22
Oct
08

Spaghetti & Meatballs

I made this for the kids dinner tonight. It’s pretty quick and easy, and not too bad nutritionally, especially as the meatballs are grilled. The recipe should serve 6.

For the Meatballs-

700g lean beef mince
1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
1 large clove garlic, finely chopped
2 eggs
1 tbsp tomato puree (ketchup would do)
about 50g mature cheddar cheese, grated (monteray jack, or mexicana would be good alternatives)
1-2 tsp mixed herbs
1 red chilli, finely chopped, if liked

For the Sauce-

700g jar passata
1tbsp olive oil
1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
1-2 cloves garlic, finely chopped, depending on taste
1-2 tsp mixed herbs- fresh herbs would be delicious if you have a herb garden!
A splash of red wine
1 tbsp tomato puree
salt and black pepper to taste

1. To make the meatballs, throw all the ingredients in a large bowl and mix well- you could use a spoon but I find clean hands the best option for this job!
2. Take a dessertspoon sized amount of the mix in your hands, kneading briefly before rolling between your palms to make a ball approx. 2 inches in diameter.
3. Place the meatballs on a hot preheated grill. Cook for approx 8-10 minutes, turning when the top becomes browned. If you need to, reserve the first ones off the grill on a plate whilst the rest cook!
4. To make the sauce, gently saute the onion and garlic in a large heavy based pan with the olive oil for around 5 mins, until softened and translucent.
5. Add all the other ingredients, and simmer gently for around 10 minutes. Because the passata is already thickened, you shouldn’t need to cook it for any longer than this.
6. Carefully add the meatballs to the sauce and gently stir in. You can simmer if you like for a few minutes.
7. Serve over spaghetti or other pasta of your choice. You can serve with freshly grated cheese, garlic bread, a nice salad and, most importantly, a big glass of red wine. πŸ™‚

The meatball mixture will also make pretty nice burgers, if you prefer. Enjoy!

Photobucket

9 Responses to “Spaghetti & Meatballs”


  1. October 22, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    That would SO tear up my stomach, but I would love every minute of it. I used to make my own sauce, but it was “different” and my wife didn’t like it…so it died.

    Give me the recipe- I’ll cook it up and it can live on!! πŸ˜›

  2. 2 Skry
    October 22, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Yay – it’s like Phil’s food blog revisited πŸ˜€

    Why, did he have a recipe for meatballs???

  3. October 23, 2008 at 12:34 am

    It looks yummy! I haven’t made meatballs for my spaghetti in forever. Hmmm…I might have to do that this weekend. πŸ™‚

    It was my first time making them in years. I just took a wee notion! πŸ˜€

  4. October 23, 2008 at 12:55 am

    Can I please come eat at your house?

    Pretty please?

    *tummy grumbles*

    Course you can- any time. Bring the whole family. πŸ˜€

  5. 5 Lou
    October 23, 2008 at 7:31 am

    I never thought of grilling the meatballs. Everytime i’ve tried to make them in the pan they totally fall apart, so will definately give that a go!

    Well, Phil clearly wants to try it too! Good luck and let me know if it works for you!

  6. October 23, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I’m going to make your recipe and then blog it back and tell you how it went πŸ™‚

    If it fails then meatball burgers like you say πŸ˜€

    Let me know how you get on! πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Skry
    October 24, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Phil’s never blogged about meatballs before, buut he used to blog regularly about food with recipe’s and stuff from our Wednesday cook-in’s.

    Ahhh…the wildly experimental Wednesday cook-in’s! You guys all learned a lot about cookery! Boys to men, I tells ya!

  8. October 25, 2008 at 9:46 am

    I love spaghetti and meatballs. They can do as my breakfast, snack, lunch and dinner. They are just so delicious. Never mind the extra pounds it will give, well I can do my treadmill to catch up.

    The picture makes me want to cook spaghetti and meatballs for my dinner today. And I am going to do your recipe. How is that? And you’re right, you can also do burger if you like. I also learned on how to make smooth meatballs through Ina Garten’s Show.

    Thanks for sharing your recipe. Hope your kids enjoyed it.

    Thanks so much for your comment and I hope the meatballs turned out well! The kids loved them! πŸ™‚

  9. November 6, 2008 at 9:19 am

    They turned out well and my friends loved it. In fact, I am going to do it again, actually today, I just need to get the ingredients, I lost the copy I printed. Thanks again. =)

    John

    I’m delighted that it worked so well for you!! I might just have to make it tonight for myself, lol! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

