncologist has planned for me!

  11. November 4, 2008 at 12:56 am

    I am so happy to hear that you are home from the hospital – nothing feels better than home. I also have breast cancer (diagnosed in late April, 2008) and know that this is a dangerous road, but you have the right attitude to take it to war!

    I said a prayer for you today that you will know God’s peace and love.

    Blessings,
    Lori
    http://www.lorimoon.com

    Thanks Lori- wishing you well in your own battle, too!

  12. November 4, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Glad you are free again! I think you should demand a re-run of halloween. Get everyone you know to the hit the pubs in costume and if a random gives you a hard time, tell them you are filming a prank show and they’ll be the butt of the next sketch if they dont bugger off!

    Sounds like a plan, Lou! I wish you and Phil were here to help me do it, lol!

  13. November 4, 2008 at 1:24 am

    It’s good to know that you’re home! I missed you!

    I missed you too!

  14. November 4, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    much love for you miss Suzy! I am hoping this gets easier!

    I hope so too! Thanks Corey!

  15. 15 Leigh
    November 5, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Could barely get round the ward last night due to eyeing up sheets and estimating weight bearing capacity thanks to you. Not sure how management would look on the staff escaping but if its good enough for the patients….

    Don’t forget that ward 8 is another floor up from ward 4, so you need more than I used… πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

